Off peak car driving offense issue

s7460597

why you dont want to convert from red plate to normal plate? Why must sell off then buy another normal plate car??

Agree with this. Selling off the red plate and buying a black plate doesn't make monetary sense. To add to that you already have a big fine coming. Just to just convert to a black plate.

The current system is already way better than the old system. I drove a weekend car for 9 years so I know what's it like. I agree that a lot of people don't realize the inconvenience of driving a red plate until they drive one.

simwayne

instead of selling your car, y not convert it to red plate?

u might not know if the 2nd hand car u going to buy is being well taken care of by the previous owner.

but at least u know your current ride inside out, upside down..

Wee^2

Yeah, if you like your current car so much, just top up the balance and convert it to a normal plate. A simple calculation of a 3-year-old OPC converted to normal plate will need to top up $11.9k.

darkmatt

haiz.

instead of fining, they should use the method to charge u instead if u forgot to pay.

geboz

haiz.

instead of fining, they should use the method to charge u instead if u forgot to pay.

OPC buyers has to agree to the rules before buying.

If one cannot live with the rules, then don't buy an OPC

Unless you are like TPL ... You just have to claim that someone else drove your car without a valid day license, declare is an honest mistake, and get away with it.

Wee^2

haiz.

Then they should not give you the $17k and road tax rebates until they can ascertain at the end of 10 years that you've been using your car as an OPC all this while.

kebinu

Convert to black plate cannot get loan, maybe TS cannot afford 1 time payment.

Anyway, it's really easily forgotten as we are facing stress from many other issues, we tend to get absent minded.

Some want to abuse the system, but definitely not all.

LLST pay fine and move on. Either get black plate or stop driving if you cannot afford. This is really "yuan wang qian".

tmfwy

Yes.

Don't blame the TS. It is only human to forget
TS will probably face a fine of $xxxx for his "forgetfulness".

I converted to OPC and always buy my eDay before i use it. paying $20 in advance is better than paying $xxx-xxxx + months of anxiety.

meijiaks009

buying the coupon is not difficult. it's making the effort to buy it that's the thing.

it's like it just simply slips out of your memory or probably some memory lapse. then later you remmeber, time is over.

but really la, should put some timer reminder even if not buying. at least it helps to remind. with the mobilepay system, i really think it's much much easier liao.

when cum to $$$ isssue
i still find it extremely impossible to forget to purchase a day ticket.

especially when it involve ah gong $$$

darkmatt

Then they should not give you the $17k and road tax rebates until they can ascertain at the end of 10 years that you've been using your car as an OPC all this while.

lol. i rather take taxi than to buy OPC.

OPC park at home collect dust nia.

meijiaks009

lol. i rather take taxi than to buy OPC.

OPC park at home collect dust nia.

well,

some pple have passion for cars

& dun find it necessary to drive to work during the day plus other reasons

so having a opc fit their needs in this case

darkmatt

well,

some pple have passion for cars

& dun find it necessary to drive to work during the day plus other reasons

so having a opc fit their needs in this case

even if i were to "collect" cars, i would still get a normal plate for the freedom.

poor_is_a_sin

buying the coupon is not difficult. it's making the effort to buy it that's the thing.

it's like it just simply slips out of your memory or probably some memory lapse. then later you remmeber, time is over.

but really la, should put some timer reminder even if not buying. at least it helps to remind. with the mobilepay system, i really think it's much much easier liao.

Agreed that now is alot easier. I remember people kana fined 5K for not displaying the coupon when they are driving. Now at least got grace time.

Thats why I will never consider OPC. So what I save up 17K and road tax right now? Unless I can really adhere to the system strictly w/o forgetting, I will probably end up paying more thru fines.

poor_is_a_sin

Yes.

Don't blame the TS. It is only human to forget
TS will probably face a fine of $xxxx for his "forgetfulness".

I converted to OPC and always buy my eDay before i use it. paying $20 in advance is better than paying $xxx-xxxx + months of anxiety.

Agreed that its human to forget, then TS should spend some effort so he can remember. Eg sticking labels in his car like : Have you bought your OPC Coupon? Or use his comp to remind him if he surf net at night. Then alert will pop out at a certain timing. If not alert thru phone also can.

If not it has to be a habit. Eg. I will remember to check tyre pressures everytime I pump petrol (I do it once a week). Or check oil and water once a week. Its a habit I cultivate.

I don't remember the exact mileage to change oil but there is a label on my windscreen to remind me. The my mileage tells me when I should replace my timing belt etc.......

lattesurf

just get normal plate la.

but red plate for show nia.

only your carpark ppl can see.

should just scrap the red plate system and reinstate the OLD WEEKEND car system.

What's the difference between the new OPC scheme and old WEC scheme? And how would it help TS in this case?
The only difference I know of is the Sat full day and E-day licence.

s7460597

What's the difference between the new OPC scheme and old WEC scheme? And how would it help TS in this case?
The only difference I know of is the Sat full day and E-day licence.

The current scheme is way better. That time have to buy paper licence in advance. In emergency can't drive. Now anytime can buy. Drive already can still buy.

No difference, forgetful is forgetful. Now at least drive already then remember still have chance to buy.

IMHO it's about personal discipline and knowing what one is getting into. No point KPKB after the fact. The majority of OPC drivers can remember.

poor_is_a_sin

The current scheme is way better. That time have to buy paper licence in advance. In emergency can't drive. Now anytime can buy. Drive already can still buy.

No difference, forgetful is forgetful. Now at least drive already then remember still have chance to buy.

IMHO it's about personal discipline and knowing what one is getting into. No point KPKB after the fact. The majority of OPC drivers can remember.

Back then bo chance given one.... Caught means chao chao 5K for 1st offence and 10K for 2nd time. As good as giving the $$$ from OPC back to gahment.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.