[Official] EDMW Cycling Thread

Andy0601a

Anyone staying around the west area has spare bolts?

Picture0209.jpg

Stem bolt, specifically the Truvativ Team Stem.

Went lbs near me, hardwareshop and homefix to no avail.

7mm wide measured from thread side, about 2.5cm long, slightly longer nvm.

Thanks in advance!

mngjeans

Anyone know of any reliable bicycle shop at CCK? Got 1 at Limbang by read that is not too good. tks.

pew

Actually i was looking at X3 then suddenly i realise the frame for X2 and X3 is exactly the same. I thought X3 is suppose to be lighter. Can any1 double confirm?

How 'light' or how 'heavy' the bike feels very much depends on how u setup. u can make a bike feel totally like another bike just by changing a few components.

If u got less than 3k to spend, don't even talk about weight.

patcheon

How 'light' or how 'heavy' the bike feels very much depends on how u setup. u can make a bike feel totally like another bike just by changing a few components.

If u got less than 3k to spend, don't even talk about weight.

Sometimes, I wonder how much weight plays a part in the cycling experience or is it just a marketing ploy. Someone said that if you put a full 1 liter water bottle, that is about 1 kg in weight, actually, you won't feel much difference anyway. Which I think is also true. I do not feel much difference in riding with a filled or a empty water bottle.

oyebto

Sometimes, I wonder how much weight plays a part in the cycling experience or is it just a marketing ploy. Someone said that if you put a full 1 liter water bottle, that is about 1 kg in weight, actually, you won't feel much difference anyway. Which I think is also true. I do not feel much difference in riding with a filled or a empty water bottle.
i agree, i think it depends on what weight u save..if example if u save weight on sus maybe ur handling is easier..or save weight on tyres lesser strength to paddle, something i experienced when i change for 2.3 to 1.25

zenotic

y not?.....

I find that among the usual Horst, FSR, DW, URT, the single pivot seem to be one of the least engaging suspension leh, albeit easy maintenance (but more wear). Not that its inferior by anyway but I feel that its DH application is not so practical in SG lor, how much DH do we get here ?

pew

I find that among the usual Horst, FSR, DW, URT, the single pivot seem to be one of the least engaging suspension leh, albeit easy maintenance (but more wear). Not that its inferior by anyway but I feel that its DH application is not so practical in SG lor, how much DH do we get here ?

least engaging? I find single pivot the most active, plushest of all.

zenotic

I'm sorry to mislead... Plush, yes no doubt but active not really in a positive way coupled with bobs and squats. I havent tried climbs with it so cant really comment... DW and Maestro is engaging too but in a different way as the rider wont feel so much of the funky activities from the rear. Different application and genres I guess ...

tremor

plush is goot? i think only for DH and Freestlye bike then plush is good ba. Its negative for climbing and normal peddling leh.

Yes I think DW is really good, but commencal is wickedly attractive. If you never ridden a DW before, I think single pivot makes no difference. Cos you don't know any better.

toRRez

anyone been to the woodcutter trail? anyone has the map or directions to it? i cant seem to find any =(

tremor

anyone been to the woodcutter trail? anyone has the map or directions to it? i cant seem to find any =(
I've been there, but dunno how to go, follow people one. Dun go lah, its seriously my most hated trail, its not even fun. Its bloody stupid trail, I rather ride up and down a flight of stairs.

Agent Shoots

woodcutter is not a nice trail for ppl who can't handle technical sections.

those of us who ride HTs and have generally lower BBs will find it quite irritating because of those sections of big roots and sometimes i do hate traversing thru them, but i still think it's fun whenever im in the mood. it's actually pretty flowy save for those octopus root sections. ppl on full sussers should have less problems on it though. i see my kakis on full sussers just ride through only. sian :slant:

btw butterfly and woodcutter DO NOT EXIST, pls refrain from mentioning them ever again. if you must, use PM or go to other forums like SMBF and join their rides. They will take you to "similar trails, but different". Cough cough.

yamihamir

my entry lvl fixed gear
some of u might meet/know who i am already =]

resized-20090712231759393.jpg

an old pic~
made a few changes and removed the brakes ready~

meggidodimus

hi guys, just asking right, my friend wants to sell me his cinelli with the ultegra brakes, durace wheels for 1k. is it worth buying? ive never took to cycling a road bike hence asking. Everything seems fine, just normal wear and tear marks here n there.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.