[OFFICIAL - GE2020] Sengkang GRC discussions

tamago_

All of the latest Sengkang bto are within Sengkang west/Fernvale area.. so that is where most of the young singaporean couple will be located at..

And they probably noticed these young singaporean couples are mostly opposition supporters thus they have to cut out the entire area and put it under amk..

As for new citizen they will most likely be installed into the existing older block which is the current Sengkang grc area..

It is not useful to segment support based on age groups. Remember Punggol East that returned a WP candidate in 2013? The voters are not as young as Anchorvale or Fernvale. You can go estimate, in each area, how many voters that will return each side consistently from election-to-election, and how big is the middle ground. From there, you will have a good estimate.

blurwulf

It’s not abandoning. It’s carving up sengkang to put in other stronger grc, aka gerrymandering.
If AMK and punggol are the courtyard, then Sengkang is like the backyard where u don't put much effort in its development.
When they built the hospital in SK I knew liao. Look, it's good to have a hospital near by your area but u don't want it at your doorstep to take up large precious land space. So what to do? Throw it in the backyard (SK) lor...
Last time even got ppl here so happy they built a hospital in SK... really stupid got no cure.

Sent from My Butthole using GAGT

tamago_

If AMK and punggol are the courtyard, then Sengkang is like the backyard where u don't put much effort in its development.
When they built the hospital in SK I knew liao. Look, it's good to have a hospital near by your area but u don't want it at your doorstep to take up large precious land space. So what to do? Throw it in the backyard (SK) lor...
Last time even got ppl here so happy they built a hospital in SK... really stupid got no cure.

Want milk don’t want cow farm :s13:

yesman2978

PMD policies really like flipping prata. Wasted so much taxpayers’ money buying back, sponsoring for the next, then buy back again, and sponsor for the next purchase. I remember they give 1k for buying bicycle.

Really wasting taxpayers’ money. If they don’t keep flipping prata, tax payers won’t lost so much.

Same as COVID, if they acknowledge that COVID 19 could have asymptotic carriers before April (which by January the world is already aware of asymptotic carrier, not sure why PAP need 3 more months to be aware), SG may not need to shut down for so long. And after shutting down, they refused to lockdown all dormitories. Even until now, they say they wa t to test all FWs, but after months, seems like still testing.

Really wasting opportunities.

quote for truth

tankgunner

Mentor

dont forget. Punggol is also PM Lee's pet project.
he even acted as a "property agent" during one of the NDR.

lcyt89

Just attended the FB live for PAP SK candidates earlier. They keep harping about jobs and childcare centres.

Are SK residents really in need of jobs and childcare centres?

lcyt89

Like how they tried to throw the Columbarium here 5 years ago? :s13:

lcyt89

Sengkang will always be the little brother to Punggol and soon, to Buangkok as well after the Buangkok Integrated Development is up.

Just like the Simei to Tampines, Braddell to Toa Payoh etc.

Quala98

Sengkang will always be the little brother to Punggol and soon, to Buangkok as well after the Buangkok Integrated Development is up.

When the sengkang development was ongoing in mid 90s , punggol 21 project starts. I rmb when I first moved in in, 1999, Blk 10X in punggol were still under construction.

But cos of our dear Mah Bow Tan, punggol 21 was put on hold until pinky imagines a waterway in middle of the town in his NDR in 2008. From then the punggol project restarts...

So ya, I think ur statement about sengkang is valid.

Sent from A Place Away From You using GAGT

Eggandkaya

Just attended the FB live for PAP SK candidates earlier. They keep harping about jobs and childcare centres.

Are SK residents really in need of jobs and childcare centres?

Probably. Childcare registrations are always full

sacrificium

Judging from their campaign conducted predominantly in English and online, I don’t think their focus is on delivering pamphlets.

Instead of laying out their post-Covid plans, they are posturing in line with the checks and balances, so they don’t need to come up with solutions. Any solutions the Govt has, it just needs to lean half-step to the left. Beauty contest, seen so much in HK’s LegCo elections, because their sole purpose is to be populist so that they can get in and collect fat allowances. And because they do not form the Executive branch, their biggest measure of performance is how much they oppose whatever plans the non-elected Executive puts up, by concentrating only on airing the grievances of the people to make the population happy, much like the opposition rallies. Because life is not a bed of roses and no policy can benefit everyone without creating a trade off elsewhere for others. In the end, the Democrats have ensured that Hong Kong did not progress at all, unable to take on any opportunity that comes its way. A Cyberport that is nothing but a property development, a DJI drone company that had to move to Shenzhen to grow into a global player, a third runway that took forever to build, just some of the examples.

So only PAP needs to send its pamphlets. I have 4 pamphlets too, and I’m just a resident going about my activities, but I only see PAP on the ground so far. Maybe cos I’m on the boundary of two divisions, which means any campaigning is less effective.

Aiyo, you are not voting for a G. Do you think PAP will appoint any WP MP as minister? They are there to stop marrytocracy and nepotism. And voice out the needs of the people.

Just like the CCS said. Everyone complain about why PAP allows free flow of labour with India. Instead of explaining why HSK made the choice, CCS asked the opposition MP what would they possibly offer to India to remove the clause. If they don’t screw up, we won’t have this ****

azeris10

Other problem is Sengkang shape. It’s a big block of rectangle with a river dividing into 2. Harder to plan amenities and separate them out and they failed.

blurwulf

Little bro is ok so long as they know how to make good town planning. Marsirling is also like a small bro to Woodlands hub but it's well developed. I have friend just moved in there so I know. Abt 250m radius from his house got 3 kopitiam and 2 supermarkets, walk a bit further got hawker centre some more. I think his area is under Lawrence wong grc...at least they do a good job in town planning.
Don't know abt braddell but simei is a good example. They also have a hospital there right, lol. But then again, if I'm not wrong SK is much bigger than simei in terms of size and population. At least simei is not so jam packed like SK, the cost of living, ie food price, is not as high, and there's no freaking aeroplane noise that drive ppl crazy.

LLiipp

Good town planning is not about putting F&B and shops at every estate. Over supply will also cause the shops to close. They just need to put at strategic locations. Not put for the sake of putting. If not will have too many white elephants.

blurwulf

Good town planning is not about putting F&B and shops at every estate. Over supply will also cause the shops to close. They just need to put at strategic locations. Not put for the sake of putting. If not will have too many white elephants.
SK has the highest food price among the hdb estates in SG. Is that a result of over supply?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.