NUS Computing (Information Systems) Sem 1

Buaya_Hunter

i just went to apply for my TFL from DBS and i told them my course was 3 years. can i graduate earlier if i finish all the modules required during 3 years?

Why u tell them 3 yrs? It is better to tell them 4 yrs.... Who knows if u go for things like noc or extended sep and end up doing 3.5s - 4 yrs....

To ur question, yes u can grad earlier....

TFL interest only kick after your grad...

xClementx

ohh thanks for the info.. i'll call them up next time to check how i can extend it

mata_hippo

ec1301 is breadth for IS major?

not programme requirement riaos? :o

fzhfzh

3 years is close to impossible due to the pre-requisite chain and alternate sem module availability.

mata_hippo

For those U09 and earlier lao jiao, is core...

For those with A0 and later xin jiao, is optional module....

Wa cheesepie... I also noticed the new syllabus got a few useful lv2 mods such ad 2102 n 2150... can better prepare u for 3102 than 2103...

xClementx

Thanks for the detailed explanation.

From here, I have a few questions and some assumptions to make:

1) From the 20 MCs we have, Up to 8 MCs from the University Level Requirements.

Does ULR refer to the modules:

All poly graduates in SOC are to take the following:
1 Singapore Studies
1 GEM/GEK (but u are exempted from humanities gems)
1 Breadth (meaning must be outside of SOC)
2 UE (up to u to choose can be from SOC or Not - can also be used to fufill your specialization requirements)

After taking away the 4 module exemptions I have from the Compulsory section, I'm left with:

CS1231 Discrete Structures
IS1103 Computing and Society
IS1105 Strategic IT Applications
CS2100 Computer Organisation
CS2102 Database Systems
IS2101 Business and Technical Communication*
IS2103 Enterprise Systems Development Concepts
IS210 Software Team Dynamics
IS3101 Management of Information Systems
IS3102 Enterprise Systems Development Project
IS4100 IT Project Management
ACC1002X Financial Accounting
MA1301 Introductory Mathematics
MA1312 Calculus with Applications or MA1521 Calculus for Computing #
ST2334 Probability and Statistics

Does that mean I can spend my remaining 12 MCs for exemptions for any 3 of the modules only here?

2)
23-7 = 16 remaining, these 16 should be your compulsory mods, remainder will go to your electives

If I were to take away 3 modules from the Compulsory section above for exemption, I'll only take 12 modules. So I can choose (7 + 4 remainder) from the Electives section?

3) What's HYP? H____ Final Project? What do you mean by "3 IS mod = 23?"? I thought 3 modules = 12?

26 - 3 = (HYP (note must have at least average B+ (CAP 4.0)) or 3 IS mod = 23

4) Do we have to take CP4101 BComp Dissertation in order to get the "Honors" thing? Do you guys take it?

5) What happens if i want to switch to other areas of specialization like EC/CS? I just have to re-plan my modules so that I complete the core modules first?

6) Will the CORS system tell me what modules which I can take within this category?

1 Singapore Studies
2 UE (up to u to choose can be from SOC or Not - can also be used to fufill your specialization requirements)

7) I assume you took the list of modules from http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/undergraduates/is_is_2011_12.html .

8) What happens if I fail QET? Where does the english enrichment module come in and affect the flow stated above?

This bidding system is a huge pain in the ass leh. The aim to allow students to have freedom to choose what modules to take comes with a risk too. If your bidding strategy fails, there will be a chance you'll take one more semester in the end right?

Thanks for your time

mgx-alander

1 Singapore Studies
Yes these are ULR must take

Does that mean I can spend my remaining 12 MCs for exemptions for any 3 of the modules only here?
Ur remaining will go to ur Unrestricted electives, any module from anywhere

3) What's HYP? H____ Final Project?
Honours Year Project
I mean 26mods - 3 mods = 23 mods remaining
U must complete either HYP or 3 x Lv4000 IS Mods (Note hyp requirement)

4) Do we have to take CP4101 BComp Dissertation in order to get the "Honors" thing? Do you guys take it?
I want to take but duno can qualify or not (I ***** hate theory :(), no u do not have to do CP4101, u do CP4101 or 3x Lv4000 IS mods to get your honors, but not doing HYP will
not get you first class (which is very hard la)

5) What happens if i want to switch to other areas of specialization like EC/CS? I just have to re-plan my modules so that I complete the core modules first?
CS is totally different, if u switch half way u will have problems, and alot of problems cos the CS mods are totally different from IS mods, but switching to EC will be easy

6) Will the CORS system tell me what modules which I can take within this category?
No, you will have to research them yourself, but cors module listing will be able to tell u which SS/GE modules are offered in the semester.

UE Can be from any faculty, including SOC, so u can just simply pump all the UE into your electives, or any modules you want to take

Breadth is just any module under the sun except from SOC

(but note that they consume G points and they are precious, only Cores and modules from SOC consumes P Points)

7) I assume you took the list of modules from http://www.comp.nus.edu.sg/undergrad...s_2011_12.html .
Yes

8) What happens if I fail QET? Where does the english enrichment module come in and affect the flow stated above?
If u fail and require to take ES1000, u will be required to take
ES1000->ES1102->IS2101
if u fail and required to take ES1102, then u go
ES1102->IS2101

This bidding system is a huge pain in the ass leh. The aim to allow students to have freedom to choose what modules to take comes with a risk too. If your bidding strategy fails, there will be a chance you'll take one more semester in the end right?

You have to plan in advanced, Your ULR will not come into effect at all until later because GE and SS and breadth are a pain to bid (only 350 points per sem)

CORS Module Listings: https://aces01.nus.edu.sg/cors/jsp/report/ModuleInfoListing.jsp
CORS Timetable Builder: https://webrb.nus.edu.sg/ctt/builder.aspx

Plan at least 2 semesters with the timetable builder, at least make sure nth clashes (Exam/Lecture, tutorials can wait cos its always changed)

Its not a pain la, after awhile u will get used to it lol

k wot +9999999999999999999999999999 :sad:

xClementx

haha.. thanks a lot. juz need to clarify something again:

Ur remaining will go to ur Unrestricted electives, any module from anywhere

It will strictly go to unrestricted electives? Can I choose the modules from the compulsory section?

If u fail and require to take ES1000, u will be required to take
ES1000->ES1102->IS2101
if u fail and required to take ES1102, then u go
ES1102->IS2101

so i assume there are two levels of failures? one is fail and another is epic fail?

if i were to take these modules, which category does its points contribute to? ULR?

CP4101 looks pretty good game man. are there many people who's taking it?

Buaya_Hunter

1a. Yes. For those poly soc kia, the 8 MCs refer to these 2 modules - 1 General Education Module from Group B (Humanities & Social Sciences) and one Breadth module

1b. No, Unrestricted Elective Modules (UEM) refers to any module from anywhere, including soc. You still have to do all ur complusory modules if you are not given the specific exemption granted by ur dip. So, just treat it that you have to do 3 less chapalang modules (Ur Jc counterpart have to do 3 more chapalang modules (of their choice) to grad)

2. No, you have need to do a min of 7 elective and that is it.

3. In soc, you are given the choice to do HYP (Honour year project) (like poly fyp) or to siam HYP by doing 3 more yr 4 module from the elective list in compensation for not doing fyp. So basically u have to either choose between (7 elective + HYP) or 10 elective

4. If u don't do hyp, the most 'severe' consequence is that you would not be awarded first class honours (Your degree will be capped at second uppers even if u get max cap/gpa). To get first class honour, u need to get a min cap of 4.5 AND score at least a A- in HYP (Else, Your degree will be capped at second uppers even if u get max cap/gpa).

5. CP4101 is not automatically given to students. In soc, there are only limited slots and about 90% of the project offered requires u to at least hit CAP of 4.0 (in reality, CAP 4.3-4.5) at the time of application in order for you to even stand a chance. Also, in reality, there are only average of about roughly 5 HYP project meant for IS student (Majority of the HYP project in soc are meant for CS dept student)... So, most IS student don't actually do HYP (only for those gunning for first class honours)

6. Some replanning would be necessary from my experience due to structral differences in each of the courses

7. Don't worry, the cors system, despite its misgiving, will show the correct category for the modules (provided u know how to read the module category code)

8. For the case of a IS student, it only affect IS2101 and implictly, IS3102 cos the pre-requsities for IS2101 is (pass/exempted qet or pass es1102) while pre-requsities for IS3102is (IS2103+IS2101)

If u fail qet, either ET1000-> ES1102 -> IS2101 -> IS3102 or ES1102 -> IS2101 -> IS3102

If u pass qet, IS2101 -> IS3102

Buaya_Hunter

Wa cheesepie... I also noticed the new syllabus got a few useful lv2 mods such ad 2102 n 2150... can better prepare u for 3102 than 2103...

Yah, IS2102 the requirement analysis and modelling very damn useful for 8mcs project....

U took ur ec1301 or not?

xClementx

ok, thanks for all your help. still got a couple more qns:

1) Do i need to finish all the compulsory modules before taking electives or i just have to look at the pre-requisites?

2) ES1102 counts towards where? I won't be taking QET due to a part time job, so if i don't pass, my IS2101 and IS3102 will have to be taken quite late liao..

mgx-alander

It will strictly go to unrestricted electives? Can I choose the modules from the compulsory section?
Compulsory means u die die must take.. so the list are all your MUST TAKE modules, cannot escape

Do i need to finish all the compulsory modules before taking electives?
No, as long as u fufilled the pre-requistes

so i assume there are two levels of failures? one is fail and another is epic fail?
Yes, and as buaya pointed out in his post it will affect IS3102
ES1000->ES1102->IS2101->IS3102
ES1102->IS2101->IS3102
Pass = IS2101->IS3102

ES1102 counts towards where? I won't be taking QET due to a part time job, so if i don't pass, my IS2101 and IS3102 will have to be taken quite late liao..
ES1000 and ES1102 contribute ZERO mcs so it doesnt count towards anything at all, it just makes u feel beh kan,
if u epic fail ur stucked, my friend couldnt secure a place in ES1000 for 1 sem, note that the vacancy availbles are VERY LIMITED WITH ah tiongs, so dun risk or gg, u must use P points to secure ur spot in English mods, these points will be refunded to u after u pass the mod, but using 1k points + to secure a place is serious, not joking

CP4101 looks pretty good game man. are there many people who's taking it?
Refer to buaya hunter post

Buaya_Hunter

2) ES1102 counts towards where? I won't be taking QET due to a part time job, so if i don't pass, my IS2101 and IS3102 will have to be taken quite late liao..

There is a second qet held in nov fyi, right before sem 1 exam. Can check the celc website for more details

mgx-alander

but imo its better not to skip cos sem1 have more places 8 classes for soc, sem 2 however has less

xClementx

ok thanks guys you have been a great help. i hope this will help other new students understand too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.