Arcana, human response time being limited doesn't mean lag is irrelevant, think about it. If your ping is 0 and you react in 200ms, your input to something on the screen gets to the server in 200ms. If your ping is 200ms, your reaction to an in game action is 600ms (200ms from the server to you, 200ms for you to react, 200ms from you to the server). Ping is not a big deal for wow, but anyone who has played a competitive FPS online can tell you that there is a MASSIVE difference between 10ms ping and 200ms ping.
The IP address mentioned above is the closest estimate you can get for the ping to the current beta servers (in California). The live servers might be based somewhere else in the US - Blizzard has capacity in several US data centres. Any location other than California will result in higher pings for SEA users, but the difference should be relatively small.
Oh, and 3-5ms ping from Taiwan to California is impossible, it would break the laws of physics.
andrei I din say lag is not important la... anyway I was trying to be brief dun wan to type too chim, so mixed alot of words together into a short summary. I was trying to say that for online gaming lag to matter, the online latency should be around 200ms for gamers to feel real lag.
In other words if a gamer has 50ms packet latency and shouts LAG LAG LAG, it's most likely imaginary.
To detail what I mean, the real speed of human body sensory function, eg the speed electrical pulses run through our body, got medical name I dunno what liao, is on average about 50 METRES PER SECOND, and the speed reduces based on age, nerve damage, etc. 50 metres per second is roughly 40ms for a signal to travel say from the hands to the brain (2 metres). This is a one-way trip, so from brain back to hand is 80ms. This is pure transfer, not accounting for age, nerve damage, health, brain function etc. I think is called nerve conductivity or something.
So add here add there, some scientists come out with a figure that for a human to notice a delay in something, ie from no delay to have delay, the delay is around 200ms for the human to say "hey got delay leh".
I suppose some very free people did some tests to prove this ba... I read only I am not a scientist