OBU's GPS must be ON at all time

eyz

The new generation OBU has built in GPS, which pave way for future road usage payment.

But not sure has it been discussed before that the GPS on the OBU, must stay connect at all time, and if it went offline, LTA will send a notice to the vehicle owner to inform of the non-detection.

and after extended period of non-activity, the OBU will be deactivated. even when the GPS is powered back on, the OBU will remain deactivated.

from what i understand from the LTA ambassador at the motorcycle workshop, there will be no reactivation, and changing to a new OBU is the solution, and it will be payable by the vehicle owner if LTA assessed it to be connection had been tampered.

Alphas

So if your car battery is dead, then hong gan liao lah.

wwenze

The new generation OBU has built in GPS, which pave way for future road usage payment.

But not sure has it been discussed before that the GPS on the OBU, must stay connect at all time, and if it went offline, LTA will send a notice to the vehicle owner to inform of the non-detection.

and after extended period of non-activity, the OBU will be deactivated. even when the GPS is powered back on, the OBU will remain deactivated.

from what i understand from the LTA ambassador at the motorcycle workshop, there will be no reactivation, and changing to a new OBU is the solution, and it will be payable by the vehicle owner if LTA assessed it to be connection had been tampered.
Hahahahahahahahahaha

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

the_dog

what kind of stupid design is this ? I have a spare car that is driven maybe once in 2 weeks, and the rest of the time I park it with the battery disconnected. Like that also cannot meh ?

stingray1211

to prevent people from putting some shield to block signal .. try to mask their device.

these people should jail them lah. outright cheating and fraud. give chance for what ?

those tail gaters at carparks , jail them also.

clearly deterrence not high enough.

tremor

Damn stupid, OBU like IU need to wire to ignition to prevent battery drain.

So if I 1 month don't use my vehicle which may happen like overseas trip for work or holiday, then come back OBU not working and need to pay to get it replaced?

Who is transport minister? I am going to sack you this coming GE.

arcturuz

inside-the-probation-service-main.png

remind me of this

magna_strike

If like that, safest is to disconnect the OBU and bring home to plug in and charge.. but provided it's not like pmd batteries so combustible.

stingray1211

lol , all the jokers.

you park in sheltered car park or under ground, where got GPS in the first place ?

then like that many people will kana this already.

all complaining without using any brains. haizz. best don't drive lah.

I hope people know about RTK and how it is used in Singapore for GPS. multi path issues in urban.

all general basic knowledge.

else don't comment too much cause shows lack of a brain sometimes.

tth1311

should be powered by another chargeable battery able to last at least two week

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.