[Official cycling thread]

zenotic

Jia lat, I am caught up between Avalanche 1.0 Disc, Giant XTC SE 2 and Giant Anthem S. Any advice fellas .... :(

Ore0_Cheescake V2.0

simple ba zenotic. stick to the FRAME that u feel u will like. go test ride each bike. i'd be glad to let u try mine, gt ava 1.0. provided that i have something to hold on to.
anthem S full sus bike leh dude, seems abit different league from HT leh.
but what i can say is my gt is holding up very well after nasty crashes. no dents at all ! just scratches.

zenotic

simple ba zenotic. stick to the FRAME that u feel u will like. go test ride each bike. i'd be glad to let u try mine, gt ava 1.0. provided that i have something to hold on to.
anthem S full sus bike leh dude, seems abit different league from HT leh.
but what i can say is my gt is holding up very well after nasty crashes. no dents at all ! just scratches.

Thanks for offering, i've tried the mentioned mtbs and am pretty comfortable with em all. Your ava is 2009 model is it ? I realized that there's a major shortage of it locally. How much did you pay for it ? The models left now are only the v brake models.

I'll be using the bike for mostly PC, onroad traveling and some light trails. The decision for Anthem S is probably the impression that it could provide me with a little comfort for my trips. Do you folks recommend full sus for long distance travel ? What can a HT do that a full sus cant ?

I understand that GT is though may be abit heavier then other frames but can take rather hard knocks.

Alpha_Hippo

Thanks for offering, i've tried the mentioned mtbs and am pretty comfortable with em all. Your ava is 2009 model is it ? I realized that there's a major shortage of it locally. How much did you pay for it ? The models left now are only the v brake models.

I'll be using the bike for mostly PC, onroad traveling and some light trails. The decision for Anthem S is probably the impression that it could provide me with a little comfort for my trips. Do you folks recommend full sus for long distance travel ? What can a HT do that a full sus cant ?

I understand that GT is though may be abit heavier then other frames but can take rather hard knocks.

nowadays, Full sus technology is good enuff for long distance travel. Ask Pew the best liao. He cycled 120km++ every week on his Titus Racer-X while I cycled 50km + every week on my Titus Motolite.

Dun waste time and money since you doing trails. Just go for Full Sus since you can afford it.

tecnica

GT ava is a so call all terrain/mountain frame.. quite hardy.. popularity is high also.. so always shortage...

anyway suspensions/shocks are design for better traction rather then comfort.. if u wanna do long distance cycling.. to me la, a hardtail will be more efficient.. if u have a full sus and dunno how to tune ur shocks, u will end up more tired.. bobbing can waste alot of energy..

however if ur budget can accomodate a full sus, by all means go for it.. if u need to, stretch the $ abit.. buy something u like, u will not regret paying more one... try to read up on how the full sus system works.. it can help alot in ur decision and gain substantial amt of knowledge to help u tune ur shocks better.. :)

pew

nowadays, Full sus technology is good enuff for long distance travel. Ask Pew the best liao. He cycled 120km++ every week on his Titus Racer-X while I cycled 50km + every week on my Titus Motolite.

Dun waste time and money since you doing trails. Just go for Full Sus since you can afford it.

where got 120 every week, hippo dont want to ride with me, i no motivation to ride.

Actually, if it's ur first ride, i recommend hardtail, as full sus is very forgiving on trails, if u ride ful sus, u wont learn much.

So, get a hardtail and learn ur basics first, then get a full sus. Once u get a full sus, u wont want to go back to hardtail.

pew

alot of people get this wrong, a full sus is NOT meant to be more comfortable but rather to give you more traction so that you can chiong faster, no need to siam some of the smaller roots and potholes which on a hardtail would have sent your rear wheel bouncing out of control and on longer travel bikes, to let u take bigger drops.

The anthem is a good choice if you want to get a full sus since you ride on road and pc alot, cuz the anthem has got minimal bob when pedalling. Another short travel frame u can look at is the specialized epic.

If what u are after is comfort, you can get a Ti hardtail which is very comfortable. If you want to save money, can get a hardtail with a suspension seatpost like the thud buster.

zenotic

Appreciate all the helpful information ! Does a full sus system require more maintenance ? I am looking into upkeeping my new ride on a regular basis.

Also are these parts full LX ? Which is more ideal ? There are so many brands that as a beginner I'm totally swarmed :s22:

XTC SE 2

Shifters SHIMANO Deore SL-M530
F/R Derailleurs SHIMANO Deore FD-M530/ RD-M531
Brake AURIGA COMP
Cassette SHIMANO HG50 9S 11-34T
Crankset SHIMANO M442 22/32/44T

Anthem S

Shifters Shimano Deore
Front Derailleur Shimano Deore
Rear Derailleur Shimano Deore
Brakes XTD3.0
Brake Levers Avid FR-5
Cassette Shimano CS-HG50, 11/34, 9-speed
Chain Shimano HG73
Crankset SRAM Isoflow 3.0, 22/32/44

GT Avalance 1.0

FRONT BRAKE:Tektro Auriga comp, hydraulic, dual piston, cold forged
REAR BRAKE: Tektro Auriga comp, hydraulic, dual piston, cold forged
BRAKE LEVERS: Tektro
CHAIN: Shimano HG-53 Nine Speed
FRONT DERAILLEUR: Shimano Deore
REAR DERAILLEUR: Shimano SLX Top- Normal

Ore0_Cheescake V2.0

full sus defiantly need more maintenance. the pivots and all. and that is on top of ur regular maintenance like shifting and gear adjustment.
no mine was the 06's ava 1.0 disc.

Ev0d3vil

Sian. After heavy rain ride yesterday. My front brake become unresponsive.. Now when i press it. The lever just sticks to where i press it. I have to push it out to make the pad unclip itself. Means still got water inside?

pew

Actually quite similar. Anthem S only 1.3, same as xtc se 2 and about 2-300 more then ava 1.0.
then down to which one u like better, but warn u first once u ride full sus, u will probably forget how to ride a hardtail in the trails

tecnica

Appreciate all the helpful information ! Does a full sus system require more maintenance ? I am looking into upkeeping my new ride on a regular basis.

Also are these parts full LX ? Which is more ideal ? There are so many brands that as a beginner I'm totally swarmed :s22:

XTC SE 2

Shifters SHIMANO Deore SL-M530
F/R Derailleurs SHIMANO Deore FD-M530/ RD-M531
Brake AURIGA COMP
Cassette SHIMANO HG50 9S 11-34T
Crankset SHIMANO M442 22/32/44T

Anthem S

Shifters Shimano Deore
Front Derailleur Shimano Deore
Rear Derailleur Shimano Deore
Brakes XTD3.0
Brake Levers Avid FR-5
Cassette Shimano CS-HG50, 11/34, 9-speed
Chain Shimano HG73
Crankset SRAM Isoflow 3.0, 22/32/44

GT Avalance 1.0

FRONT BRAKE:Tektro Auriga comp, hydraulic, dual piston, cold forged
REAR BRAKE: Tektro Auriga comp, hydraulic, dual piston, cold forged
BRAKE LEVERS: Tektro
CHAIN: Shimano HG-53 Nine Speed
FRONT DERAILLEUR: Shimano Deore
REAR DERAILLEUR: Shimano SLX Top- Normal
these are basic deore equipped bikes..

anyway LX is now a trekking grouppo.. SLX is the new mid range..

XTR>XT>SLX>LX>Deore

saint is like somewhere between XT and XTR but it is build more for freeriding.. and hone also.. somewhere above LX..

libertizer

anyone know roughly how much is the 2009 Avalanche 1.0 Disc?
paiseh, lost touch with the market already.

Thanks~

Ev0d3vil

Sian. After heavy rain ride yesterday. My front brake become unresponsive.. Now when i press it. The lever just sticks to where i press it. I have to push it out to make the pad unclip itself. Means still got water inside?

Someone help moi leh. =(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.