NUS SCIENCE(STATISTICS)

Rusty89

Seriously i dunnoe and nv heard b4 of tis term...pervert?LOL... Btw u guys gt notifications on yr phone on tis forum?everytime i post i gt like instant reply..same spd as fb post lor...😚

Eh i dont have leh. maybe i off the notification or sth ba. Never like the idea of notification disrupting my daily routine. Will only check the forum as and when i feel like, esp with a sunshine girl around. :s13: haha kidding. Think i m gonna get shot at again.

Darkzi0n

Seriously i dunnoe and nv heard b4 of tis term...pervert?LOL... Btw u guys gt notifications on yr phone on tis forum?everytime i post i gt like instant reply..same spd as fb post lor...😚

Hey thx for yr Ma2108 notes!!!😃.I received le!!!Sign😰a whole new level compared frm Ma1101/Ma1102...I can"t even attain the 1st lvl and now nid go to other lvl...

Welcome :)
and nope no notification, jus my chiobu radar nudging me. :s7:

Raichu29125

Hey guys,

I'm debating should I take ST3238 Stochastic Processes 1 or ST4245 Statistical Methods in Finance next semester, anyone has information with regards to these modules? :D

and as for MA2108, I'm more afraid of the bloody bell curve than knowing how to prove. I got a bloody good score for my midterms then, think it was 85/100? Then I think I aced my finals too ... in the end I merely got the B+.

Prof Lee Soo Teck is simply one of the best, if not the best, Math lecturers around. Period.

Darkzi0n

Hey guys,

I'm debating should I take ST3238 Stochastic Processes 1 or ST4245 Statistical Methods in Finance next semester, anyone has information with regards to these modules? :D

and as for MA2108, I'm more afraid of the bloody bell curve than knowing how to prove. I got a bloody good score for my midterms then, think it was 85/100? Then I think I aced my finals too ... in the end I merely got the B+.

Prof Lee Soo Teck is simply one of the best, if not the best, Math lecturers around. Period.

u took in which sem arh? 2011/12 sem 2? like that my finals was probably better than i tot it was.. or they got a really wide range for B+... my mid term onli 70+ and I got B+ too lol.

Raichu29125

u took in which sem arh? 2011/12 sem 2? like that my finals was probably better than i tot it was.. or they got a really wide range for B+... my mid term onli 70+ and I got B+ too lol.

Yep that semester. Didn't take in 2011/12 Semester 1 because it clashed with ACC1002X I believe ...

gtr913

Hey guys,

I'm debating should I take ST3236 Stochastic Processes 1 or ST4245 Statistical Methods in Finance next semester, anyone has information with regards to these modules? :D

For ST3236, it is basically a whole lot of discrete probability and markov chains. But it seems like for this coming sem 2 it is offered by maths department, so the focus may be different from when I took and the stats department was offering instead. This is like ST2131 probability where 1 sem is taught by stats department and the other taught by maths department, and from what I heard the maths department usually has a different focus and is also tougher. Theres a whole module worth of webcasts for last sem available on IVLE webcast lectures right now so you can go and browse through them.

For ST4245, my time was CAPM, time series, option pricing and black scholes.

You can try to go and look for past year materials for most modules from the usual source. All the stats major should know what I'm taking about.

Tatami

St2137

Hey everyone I'm new here :s13:
I'm also statistics major.
Timetable planning was going smoothly until i realise St2137 in not in the list of modules offered for the coming sem. It's not offered in semester 2 is it?
Can't find any information about it being offered in only sem 1.

Darkzi0n

Hey everyone I'm new here :s13:
I'm also statistics major.
Timetable planning was going smoothly until i realise St2137 in not in the list of modules offered for the coming sem. It's not offered in semester 2 is it?
Can't find any information about it being offered in only sem 1.

if it is not on cors den most likely it isnt offered liao.. u can also check under stats department website to see wat stats mod are offered next sem.. alternatively, u can use the archieve to see the modules offered in the past sems...
maybe u can take CS1010/CS1010E instead if u have not already taken it... it will give u some advantage when u take ST2137.

Tatami

if it is not on cors den most likely it isnt offered liao.. u can also check under stats department website to see wat stats mod are offered next sem.. alternatively, u can use the archieve to see the modules offered in the past sems...
maybe u can take CS1010/CS1010E instead if u have not already taken it... it will give u some advantage when u take ST2137.

Hey thanks. Oh I took CS already :)

Tatami

Eh i dont have leh. maybe i off the notification or sth ba. Never like the idea of notification disrupting my daily routine. Will only check the forum as and when i feel like, esp with a sunshine girl around. :s13: haha kidding. Think i m gonna get shot at again.

Oh no what a bummer. Anyway thanks mgx! Alamak why it wasnt specified properly last sem thats its gonna be offered in sem1 only

Tatami

Btw anyone can advice me which level 3000 mods should I take first. Gonna start taking them soon. Or does it even matter?
Is it gonna be too heavy if i take two of them together with st2132?

Thank you in advance!

Tatami

Hey guys,

Yes gotta agree with you. For ma2108 you've gotta be more concern about the bell-curve

Darkzi0n

Btw anyone can advice me which level 3000 mods should I take first. Gonna start taking them soon. Or does it even matter?
Is it gonna be too heavy if i take two of them together with st2132?

Thank you in advance!

u in which year liao? :s11::s11:
anyway chingway's st2132 is not difficult so i think sld be okay if u take 2 lvl 3000.. altho i heard st3236 would be quite tough..

Rusty89

Woots! Back from holidays. eh world havent end ar?

Btw tatami what yr are u in? maybe we can play more of such guessing games again.lol. yea St2137 is only offered in sem 1 so the only alternative is to take nx yr sem1. i heard some ppl not taking that this sem. so u probably can see some familiar faces. And i think taking next yr shouldnt be much of a problem as in it is not rly a prerequisite for other mods unlike ST2132.

Tatami

u in which year liao? :s11::s11:
anyway chingway's st2132 is not difficult so i think sld be okay if u take 2 lvl 3000.. altho i heard st3236 would be quite tough..

Heys, I'm year 2. Yes heard that st3236 would be hard! But it will not be offered for the coming sem.

Sian regret not planning my timetable well.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.