[OFFICIAL - GE2020] Sengkang GRC discussions

lcyt89

You parent? For new estates those less than 10 years, yes, child care issue is a must as I previously explained.

Rather disheartening part is the main focus is one local heartland issues rather than the individual candidate's vision and plans for the greater good of the nation. Unlike oppositions who will champion some cause, they are rather sticking to the PAP scripts of Post covid, without really sharing any concrete plans.

I'm not sure if Sengkang is still considered as a new estate though. I have been here for the past 20 years and my parents are the pioneer batches. For the pioneer batches, they should be now in their twilight years and their children (like me) have grown up to be fresh working adults. The case is the same for my friends staying here.

So child care isn't really a concern at the moment until I have kids. But then, I am looking to shift out of Sengkang in the near future. I would think it would be more of a concern to Fernvale residents, since there are more new BTOs there? Or new parents whom have just shifted in (not the pioneer batches)?

qcubesg

People think Singapore will begin World War 3 of SEA when PAP loses mandate.. therefore PAP reign forever

blurwulf

SK every election also promised hawker centers to reduce food cost. In the end what happened? They repeat the same the next election cos nothing. Done.

MI-1.jpg
I don't recall they ever make any promise to build a hawker...at least not for SK east/central area. Heck I don't even think they ever address the high cost of living in the area. Only recently on tv saw Ng CM mentioned something abt the living cost...but very briefly. Can see he don't have a plan at all...

Sent from My Butthole using GAGT

Kunkka

How come all talk Seng kang East Coast as if Aljunied bao jiak?

Posted from PCWX using LYA-L29

lcyt89

Little bro is ok so long as they know how to make good town planning. Marsirling is also like a small bro to Woodlands hub but it's well developed. I have friend just moved in there so I know. Abt 250m radius from his house got 3 kopitiam and 2 supermarkets, walk a bit further got hawker centre some more. I think his area is under Lawrence wong grc...at least they do a good job in town planning.
Don't know abt braddell but simei is a good example. They also have a hospital there right, lol. But then again, if I'm not wrong SK is much bigger than simei in terms of size and population. At least simei is not so jam packed like SK, the cost of living, ie food price, is not as high, and there's no freaking aeroplane noise that drive ppl crazy.

Agree on the jam packed. Sengkang is the second most populous estate in Singapore, and it is not even big to begin with.

lcyt89

But you will be surprised that some are actually satisfied with Sengkang as a whole. Either they have been staying here their whole life (Never stayed in matured estates like AMK, so 井底之蛙) or they are those who stay at home on weekends (Don't go out and just buy meals from their coffee shop downstairs).

Sengkang is actually a good retirement home. Tranquil and boring. I would suggest that the old folks from Chinatown or Toa Payoh move here. But I don't think they will be stupid enough to give up their hawker centres and other amenities to come here.

Laneige

You are wrong and here's why:

1. Demographic profile of sk residents are younger and more educated
2. Therefore can make better judgement for themselves
3. Not easily swayed by msm and fear
4. Not afraid to vote for opposition if the situation calls for it - punngol east smc won by ms lee

Got new citizens?

LLiipp

Got a lot of retirees...long term dependent pass holders I believe. From the BTO new citizen's foreign parents. saw some started their famous 大妈广场舞 at the parks. Near compassvale koufu and playground new the Riverside Park.

Propanone

No way that sengkang will be won by WP, although I wish it would.

Do not underestimate the daft of Sinkies. I expect 60-40 win by puppy :(

sacrificium

Depends how you view over supply lah. If you have only 1 coffee shop near the LRT and all the surrounding estates view one coffee shop, there will be more customers. Hawkers no need to price themselves so high to cover the cost.

If there are 3 coffee shops around the LRT at different estates, the stalls have to factor that they can sell lesser per day and increase they price.

The current problem is that this area being a pure residential area. The peak hour for the coffee shops are only dinner time. For day time, you will see more crowd during weekends only.

So with this low demand, they can only sell higher to cover the cost. For me, I that the only way out is to moderate the rental cost to help keep the hawkers break even.

Not very sure which coffee shop you are referring to when you complained the food cost its high, but I notice there are some operated by Koufu compassvale, SKGH and kopitiam group near seletar mall which tends to be higher. If u visit the coffee shops further from LRT, they can be cheaper as well.

So far my complain about food is more on the quality. Can't find a decent hokkien mee, chwee kuey, chicken rice, laksa... prawn noodle must go Ang mo kio.....(Jalan kayu ) then can...

One of the reasons is given here:

https://www.onlinecitizenasia.com/2014/04/01/private-hawker-centres-low-thia-khiang-sounded-warning/

If you look at other out of town areas like Tampines etc, they have lower food cost. Their residents also mainly goes to work. Just cut away the middle man and let each hawker stall determine what price is good. If they think they can sell volume, then they will bid for high rental. If they cannot, then bid for low rental. Food cost remains consistent.

sacrificium

I don't recall they ever make any promise to build a hawker...at least not for SK east/central area. Heck I don't even think they ever address the high cost of living in the area. Only recently on tv saw Ng CM mentioned something abt the living cost...but very briefly. Can see he don't have a plan at all...

Please view: 0:24.
They say will build bus interchange and hawker center. They say only. After easy wins, nothing happens.

If you are SK resident, I am sure you know which area is TSL in charge of, and where is the new bus interchange (which is a dumb location resulting from failure to plan).

foxer77

Sengkang was the first to develop but now Punggol has much more facilities than sk .

Bicycle path , Safra , park etc ...
the resale property in Punggol also higher than sk

sacrificium

Sengkang was the first to develop but now Punggol has much more facilities than sk .

Bicycle path , Safra , park etc ...
the resale property in Punggol also higher than sk

Cos too easy win, so no need to have Together Seng Kang Plan.

AndreFLo

But you will be surprised that some are actually satisfied with Sengkang as a whole. Either they have been staying here their whole life (Never stayed in matured estates like AMK, so 井底之蛙) or they are those who stay at home on weekends (Don't go out and just buy meals from their coffee shop downstairs).

Sengkang is actually a good retirement home. Tranquil and boring. I would suggest that the old folks from Chinatown or Toa Payoh move here. But I don't think they will be stupid enough to give up their hawker centres and other amenities to come here.

Lol I moved here from tpy and you are right wirh regards to the amenities. My main peeve is the lack of food options which I’ve previously mentioned in this thread, but it’s not really that much of a deal breaker la. At most buy more food and store at home to cook, or just call food delivery. Or travel a bit further to takeaway or keep having the same few dishes everyday, no problem at all.

I’m more concerned about national issues the lack of transparency and checks/balances in parliament, for eg the handling of covid 19, Hep C outbreak in the hospitals resulting in fatalities, the PE process, etc. Because of these and other issues, I’ll vote wisely and make my vote count.

spidercyj

her twitter feed reads like the journal of a teenager, where she has been focused on the toll the elections is taking on her personally, and her parents who have “substantial amount of power” in society

her words, not mine: https://mobile.twitter.com/RaeesahKhanwpsg/status/1279212207310430209

if you are in her ward, please be more mindful of your vote. having attended mps sessions, i know that the MPs will have to see their own residents first, before addressing the needs of residents from other wards (and that is assuming that they want to)

so while i have absolute faith in Jamus...

I didn’t read her whole Twitter but only the one you posted and from it I can see a person that is reflecting how fortunate she is to be able to run without worry because of her family background.

waiken

wahlau punggol supposed to be the modern de facto new town sengkang is never that its like an experimental new town so they can do better for punggol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.