Off peak car driving offense issue

100percentsilk

Hi all, I was caught driving without purchasing a day coupon last month. Forgotten.

The last time i got caught, i was fined $500. On previous times that I was fined, it was me who drove the car.

Last month, it was my GF who drove the car. Is the fine tagged to driver or its tagged to the car?

If its tagged to car and its not our first time, I don't want her to get in trouble in case we need to go court. I can try to put my name, and if required, i will go court and dun wan her to get in trouble. After all, the car is mine.

poor_is_a_sin

Then you just put your name lor. Btw don't expect $500 this time round. Going to be much higher. Could be easily 5-10K. You are really rich man, can afford to pay such fines to the gahment.

Seriously, why don't you just convert to normal plate and avoid such fines? Even if you don't drive often, at least you spend the money for yourself and you can drive anytime of the day, not spend them on fines.

cueball1981

Tag to the car. So who the owner will kanna. As many people had said. This time round is a heavy fine . 5k minimun to 10k.

s7460597

Hi all, I was caught driving without purchasing a day coupon last month. Forgotten.

The last time i got caught, i was fined $500. On previous times that I was fined, it was me who drove the car.

Sorry, no offense intended but you got summoned before but you've still forgotten?

How many times were you fined or is it just a typo?

100percentsilk

Then you just put your name lor. Btw don't expect $500 this time round. Going to be much higher. Could be easily 5-10K. You are really rich man, can afford to pay such fines to the gahment.

Seriously, why don't you just convert to normal plate and avoid such fines? Even if you don't drive often, at least you spend the money for yourself and you can drive anytime of the day, not spend them on fines.

Yup. I never expect it to be $500 only this round. And i'm not rich, its because i have no choice as i really forget thats why now i suck thumb.

anyway, due to all these fines, i'm finally forced to decide to sell off my car and get a normal plate. my hard earned money is not meant for paying these ridiculous fines. LTA is good. They intro this red plate scheme to reduce car population. But actually its reverse.

each month, i need to drive my car during weekdays at least 5-8 times. I've already tried soooo hard to remember coupons each time. i ALWAYS buy before heading out. and i also double and triple check the following day. Only red plate drivers will know the level of stress we got trying to remember buying $20 tickets and also checking again and again to make sure we bought the tickets. I'm already stressed enough as it is at work and at home. I dont need this bullsh!t. And its now just wasted effort because one of those days, i simply forgotten.

it could be i have tried buying tickets via online in the morning but failed to get thru, and wanted to buy later in the evening but totally forgot about it... who knows? i really have no bloody idea. Whats done is done.

its not i want to cheat the system. if i have that intention, why the heck would i pay so much per month for coupons but just to try my luck on this one day. The previous summon was also same situation.

i do admit i'm a forgetful person, and someone like me who uses the car 5-8 times per mth probably is better off buying a normal plate.

so anyway, talk so much also no point. I'm selling my car this weekend, and thats that. Let other ppl enjoy the stress... i'm joining the black plate population and help to increase road traffic jam

100percentsilk

Sorry, no offense intended but you got summoned before but you've still forgotten?

How many times were you fined or is it just a typo?

yes. i got summoned but i still forget. out of the hundreds of times i drove my car out, i purchased all the coupons but i forget 1 time. the previous times also the same.

my brain is forgetful. i tried ways and means to remember. like key in alarm HP etc etc. but sometimes, i simply forgot because my brain is weak. never drink enough tonic.

but seriously, i'm selling off a car as i think a forgetful person and off peak car cannot be together. if i need LTA to help me remember with fines, i rather just get a 2nd hand normal plate

tekster

Dun tok rubbish ok. Things are much easier now alr.
U never try mobilepay. All kinds of arrangements have been provisioned for u.mobilepay just send sms only, so easy and simple.

aaur4man

cut him some slack ba. if he did really buy so many times but forget 1-2 times, i believe alot ppl kena before. unless is forget many time then kena fine 1-2 time then is unforgivable.

TS just put ur name. it will be tagged to owner of the car. anyway its just a fine not jail or whatsover.
sell ur car BUT dont buy a new one immediately. wait for the verdict. u may end up paying most of it to the fine. unless u got enough cash then different but i doubt so since u purchased OPC in the first place.

fine amount poh heng suay....i think someone kena $130k for flouting the OPC rule multiple times, the last i heard 50% discount? on newspaper

100percentsilk

cut him some slack ba. if he did really buy so many times but forget 1-2 times, i believe alot ppl kena before. unless is forget many time then kena fine 1-2 time then is unforgivable.

TS just put ur name. it will be tagged to owner of the car. anyway its just a fine not jail or whatsover.
sell ur car BUT dont buy a new one immediately. wait for the verdict. u may end up paying most of it to the fine. unless u got enough cash then different but i doubt so since u purchased OPC in the first place.

yes. i forgot 4 times within the period i purchase the car 3 years ago. and the saddest part? i finish paying off my loans for this car last april.... so the car is considered mine liao... but because of all these, i really have to sell the car as forgetfulness and off peak just dun mix.

no matter how much pay methods are in place, sometimes, i'm sure some of you will have bad days, the already pending issues in your life that makes your life so stressed til you forgot to do this or that... no? maybe then i'm the exception...

but LTA can check my purchase history, and i'm sure its a long list of day coupon purchase. but being this the 4th time, i really have no excuse other than to get rid of the car to save myself the trouble.

i am kek sim and angry with myself at the same time. kek sim cause my car is so new... and i've already fully paid for it... but yet, i can't keep it.. its heaven's will that i get fined the month i fully repay my loans.

and angry with myself that i'm so forgetful. but what's done is done. there is no excuse. and i just wanna close the case by selling my ride and pay the fine.

new ride i will have to wait since i'm just not a rich kid with loads of $$$ to spend.

but one less red plate, one less stress for me...

Nvoare

Rule no.1 = never start ur car until u have purchased the e-day license.
Don't give urself excuses like early morning in a rush no time to buy. No time to buy in the morning, u shld have bought it on the night before.
In fact, the 48hrs grace period given has its advantages and disadvantages. I'm sure many ppl have forgotten to buy after the usage of the car. I guess u could try appealing stating that the driver is ur gf, not u. I don't think this offence will affect her career unless she's working in the gov sector.

Cryptrus

dun be rubbish lah..u cant represent the OPC population... i driving OPC and i dun find it hard to remember to buy coz i always go buy first thing i drive the car...i straight drove to a AXS machine. pay and get the receipt.

if u find it difficult or u need to drive 5-8 times a week, then jolly well convert it back to normal plate lah.

2wiremodem

yes. i forgot 4 times within the period i purchase the car 3 years ago. and the saddest part? i finish paying off my loans for this car last april.... so the car is considered mine liao... but because of all these, i really have to sell the car as forgetfulness and off peak just dun mix.

no matter how much pay methods are in place, sometimes, i'm sure some of you will have bad days, the already pending issues in your life that makes your life so stressed til you forgot to do this or that... no? maybe then i'm the exception...

but LTA can check my purchase history, and i'm sure its a long list of day coupon purchase. but being this the 4th time, i really have no excuse other than to get rid of the car to save myself the trouble.

i am kek sim and angry with myself at the same time. kek sim cause my car is so new... and i've already fully paid for it... but yet, i can't keep it.. its heaven's will that i get fined the month i fully repay my loans.

and angry with myself that i'm so forgetful. but what's done is done. there is no excuse. and i just wanna close the case by selling my ride and pay the fine.

new ride i will have to wait since i'm just not a rich kid with loads of $$$ to spend.

but one less red plate, one less stress for me...

why you dont want to convert from red plate to normal plate? Why must sell off then buy another normal plate car??

darkmatt

just get normal plate la.

but red plate for show nia.

only your carpark ppl can see.

should just scrap the red plate system and reinstate the OLD WEEKEND car system.

goenitz33

Seriously if you need to drive often like 5-8 times during weekdays during a month, you are better off with a normal plate.

crossair

Yup. I never expect it to be $500 only this round. And i'm not rich, its because i have no choice as i really forget thats why now i suck thumb.

anyway, due to all these fines, i'm finally forced to decide to sell off my car and get a normal plate. my hard earned money is not meant for paying these ridiculous fines. LTA is good. They intro this red plate scheme to reduce car population. But actually its reverse.

each month, i need to drive my car during weekdays at least 5-8 times. I've already tried soooo hard to remember coupons each time. i ALWAYS buy before heading out. and i also double and triple check the following day. Only red plate drivers will know the level of stress we got trying to remember buying $20 tickets and also checking again and again to make sure we bought the tickets. I'm already stressed enough as it is at work and at home. I dont need this bullsh!t. And its now just wasted effort because one of those days, i simply forgotten.

it could be i have tried buying tickets via online in the morning but failed to get thru, and wanted to buy later in the evening but totally forgot about it... who knows? i really have no bloody idea. Whats done is done.

its not i want to cheat the system. if i have that intention, why the heck would i pay so much per month for coupons but just to try my luck on this one day. The previous summon was also same situation.

i do admit i'm a forgetful person, and someone like me who uses the car 5-8 times per mth probably is better off buying a normal plate.

so anyway, talk so much also no point. I'm selling my car this weekend, and thats that. Let other ppl enjoy the stress... i'm joining the black plate population and help to increase road traffic jam

Please stop talking like its LTAs fault.

These fines are not ridiculous, you deserve it.

The OPC scheme doesn't work for you, but it works for many thousands of other people.

Its obvious you lack the mental aptitude for owning an OPC, so please stop pushing the blame to other agencies and make it look like we should feel bad for having another black plate car.

By the way, I have had an OPC for two years, never have I once started the engine without having a coupon. I have no idea how anyone can forget what car they are driving,.

tk

TS, just convert from red plate to black plate.. no need buy new car.. and yes, u deserve a big fine... =:p

meijiaks009

Before pang sai surely must remove pants rite?
Certain things wan to forget aso difficult

tekster

dun be rubbish lah..u cant represent the OPC population... i driving OPC and i dun find it hard to remember to buy coz i always go buy first thing i drive the car...i straight drove to a AXS machine. pay and get the receipt.

if u find it difficult or u need to drive 5-8 times a week, then jolly well convert it back to normal plate lah.

i agree with you bro. btw, you should get the mobilepay system. really much more convenient. just sms can liao.

tekster

Before pang sai surely must remove pants rite?
Certain things wan to forget aso difficult

buying the coupon is not difficult. it's making the effort to buy it that's the thing.

it's like it just simply slips out of your memory or probably some memory lapse. then later you remmeber, time is over.

but really la, should put some timer reminder even if not buying. at least it helps to remind. with the mobilepay system, i really think it's much much easier liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.