Off-in-Lieu Matter

harky

While I understand your reaction and you don't think as employee, you should get bullied. You have to see it from the boss perspective.

We are an Asia country and not ang mo country. In Ang Mo country, there is something called Human Rights. In Singapore, don't have.

From boss perspective, I gave you money, you listen to me. Don't listen to me, just get lost. I can easily find cheap replacement alternative. So many cheap foreign worker around Asia.

If you want to report the company, sure you want to fight for yourself. Good. I respect you. But be prepared to resign or gets fired and leave with a sour note. Some more, Singapore is so small. Your ex-boss can just go badmouth you in the industry.
those PH leave... company will claim back $$ from govt right?

shodan99

the boss will close down the company today, and register for another the next day…
from my understanding, it is possible to be debarred from becoming a company director if you have past transgression like failure to pay salaries on-time, forfeiting off-in-lieu,etc. Although alot of it, must need employees themselves to fight for their own rights. cant just meekly accept it and move on. These people will just continue the bad practices if there is no punitive punishment.

PCguy

those PH leave... company will claim back $$ from govt right?
They just want to squeeze all the workers dry especially an SME. Remember for SME, they just want to squeeze every juice out of the workers. Even they can claim back the money, they would just keep it in their own pockets. All SME bosses are the same. Every cents are important.

Queen of Spade

its your right and entitlement for the off-in-lieu. good job. Curious what evidence did you submit to MOM in order for them to chut letter to the employer?
Just explain to them over the situation, and paste the email for MOM to review.
While I understand your reaction and you don't think as employee, you should get bullied. You have to see it from the boss perspective.

We are an Asia country and not ang mo country. In Ang Mo country, there is something called Human Rights. In Singapore, don't have.

From boss perspective, I gave you money, you listen to me. Don't listen to me, just get lost. I can easily find cheap replacement alternative. So many cheap foreign worker around Asia.

If you want to report the company, sure you want to fight for yourself. Good. I respect you. But be prepared to resign or gets fired and leave with a sour note. Some more, Singapore is so small. Your ex-boss can just go badmouth you in the industry.
I will not go into detail on which industry I'm in, however they are foreigner bosses.

shodan99

They just want to squeeze all the workers dry especially an SME. Remember for SME, they just want to squeeze every juice out of the workers. Even they can claim back the money, they would just keep it in their own pockets. All SME bosses are the same. Every cents are important.
as with all things, there are good eggs and bad eggs. I've known bosses whom during bad times, paid themselves lower than their employees so that they can pay their employees on-time and in full.

Also I've seen bosses that change luxury cars every year on company dime and make no bonus payouts or AWSs.

trd_charlie

Why would you want to go direct to MoM? Obviously no company would want you to report them to MoM especially an SME. You need to use your brain to think before reporting such cases.

Better to resign asap. For your next job, don't do the same thing again unless you prepare to change job. In Singapore, peasants like you has no say when you take money from someone.

Don't ever listen to PAP saying that you should report any of such lapses to MoM. If you find the company any wrong, just resign. Don't report to MoM.

Weak timid doormats like you are exactly the reason why such toxic cultures like employee oppression are able to perpetuate in singapore. Bad employers dare do what they do because people with no dignity like you enable them. You should be ashamed of yourself.

whatheheck

2 staff nia, tio complain means one of you, no need use brain, use butt think also can dig out who bk bah :s13:of course will sour the relationship with boss

Lchlch

if you need the job, best is dont anyhow go send to MOM.
HR and HOD will know and you might find yourself in a unfavourable situation at work.

XiaoChilli

IMO u should have reported them after finding a job.

They can badmouth you to the next employer.

xcodes

I recently provided feedback to MOM regarding my request for time off in lieu for polling day, which was rejected. As a result, they sent a warning letter to the company, reminding them to comply with regulations.

This situation has made my boss quite angry, and I fear it has soured our working relationship, especially since there are only two staff members in the company. From our recent conversations, it seems she is implying that I should leave, as she believes I am not happy here.

At the end, the company provided 1 day compensation of off-in-lieu instead of 3 for this year.

I wish I able to insert the letter that was being sent to my employer, but it seems like unable to do so in here.
Let me type it out here as per MOM letter:

HEADER: YOU ARE REMINDED TO COMPLY WITH THE EMPLOYMENT ACT 1968

Dear Sir/Mdm,

The Ministry has received feedback regarding non-provision of PH.
2. Under the Employment Act, if a PH falls on a non-working day, such as Sat for employees working 5 days per week. The employer has to compensate the employee with an extra day's pay in lieu of that holiday or give him another day off as a holiday.

3. As for the other PH (e.g polling day has been declared a PH), it should not be replace with an AL

4. We have yet to commerce investigations, but are advising you to review your employment practices particularly on PH to ensure that you are in compliance with the employment act. The Ministry will schedule an inspection if we were to receive another adverse feedback against your company.

5. Thank you.

for commissioner for labour

in sinkieland, many SME bosses will try their luck in this way ... imagine if the table turns around and you are the one who would not report to work but to draw that day's salary, would your boss allow that to happen? so, you are right to stand up for yourself regarding this ... that being said, this doesn't seem a worthy company for you to stay on ... go look for a better opportunity bah ... :)

AuraKUPO

Orbigoot deserve it. Greedy want to ask for more OIL but directly shoot up to MOM without going through your bosses.

jeffprobst

since bridge already burning, just inform MOM about the company only giving you 1 day lor. during this period, i would be careful with any 1-1 meeting and secretly record down those conversation and use it, if i have to.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.