NVMe best value for $

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
No.
Its keyed(notched) in a wayU can't put a PCIe3x4 ssd into a m.2 slot that is only for sata.

Thanks. I doubt the M2 slot in Z97 platform can support. Later go home and see the manual again. Thanks a lot for your info!

LiLAsN

No.
Its keyed(notched) in a wayU can't put a PCIe3x4 ssd into a m.2 slot that is only for sata.

Oh my. I should have taken into equation the type of Notebook he has. Too old and yes, the latter M.2 PCIe 3x4 SSD will not fit. So the keys seem to matter especially for laptops and motherboards closer to those years.

Z97 is like the turning point of when some motherboard companies like Asus supported PCIe Gen 3x4 on the M.2 slot. (via a BIOS update)

Refer to this for the compatibility list that includes laptops and motherboards to understand the kind of M.2 slot your mobo/laptop has.

https://www.ramcity.com.au/blog/m.2-ssd-guide-compatibility-list

Koenig168

Thanks. I doubt the M2 slot in Z97 platform can support. Later go home and see the manual again. Thanks a lot for your info!

IIRC your MB is the MSI Z97 XPower or MPower. Like my Z97A Gaming 7, the MB comes with a dual SATA/PCIe M.2 slot so it does support NVMe SSDs but the speed is limited to PCIe X2.

blizzard88

Is there any shop in simlim selling the nvme version mte220s? Seems to be the same chip as adata xpg 8200pro. Thanks.

blizzard88

wEbTNYs.png

From Amazon:

Items: SGD 127.08
Shipping & handling: SGD 6.68
Total before tax: SGD 133.76

What brand and size?

wackykid

Uh... M.2 is just the form factor. M.2 drives can come in SATA versions and NVMe versions (like the Samsung 970 Evo), which describes the bus they use to electrically communicate with the other PC components.

Both M.2 Sata based SSDs and M.2 NVMe SSDs uses the same M.2 port just that NVMe is the one letting you fully utilize the speed the port provides as long as the M.2 port on your PC supports NVMe.

In other words, high chance your M.2 port can support NVMe drives but you bought a SATA based SSD instead.

well the point is i am doubtful my laptop can support M.2... and NVMe is only for M.2... hence i go for SATA3....

regards,
wacky

wackykid

Oh my. I should have taken into equation the type of Notebook he has. Too old and yes, the latter M.2 PCIe 3x4 SSD will not fit. So the keys seem to matter especially for laptops and motherboards closer to those years.

Z97 is like the turning point of when some motherboard companies like Asus supported PCIe Gen 3x4 on the M.2 slot. (via a BIOS update)

Refer to this for the compatibility list that includes laptops and motherboards to understand the kind of M.2 slot your mobo/laptop has.

https://www.ramcity.com.au/blog/m.2-ssd-guide-compatibility-list

very cheem...

my laptop is lenovo E440... dun see it in the list...

but looking at the the manual... doesn't seems to support M.2 slot for storage drive...
https://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/p...ug_en.pdf?linkTrack=PSP:ProductInfo:UserGuide

regards,
wacky

Ark Law

Is there any shop in simlim selling the nvme version mte220s? Seems to be the same chip as adata xpg 8200pro. Thanks.

Probably need to wait until Convergent deliver stock. Didn't see it at any of the stores I passed by today.

LiLAsN

very cheem...

my laptop is lenovo E440... dun see it in the list...

but looking at the the manual... doesn't seems to support M.2 slot for storage drive...
https://download.lenovo.com/ibmdl/p...ug_en.pdf?linkTrack=PSP:ProductInfo:UserGuide

regards,
wacky

Ah.. Thanks for giving the laptop model. Yup. Now I understand. Yours can't accept a full length SSD.

Yours can only support M.2 NGFF 2242. This means it only supports an SSD that is 22mm wide and 42mm long. Those at this range is limited to SATA 3 speeds.

This means at the end of the day You have to check if the one with M.2 or normal SSD is cheaper. And also take into consideration if it is worth losing WiFi functionality.
Thus, I would fully agree it is better to just buy a full fat SSD and keep your WiFi. It's just not worth it. You won't see any speed increase with this laptop since the M.2 bus is still SATA 3. You made the right choice.

LiLAsN

Wooo thanks! Can hoot NVMe. :D :D

Can I give an advice? It seems your PCIe ports are all gen 3 but M.2 is limited to PCIe gen 2x2. The speed improvements is quite miniscule.

SATA III 6.0 Gb/s (750 MB/s) 4.8 Gb/s (600 MB/s)
PCI-E 2.0 x2 8 Gb/s (1 GB/s) 6.4 Gb/s (800 MB/s)

Thus this is what I recommend. If your motherboard comes with a PCIe M.2 adapter, use that to get the full fat Gen 3x4 speeds of 32 Gb/s (4 GB/s) 31.5 Gb/s (3.9 GB/s).

If your motherboard doesn't come with that M.2 Kit/PCI-E Adapter, best to invest in one. It can usually allow 2 M.2 to be mounted on it.

Since you have 3x PCIe 3.0 x16 slots (support x16, x8/x8, x8/x4/x4 modes) and 3x PCIe 2.0 x1 slots.

Remember to slot the PCIE 3.0 M.2 adapter to one of the the 3.0 x16 slots. The same big one that is meant for your GPU.

wackykid

Ah.. Thanks for giving the laptop model. Yup. Now I understand. Yours can't accept a full length SSD.

Yours can only support M.2 NGFF 2242. This means it only supports an SSD that is 22mm wide and 42mm long. Those at this range is limited to SATA 3 speeds.

This means at the end of the day You have to check if the one with M.2 or normal SSD is cheaper. And also take into consideration if it is worth losing WiFi functionality.
Thus, I would fully agree it is better to just buy a full fat SSD and keep your WiFi. It's just not worth it. You won't see any speed increase with this laptop since the M.2 bus is still SATA 3. You made the right choice.

which makes me wonder why lenovo even bother to have the slot...?? or is it for ppl who want to have HDD+SSD or 2xSSD(SATA+M.2) configuration while don't need wifi...?? :s22::s22:

regards,
wacky

i.Singaporean

Wah thanks for the jio!

1,665 TBW.. the INTEL® SSD 660P siao ah 100TBW nia :s13:

Edit: Total SGD$165 with shipping, you got around that price or should I wait?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.