NUS Research: Charging 20 cents per plastic bag may deter use of plastic bags

klim668

Finally, so nice to see everything has back to normal after GE.
我熟悉的新加坡回来了。
wind-in-hair-fabulous-wind.gif

Canis Lupus

Deterring the use is a good thing , but loose trash will become a problem sooner or later. Why not build pyrolysis plants to convert all this plastic waste back into fuel?:unsure:

yokine3a

66% strong mandate hor, you think they will care for sinkies sheep?

Ownself gave blank cheque, you think you are the boss of pap? Wait long long. Once they gotten the votes, you are damned.

Meteor84

Buy trash bag lah
Sinkies cannot think of solution meh?
english teacher cannot read chinese i apologise. the "research" saying we discard 4 plastic bags on average a week saying this is a waste. but 4 trash bags a week is hardly a waste and they are used to wrap rubbish. it has literally nth to do with buying trash bags...

treeskull

Academics is to fufil the requirements of the given narrative, so that’s why normal people see it as weird and out of scope

ShinnAsuka

Zaobao: 近半受访者每周丢逾四个塑料袋 收费2角可改使用习惯

0684103276e4401bab673701973e64a24834acd7d5a28eca15d4e9f200b1b398

Summary:
According to a NUS research, near to half of the interviewees threw away 4 plastic bags on the average per week. Charging 20 cents per plastic bag may "change this habit".

This is not even a test balloon anymore. When such news comes out, we can be quite sure that it would be implemented. Never mind the sample size/cpmposition, the need to bag rubbish before disposing, or the use of incinerators on most of the rubbish here.

With 66% strong mandate, what is there to deter them?
Did the nus research based on the plastic bag used to “recycle” the duke nus library books?

English Teacher

english teacher cannot read chinese i apologise. the "research" saying we discard 4 plastic bags on average a week saying this is a waste. but 4 trash bags a week is hardly a waste and they are used to wrap rubbish. it has literally nth to do with buying trash bags...

4 plastic bags is because we use the shopping plastic bag as trash bags.
think the research want us to don't use shopping plastic bags and just use trash bags to dispose of rubbish.

Tsoukalos

Zaobao: 近半受访者每周丢逾四个塑料袋 收费2角可改使用习惯

0684103276e4401bab673701973e64a24834acd7d5a28eca15d4e9f200b1b398

Summary:
According to a NUS research, near to half of the interviewees threw away 4 plastic bags on the average per week. Charging 20 cents per plastic bag may "change this habit".

This is not even a test balloon anymore. When such news comes out, we can be quite sure that it would be implemented. Never mind the sample size/cpmposition, the need to bag rubbish before disposing, or the use of incinerators on most of the rubbish here.

With 66% strong mandate, what is there to deter them?
Dllm should charge u $20 every time U open yr mouth

skytan13

Then the NTUC and gang will sell the trash bags at 15 cents each

HUAT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.