*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

dolph001

Investing not easy to teach. I've lost about half because they don't want to do so much work.

The irony is that these tutors teaching physics, mathematics, biology etc etc are actually not imparting their best skill to the next generation, which is investing.....quite a waste imo :( yyhwin also a tutor

I taught (and still teaching) my kids about investing when young and even started buying blue chips that they selected (1 Bank & 1 Reit). Their portfolio is funded by their angpow money, pocket money savings & part-time work. So far, the returns have been fairly good, 10.5% in 2016 and 5.5% in 2017 so far. Start young on the right path is important as it is easy to go to the dark side once they start working and the high chance to get influence by the madness of the crowd. I always told them that they have many years of investment ahead to work the magic of compounding. If they do it right, it can be very very rewarding :)

:D

buy Sing Post , Sing Tel and SPH and just hold .

in long terms still benefit.

Android user

I taught (and still teaching) my kids about investing when young and even started buying blue chips that they selected (1 Bank & 1 Reit). Their portfolio is funded by their angpow money, pocket money savings & part-time work. So far, the returns have been fairly good, 10.5% in 2016 and 5.5% in 2017 so far. Start young on the right path is important as it is easy to go to the dark side once they start working and the high chance to get influence by the madness of the crowd. I always told them that they have many years of investment ahead to work the magic of compounding. If they do it right, it can be very very rewarding :)
You can try to do it that way, but human change when they grow up. Rather than keep saying the fifo way is bad, why not teach them the necessary knowledge of both value Investing and trading? This way you are actually protecting them in each scenario they might face in future.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 3 using GAGT

Mr.Canberra

you now semi retired then besides trading, what else you doing?

just curious

Beside doing own projects on and off. Also help out with own family financial management and errands. :D

Those bored with doing trading whole day can try to do volunteer work or join RC por lanpa. :s13:

Mr.Canberra

Savings More Effective Than Earning More

Money grows money. If you really want a good stream of passive income u will need to have a good pool of money which should come from your primary income.

Very true use money to grow more money like farming. :D

Even back in the days when I was still working as an employee. My savings rate is 90% or more! Even after doing my own business I still have this habit. So the compounding effect over many years allowed my holdings to multiply.

I still spend on things but on big ticket items with appreciation or hedge value only such as real estate. This is what motivates me to curb unnecessary consumerism spending.

But the negative effect of having passive income is you sort of become lazy. :s13:

MasterLeong

Your kids very fortunate to have u
Respect

Mr.Canberra

Power Of Compounding

I always told them that they have many years of investment ahead to work the magic of compounding. If they do it right, it can be very very rewarding :)

Yes never overlook the power the compounding. Once you have a larger quantum you will be able to lower your investment risk level for capital preservation.

To make X amount of money is hard. To preserve the fortune is even harder.
创业难, 守业跟难.

Mr.Canberra

Investing not easy to teach. I've lost about half because they don't want to do so much work.

Not everyone is cut out to be financial savvy.

Those who begin with zero, experience hardship before and eventually made their fortune understand the value of each dollar.

When it comes to investment it is either you have the interest or not. Kids will have to go through some hardship to value money. The starbucks coffee they take for granted is equivalent to a hour's wage of a low income earner.

Mr.Canberra

RC now a lot of FT por for PR

Standard lah haha. :D

Those like play politics can start from grassroots. Not necessary must join MIW. :s13:

You know why some MPs can have tremendous support. It is not because there are under MIW brand but some is really on the ball. Have good grassroots team and always appear in the neighbourhood.

Join RC is a good way to network for other stuff also. :D

Layers

The irony is that these tutors teaching physics, mathematics, biology etc etc are actually not imparting their best skill to the next generation, which is investing.....quite a waste imo :( yyhwin also a tutor
imagine student tell parents. I want ro buy Areit 100 shares.

Parent in horror sack away yyhwin.

Too bad societies view buying stock = gamblr n risky

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

Layers

Wow yout kids how old liao? Teens?

I think u can write a book on how to teach your kids to do stock investment

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

Shion

Senior Mentor
I got a cheque but at the back don't have the boxes, so I just write my name, bank a/c and phone number anywhere at the back will do right ?

goh6570

Yeah anyway at the back of the cheque.

Full name, acct no and mobile number

I got a cheque but behind don't have the boxes at the back, so I just write my name, bank a/c and phone number anywhere at the back will do right ?

zzxiaoboizz

I think u can open kids investing tution class liao
Not everyone is cut out to be financial savvy.

Those who begin with zero, experience hardship before and eventually made their fortune understand the value of each dollar.

When it comes to investment it is either you have the interest or not. Kids will have to go through some hardship to value money. The starbucks coffee they take for granted is equivalent to a hour's wage of a low income earner.
I agree... ever since i started working my spending pattern changed as compared to my younger days where my parents give me money....

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.