NUS ppl lip lai - Part 6

mihawk

Please read the context miss. This is regarding the first years' 5 SU policy. As long as they have 1 B+ and above and if they SU all others below (which is likely given they can only use it then), they will get >=4.0. More than a third and almost half the cohort for each module gets B+ and above. Each student takes 5 modules. Simple statistics. Why you don't read?

i think 5 s/u creates more buang but erite will still be erite.

gradeless sem creates strong disincentive effects for noobs and the average so the marginal people who would otherwise work abit harder and get heng heng B+ now all drop out. of course A people will still get A and they get to s/u shitty fass basket mods.

just jiak lunch with another faculty prof and heard that he was lamenting the year 1 in his intro mod this sem was very jialat compared to all the other semesters. also tiagong some faculty the failure rate for modules is 10%.

think will get the chance to ask about ec1101e soon also then can update the statistics :s13:

yihao93

i think 5 s/u creates more buang but erite will still be erite.

gradeless sem creates strong disincentive effects for noobs and the average so the marginal people who would otherwise work abit harder and get heng heng B+ now all drop out. of course A people will still get A and they get to s/u shitty fass basket mods.

just jiak lunch with another faculty prof and heard that he was lamenting the year 1 in his intro mod this sem was very jialat compared to all the other semesters. also tiagong some faculty the failure rate for modules is 10%.

think will get the chance to ask about ec1101e soon also then can update the statistics :s13:

Got noobs?!
So far haven see any.( except me :() I am surrounded by competitive farks :s22:

Darkzi0n

Hmmm darky. If these estimates are really true. I'm pretty disappointed with myself because there were semesters that I don't get a single Bplus. Maybe I'm really under 5% and the friends that I have with me are also equally poor academically.

Maybe that's what they mean by birds of the same feather flock together hur.

Then again I consistently got D in undergrad and postgrad in stats ~

is jus an estimate nia... maybe all my assumptions are wrong leh? n no need to be disappointed wad... even in olympics games, someone has to be at the bottom, but that dosnt mean they are no good.... plus academic result is jus one proxy for measuring ur academic achievement nia.

btw... sian... was thinking of taking ec4361 next sem... but got paper review and group project :s22:

anyone taking ec4101?

Alpaca

is jus an estimate nia... maybe all my assumptions are wrong leh? n no need to be disappointed wad... even in olympics games, someone has to be at the bottom, but that dosnt mean they are no good.... plus academic result is jus one proxy for measuring ur academic achievement nia.

btw... sian... was thinking of taking ec4361 next sem... but got paper review and group project :s22:

anyone taking ec4101?

U jus go take io ... free food for u :o

Death4ngel

The gradeless first sem thing should let u SU non-core mods only la. U fk up ur intro programming mods, either u work damn after this sem, or u fk up all ur other mods all the way alr.

yihao93

The gradeless first sem thing should let u SU non-core mods only la. U fk up ur intro programming mods, either u work damn after this sem, or u fk up all ur other mods all the way alr.

That's assuming that the school cares about the student eh

Anyway sure got ppl complain not fair cause some ppl all core mods etc, etc

Actually everyone also sure will have ppl complain
LololxD

tae_oppa

HELP!

anybody got go through group interview with the IRO before? group interview talk about huat one ah? :s11: This one is regarding overseas internship

figo16

Hey econs peeps, tiagong legendary professor anthony chin mati in august this year. Is this true or i WOLS?:eek: Tiagong he likes to shoot gahmen and stewdent one.

Xapheron

HELP!

anybody got go through group interview with the IRO before? group interview talk about huat one ah? :s11: This one is regarding overseas internship

I went before, for Mapletree@Viet. You going for what program? IIRC not much delicious stuff left.

i wan take atleast one lvl4000 mod leh... :(

Want come do EC4333 (got project)? I think that module the math too high level for me but not much choice...

Darkzi0n

Want come do EC4333 (got project)? I think that module the math too high level for me but not much choice...

yea i saw the assessment of 4333 and the workload seems to be better than 4361... think i will mpe that also... but it may clash with one of the stat mod i wan to take :s22:

btw watz the difference between a normal lecture vs seminar style class?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.