[Official cycling thread]

tecnica

hey guys, can share with me anot?

i have a reba race 2007 too but i notice at the rebound setting, on left side is a deer, right is a tortise.. so i suppose turning to the left the rebound will be fast, to the right the rebound will be slower?

cos wat i experience is the if i dun screw all the way to the left as in turning clockwise... the knob will be dangling and feels very insecured.. is it normal?

issit tat i need to remove the knob then insert something to screw? i google ard but i dun get any info on the rebound.. sigh

tecnica

ok, got the shock pump, running 60+/70- on my fork

also realised that the knob within the bolt for adjusting my rebound is lost.. lbs got sell?

pew

ok, got the shock pump, running 60+/70- on my fork

also realised that the knob within the bolt for adjusting my rebound is lost.. lbs got sell?

Got to go distributor, prepared to get chop carrot

xiao_cai7

My ride

2428246248_e523859641.jpg

Looking for kakis to cycle in the east can PM me.
Stay Old Airport (East).

:)

tecnica

wah kao... susp tuning sibei headache leh.. some say more neg pressure for plushness, some say more pos pressure for plushness.. can yall share some tips? :o

i wan more small bumps compliance... :o

running 60+/70- but the fork feels sluggish.. not like fox's plushness... rebound to full rabbit, floodgate 90% close... wats wrong?

xiao_cai7

Frame
GT Triple Triangle design 6061 butted aluminum with hydroformed downtube, zero stack headtube. Disc compatible with removeable der. Hanger

Fork
Suntour XCR-LO hydraulic fork with cr-mo 30 mm stanchions, magnesium lowers, preload adjust, 100 mm of travel and lock out

Crankset
Shimano FC-M341 42/32/22, octalink interface

Bearings
Shimano Octalink Cartridge Sealed

Pedals
ATB Resin body, Steel cage, toe clip compatible
(Wellgo LU A52)MG-52 & LU-A52 not stock

Front Derailleur
Shimano M -330

Rear Derailleur
Deore M-531 lo-normal

Shifters
Shimano Alivio 8 speed rapidfire shifters

Rear Cogs
Shimano Eight Speed, 11-32 ratio

Chain
IG-31

Rims
Alloy double wall ATB

Tires
Maxxis (crossmark 26x 2.1) not stock

Front Hub
Alloy QR for Disc

Rear Hub
Shimano 8 speed Cassette with QR for Disc

Spokes
Stainless steel 14 gauge

Nipples
Brass CP

Brakes
Tektro Aquila, forged caliper with dial adjust pad centering; Alloy with reach adjust for linear pull brakes

Handlebar
Alum. 20 mm Rise, 6 degree bend, anatomically sized

Stem
GT ATB, threadless 10 degree rise with four bolt alum face plate

Grips
GT Dual Density ATB

Headset
Tange Seiki system for 1 1/8"

Saddle
WTB Speed V

Seat Post
Alloy Micro adjust

Seat Clamp
GT Forged Alum QR

rockdhop

come come, who here cycles ?
let me start first, i'm riding a GT avalanche hardtail and living in the east. hope to hear from more ppl in my area, or anywhere in this sunny island :):)

1) oreo_cheescake v2.0 (bedok)
2) TheoDr
3) dxboy
4) twists ( yishun )
5) DanHoon (farrer rd)
6)KoChi ( jurong )
7)IcehOt ( east)
8)pew (sengkang)
9)tamashi1987 (North)
10)xtn32 (pasir ris)
11)Redpillbluepill (north )
12)Expert (north)
13)fadzuli (tampines )
14)astroboy82 (east )
15)xiao_cai7
16)Singapura
17)AeroSix
18)genocideX ( East- Pasir Ris )
19)undead102 (Jurong East)
20) ultratigafriend (yishun )
21)Valence (town area)
22)mafia6
23)Xerium ,north area(sembawang)
24)speedknight
25) Helbreath (fort road)
26)dipznpipz (bishan)

hey man,anybody from here rides a orange GT?it's a old model but was speeding damn fast at ecp?

tecnica

really leh.. if anyone also tuning ur suspension can share?

wat i see is that (with rebound at full rabbit):

1) neg higher then positive will cause the fork to travel more but feels sluggish in the rebound aspect.
2) pos higher then negative will cause the fork to be more rigid then 1), travel used will be lesser but rebound effect will be better.

hmmm

TheoDR

Didn't know the Giant Anthem won What Mountain Bike magazine's Bike of The Year 2007(?) award :eek:

Giant Anthem 2 review

By Guy Kesteven

The least expensive of Giant's Anthem full-suspension race weapons displays truly stunning handling and overall speed, even at this low price point. However, the short fork can’t quite cope with what the back end encourages.

Giant’s short-travel, high-speed, homicidal-angled race bike has been around for a while now, and we’ve always rated it highly. This is a bike to buy if you want the trail to blur around you on every ride, whether on a race course or off-road.

Ride & handling: sharp as a razor, tight as a tourniquet

There's shouldering room in the Anthem frame, but it’s going to have to be one absolute rooty/muddy/vertical swine of a climb to stop the Anthem pedalling straight up it. The longish stem, long top tube and narrow bars keep the nose firmly pressed down for steering traction. Out back, the Maestro suspension does an incredibly good job of sucking the rear wheel onto the ground for traction without any hint of bob, wobble or rhythm-breaking pedal kickback.

The overall result is that you’ll see the top of a lot of climbs you didn’t expect to. You’ll generally be alone too, because even at £1400 this is a light complete bike, and of the bikes we rode alongside it, only the Specialized Epic Comp could hold it when it came to putting the hurt on up a long haul.

A big part of the Anthem’s appeal is psychological speed. The light weight definitely plays a part, but Giant has played an absolute wildcard with the handling – and it has turned out to be the Anthem’s trump card. A 72° head and 73° seat angle, with super-short back end and wheelbase, should give the steering the same reputation as Sweeney Todd, but when it comes to close shaves it’s incredible.

The longer stem and skinny bars stabilise it just enough so it doesn’t flap around like the last trolley in Tesco, yet soon as you aim for a line, you’re totally locked in and carving within a millimetre of the apex.

On singletrack the Anthem gives you extra metres on every corner, and on race days you’ll be ripping through corners on rails when others are sliding into the straw bales.

For such a light bike it’s very, very stiff, too. There’s not even a hint of smear or sideways twang, however hard you push it, and unlike many light suspension bikes it doesn't jump gears when you really jam the power down.

Add a suspension system that requires absolutely no moderation or compromise in terms of power application and braking, and the Giant is outrageously fast fun in every situation you put it in.

While the cheap, short fork will start spiking out and scaring you if you charge down steep steps or properly rocky stuff, the overall poise and descending confidence is equally improbable for this category of bike. On better-equipped versions we’ve regularly left behind bikes with another 2-3 inches of travel, thanks to the Anthem’s total manoeuvrability and agility. This bike has proved remarkably tough over the years, too.

The only thing you do have to watch out for is ground clearance.

With such a neutral suspension system it’s far less of a problem on the trail than it looks on paper, but expect to toe-tap occasionally in rutted/rooty terrain.

Frame: no change to successful layout

Giant hasn’t changed the Anthem frame at all for 2008, apart from wrapping it in a half polish/half paint design – which we reckon looks particularly great in gloss black and silver.

If we were Giant, we wouldn’t have changed anything either. Most bike manufacturers are still playing catch-up to Giant in terms of tubing technology and alloy alchemy. The hand-built Anthem frames are made from ultra-light tubes put together with superb consistency, too.

With everyone now moving towards slacker (69° or less) steering angles — even on general trail bikes — Giant’s use of a 72° head angle on the Anthem was unpredicted and unprecedented.

There’s no denying it works in this format, though, as the short fork doesn’t dive enough to make it scarily steep under braking, and the classic racer’s longer stem and narrow bars keep it stable at speed. It’s still an experience, but boy, is it a fast one.

The frame is straightforward and direct, rather than fashionably curvy, and it neatly manages to tuck the short-linkage Maestro suspension links and short-stroke Fox RP2 shock into the bottom corner. The impressively tight rear triangle locks down rear wheel tracking and power transfer with 90mm of wheel travel.

The rear-facing seat slot is prone to picking up filth, but otherwise we’ve run Anthems for well over a year with absolutely zero maintenance and no issues. Racers will be delighted to find room for two bottle cages and plenty of space for shouldering up climbs.

Equipment: only weight freaks need upgrade

Race-weight fork and wheels are an obvious eventual upgrade, but whatever you upgrade to, keep the travel at 80mm to retain the spot-on steering balance. For now though, run it soft to suit the back end and use the handlebar remote for those steep, smooth climbs.

The only other gripe we had was with the chunky but not grippy tyres, although you can ignore that, because production bikes should come with Michelin’s excellent Dry 2 race tyres. Other key bits like the Hayes Stroker brakes and gears are great too, so it’s just a case of upgrading to lighter stuff later if you feel the need.

Summary: implausibly good fun

A £1400 race bike will always suffer compromises, such as the workable but weighty fork, and the tyres definitely need changing. Neither hides the fact you’re getting a truly exceptional race/high-speed trail bike that’s implausibly good fun on far more than just the race course.

I ish in lubs :s34:

rockdhop

hi all.most probably by the fourth quater of this year...or by next year,i would have save up enough to buy a good and performance frame plus parts.
now i need some suggestion about these frames or if you have other frames to recommend,share it.

my budget is roughly 4kplus.help me out guys.

criteria is speed.but frame and parts may be subjected to rough usage,like daily cycling,or terrain riding,cycling in the rain for hours.

rockdhop

the parts on the giant frame is what im thinking of putting it up on other frames if i buy them.

Anthem_0.jpg

111307stumpy2008.jpg

for this,i dont intend to have specialized own front suspension.

santa_cruz_superlight_bike.jpg

titus_rcrx_crbn260_07_m.jpg

if you guys have other frames to recommend,please share.and do include the parts you guys think would be great to pair up with the frame.

my aim is SPEED.and parts must be duarable to rough usage,like what i mention earlier.
budget is 4k plus.

pew

hi all.most probably by the fourth quater of this year...or by next year,i would have save up enough to buy a good and performance frame plus parts.
now i need some suggestion about these frames or if you have other frames to recommend,share it.

my budget is roughly 4kplus.help me out guys.

criteria is speed.but frame and parts may be subjected to rough usage,like daily cycling,or terrain riding,cycling in the rain for hours.

walau, 4th quarter then need, urgent meh?:D:D

You want full suss or hard tail?

If u want speed on the road, a hardtail will beat a full sus (unless u can spin with perfection), while offroad, it's the opposite.

What lets u chiong up hill fast might not give u the confidence to bomb downhill.
So either way, decide what u want first.

Meanwhile, u can start sourcing out for 2nd parts in Togoparts already. If got durian fall, quickly grab first.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.