anyone know how to change tires from knobbly to slicks? i have a pair of slicks at home but dunno how to put them on my hardtail haha.. do i need inner tubes?
Appreciate all the helpful information ! Does a full sus system require more maintenance ? I am looking into upkeeping my new ride on a regular basis.
Also are these parts full LX ? Which is more ideal ? There are so many brands that as a beginner I'm totally swarmed![]()
XTC SE 2 (2009)
Shifters SHIMANO Deore SL-M530
F/R Derailleurs SHIMANO Deore FD-M530/ RD-M531
Brake AURIGA COMP
Cassette SHIMANO HG50 9S 11-34T
Crankset SHIMANO M442 22/32/44T
Anthem S (2008)
Shifters Shimano Deore
Front Derailleur Shimano Deore
Rear Derailleur Shimano Deore
Brakes XTD3.0
Brake Levers Avid FR-5
Cassette Shimano CS-HG50, 11/34, 9-speed
Chain Shimano HG73
Crankset SRAM Isoflow 3.0, 22/32/44
GT Avalance 1.0 (2009)
FRONT BRAKE:Tektro Auriga comp, hydraulic, dual piston, cold forged
REAR BRAKE: Tektro Auriga comp, hydraulic, dual piston, cold forged
BRAKE LEVERS: Tektro
CHAIN: Shimano HG-53 Nine Speed
FRONT DERAILLEUR: Shimano Deore
REAR DERAILLEUR: Shimano SLX Top- Normal
these are basic deore equipped bikes..
anyway LX is now a trekking grouppo.. SLX is the new mid range..
XTR>XT>SLX>LX>Deore
saint is like somewhere between XT and XTR but it is build more for freeriding.. and hone also.. somewhere above LX..
Which of the above model do you think I should opt for if i should consider upgrading to XT in the future ?
take anthem lah, full sus shiok shiok.....but once u go full sus, u can't go back
and y do u want to upgrade to XT?
Before upgrading always think to yourself, what is the objective of upgrade.
full sus I scared not discipline enough to do regular maintenance end up the bike koyak. Objective for XT cos lighter parts and smoother gear shift lor.
not too much maintainance, servicing of pivots blah blah all these to me is bike shop level, need to do once a year only.
deore can be very smooth if tuned properly, xtr can be not smooth when not properly tuned.
Weight wise, how far u wanna go? what is the current weight and what is the target weight, which is the most cost effective way to cut weight.
My suggestion is get used to whichever bike u decide on first, then change whatever u dun like or whichever wears out first or whichever got super good offer.
Drivtrain is a wear and tear thingy, cassette chain and chainring got limited lifespan, so my suggestion is to change only when they wear out (but sadly compared to xt or xtr, deore stuff take forever to wear out)
If u buy your bike with what to upgrade in mind and dunno y want to upgrade, u'll die very fast one. I tell that becoz i die before many many times.

slicks have lower rolling resistance which translates to a less taxing rideHello everyone~
I actually have a few questions that has been bothering me for quite a while. I hope you guys can help me out with it~
I recently bought a 2nd hand MTB to commute between home and camp (about 9 clicks apart).
Before I made my purchase, I asked around EDMW for tips and stuff.
Someone recommended changing to slicks. Or something like that. How would changing to slicks make my ride smoother / better?
If I can see the benefits, how much would changing to slicks cost? Any good bicycle shops around the North East region?
TIA~
Koshiro

Hello everyone~
I actually have a few questions that has been bothering me for quite a while. I hope you guys can help me out with it~
I recently bought a 2nd hand MTB to commute between home and camp (about 9 clicks apart).
Before I made my purchase, I asked around EDMW for tips and stuff.
Someone recommended changing to slicks. Or something like that. How would changing to slicks make my ride smoother / better?
If I can see the benefits, how much would changing to slicks cost? Any good bicycle shops around the North East region?
TIA~
Koshiro
Ahh.. Thank you tecnica and SLYEO..
Woah this C2C shop is very near my place! How convenient. =D
In any case, I do travel on the pavement sometimes. There's this small part of the journey to camp where there isn't a proper pavement. Instead, it's just lots of tiny pebbles and stones. Would the slicks shred easily on these surfaces?
called L&T and was told that I need to wait 3 months for GT ava 1.0 disc and the price is around $990.
any other good bike to recommend on par with GT ava 1.0 disc?
was also looking at cannondale F5. price is slight higher.
still considering the different options