[Official] EDMW Cycling Thread

Andy0601a

Actually i was looking at X3 then suddenly i realise the frame for X2 and X3 is exactly the same. I thought X3 is suppose to be lighter. Can any1 double confirm?

Same frame different components, don't think the weight vary much.

tremor

I guess depends on individual discipline lor. Climbing seems to be a biatch for commencal. I have the notion that it excels more in DH. I like commencal too but quite concern about its XC perfomance.

NAh, XC not my tea, my bike is AM setup, so I like commencal, and looks super good too.

direftw

Just gotten a jamis xtrail x2.

Noob here though. What are the extra stuff that I need to buy? I realised the shop never fix the water bottle cage for me. Gotta buy that as well I guess?

And how often do I need to pump the tyres? Getting my own pump or doing it at a gas station?

Oh yea I checked my brakeset. Shouldnt the stock one be tektralo? But mine has bengal clearly written on it.

mngjeans

Just gotten a jamis xtrail x2.

Noob here though. What are the extra stuff that I need to buy? I realised the shop never fix the water bottle cage for me. Gotta buy that as well I guess?

And how often do I need to pump the tyres? Getting my own pump or doing it at a gas station?

Oh yea I checked my brakeset. Shouldnt the stock one be tektralo? But mine has bengal clearly written on it.

Congrats on yr new bike. How much u paid for it? Did you choose the one that comes with disc brake?

direftw

Congrats on yr new bike. How much u paid for it? Did you choose the one that comes with disc brake?

Yep. disc brake. But the disc brake that comes with it doesnt seem that good. Oh well, upgrade next time. No more moolah liao.

390 for jamis xtrail x2. Comes with bike chain and bell. Not that bad a price, I feel

franchez

sob.. got my Jamis Trail X2 a month ago.. 450.. with free backlight and bottle cage..

Seems like I never bargain enough.. :(

RAVCRV

Yep. disc brake. But the disc brake that comes with it doesnt seem that good. Oh well, upgrade next time. No more moolah liao.

390 for jamis xtrail x2. Comes with bike chain and bell. Not that bad a price, I feel

Good deal, can pm the shop ? Thanks

sheinked

hey guys,

i went down to HL to check out the jamis trail x bikes. the auntie recommended me to get the 08 model ($410 for backlight and bottle cage) for trail x2 instead of the 09 model ($450).

the 09 model uses disc brake, 7 cassette and 21 speed as compared to 08 model which uses v-brake, 8 cassette and 24 speed.

in any case, if i were to upgrade the shiftlevers, will it be possible for both 08 and 09? whcih model will be a better one? cos v-brake will need lesser maintanence than disc brake right?

cheers!

patcheon

hey guys,

i went down to HL to check out the jamis trail x bikes. the auntie recommended me to get the 08 model ($410 for backlight and bottle cage) for trail x2 instead of the 09 model ($450).

the 09 model uses disc brake, 7 cassette and 21 speed as compared to 08 model which uses v-brake, 8 cassette and 24 speed.

in any case, if i were to upgrade the shiftlevers, will it be possible for both 08 and 09? whcih model will be a better one? cos v-brake will need lesser maintanence than disc brake right?

cheers!

7 speed hubs are not compatible to 8 or 9 speed cassette. So if you get the 7 speed one, you need to change hub (which is rebuilt the wheelset) or a new wheelset altogether on top of the things you need to change from a 8 speed to a 9 speed system.

asgm

I think you'll regret big time. The weight of your bike is very heavy and if you were to upgrade, you'll need to spend much more in the end. Anyway, if its only for casual cycling then ok lah. Sorry dude I'm new here, just my frank opinion.

asgm

I think you'll regret big time. The weight of your bike is very heavy and if you were to upgrade, you'll need to spend much more in the end. Anyway, if its only for casual cycling then ok lah. Sorry dude I'm new here, just my frank opinion.

patcheon

Hello people.. I have a Marzocchi XC600 ATA2 but the stiction is crazy! totally feel like a low end RST. Super not smooth.. any idea guys?

When I got my bike, it comes with a low end RST. As you said, it is super not smooth. But I applied GT85 onto its stanchions after every ride, inverted the whole bike for a few hours a couple of times and keep using it, it became much more smoother after 2000kms of use. I though I could break it first before replacing with a better fork. Now my main complain about it is its weight.

BTW, was told that all forks need a breaking in period.

redification

hi all. i am new to cycling. recently, my uncles intro me into cycling so im thinking of buying a road bike to cycle as a form of leisure and sports. can someone recommend a road bike which is good? my budget should be below 1.5k.

Abletron001

Anyone doing nite offroad need a new headlight?

www . smbf. com . sg / forum/viewtopic.php?t=10816&start=0

ludacris10

If your new i suggest getting 2nd hand unless ur filthy rich/rich then go the 1st hand way.

Abletron001

Are you sure you want a road bike? No chances of going into trail biking? Why not an MTB with slick and you can convert as you deem?

hi all. i am new to cycling. recently, my uncles intro me into cycling so im thinking of buying a road bike to cycle as a form of leisure and sports. can someone recommend a road bike which is good? my budget should be below 1.5k.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.