*Official* General Market Chit Chat Thread - Part 2

Average

it was from the hokkien peng era. :s13:

all the vulgarities used by those lowly educated NS men. :s22:
recently went back reservist...

got a 30plus year old told me he witnessed the unit transit from hokkien peng to today no more hokkien peng. he say very big change.

really neh see any hokkien peng liao. oni got beng looking guys with ang gongs and smoke all day. they speak engrish.

Sent from 穷小子 using GAGT

KinoChoco

When its suspended or halt, there won't be any t+2 buy in at all la

Therefore buy in fail and u will be fine $1000

Then u have to ask broker to appeal for u

Oh so actually only need pay 1k la if trading halt?

If example you short sell 50k, no need pay any of the 50k right?

#pickingupknowledge

Sinkie

#pickingupknowledge

If it halt, u have to find shares in sbl, if t+3 still halt, u won't be able to participate in the buy-in and u will be fined $1000. If t+4 still halt, fine another $1000. T+5 if still halt, u have to find shares to cover.

If halt become suspension, if u have not find any shares to borrow, then u have to "pick up" or pay the whole amt $ even though it's a sell contract after I think 14 days

If u are not able to pick up, u just come to your broker to discuss installment plan, if u miss any payment, your broker will pick up the tab for u haha

And sue you bankrupt

If example you short sell 50k, no need pay any of the 50k right, answer is u have to pay that $50,000 if it turn into suspension

ccostagmont

Oh u have to pick up the whole contract even though it's a sales

If it become suspended and u no money to pick up, it will be treated as contra loss for the whole amt

Just ignore it, and declare bankrupt, life still go on

:eek: :eek: :eek:

ccostagmont

JIAK BAH COME BACK, NAT-COOL JIN KOOL SIOL...
BOAT COME BACK TO 250 LIAO...
GOT CHANCE FOR 500 @ 5PM?
16:59 MAGIC SHOW?

Kinetic88

#pickingupknowledge

beside fine, chiu, or rather SGX still need to buy back what chiu sold on chiu behalf.

if the share traded at a higher price after resuming, chiu gg.com. :D

good luck to chiu if the price ish lower.

broker comms and all the fees still need to pay beside the "contra" lose.

Asphodeli

Can you explain how securities borrowing work vs short selling. Maybank Ke, OCBC and poems got.

Short selling can be done either via CFD or securities borrowing.

My experience with shorting on SGX? Atrocious. Better to go long, or better still, lend out your shares for the shortists :s13:

ccostagmont

Short selling can be done either via CFD or securities borrowing.

My experience with shorting on SGX? Atrocious. Better to go long, or better still, lend out your shares for the shortists :s13:

HOW TO LEND OUT?
LEND OUT LIAO WHEN CAN TAKE BACK?

Sinkie

Can you explain how securities borrowing work vs short selling. Maybank Ke, OCBC and poems got.

Monday 10am, u short sell 10,000 natural cool
If Monday 5pm u buy back 10,000 natural cool

This is a perfect short sell and cover

If Monday 5pm u buy back 4,000 natural cool
You purposely short sell 6,000 natural cool

Tues-thurs - u can still go sbl borrow the 6,000 then t+3, u won't need SGX to buy in for u, and u can choose to buy back yourself

If not SGX will buy in for u on t+3

Asphodeli

HOW TO LEND OUT?
LEND OUT LIAO WHEN CAN TAKE BACK?

Only 2 lenders for peasants - SGX (minimum $50k worth of a stock), or POEMS SBL (smaller size, minimum 100 also can).

When can take back arh? So far I ask POEMS they keep saying "we have ample shares to return to you on your instruction to withdraw your shares from the lending pool". Which I think is reasonable la, since they can always buy off the market to return to you, in case the borrower defaults, and assuming it's not suspended. In most cases, shares will be returned to you, otherwise it will be the market value of the shares you loaned out, so there's a risk of the borrower defaulting.

If you plan to lend out penny stocks then I dunno liao, I only lent out my SembMarine shares. :s22:

Interest rate is determined based on date of lending out, internal borrowing rate and market price, e.g. for SembMarine, 5% of market price / 365 * no. of days borrowed. Money credited to my SBL account every month.

ccostagmont

wah...... u all jsm....
moi blur blur ones...

chiu need to open a "share borrowing" ac with SGX (CDP).

http://www.sgx.com/wps/portal/sgxweb/home/trading/securities/sbl

If Monday 5pm u buy back 10,000 natural cool

This is a perfect short sell and cover

If Monday 5pm u buy back 4,000 natural cool
You purposely short sell 6,000 natural cool

Tues-thurs - u can still go sbl borrow the 6,000 then t+3, u won't need SGX to buy in for u, and u can choose to buy back yourself

If not SGX will buy in for u on t+3

pls refer to moi post #1193.

Just fill in form to park your share to SGX sbl pool

And wait for people to borrow loh

Only 2 lenders for peasants - SGX (minimum $50k worth of a stock), or POEMS SBL (smaller size, minimum 100 also can).

When can take back arh? So far I ask POEMS they keep saying "we have ample shares to return to you on your instruction to withdraw your shares from the lending pool". Which I think is reasonable la, since they can always buy off the market to return to you, assuming it's not suspended. If you plan to lend out penny stocks then I dunno liao, I only lent out my SembMarine shares. :s22:

Interest rate is determined based on date of lending out, internal borrowing rate and market price, e.g. for SembMarine, 5% of market price / 365 * no. of days borrowed. Money credited to my SBL account every month.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.