*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

MasterLeong

INGAPORE - A 35-year-old man has allegedly been living at Jurong Point shopping mall for nearly four years, using the water, electricity and Wi-Fi there.

Mr Chen Jinfu, who works at an electronics factory, makes his "home" outside the mall, along walkways or at staircases there, Lianhe Wanbao reported on Monday (Jan 16).

Wanbao visited the mall in Jurong West and found him sitting on some newspapers, watching a show on his tablet device while drinking soya bean milk and eating bread.

He told Wanbao that he rents a shared room in Boon Lay, but finds the room hot and stuffy, saying he prefers to live at Jurong Point as the $250 room was "no good" and he could not get along with the other tenants.

He added that it was cooler at Jurong Point, which is open late and has a 24-hour supermarket, and that he could use the free Wi-Fi and was able charge his phone at the mall.

A spokesman for Jurong Point told The Straits Times it welcomed Mr Chen as long as he did not pose a nuisance.

"We're heartened that shoppers enjoy using this facility," she said, referring to the complimentary Wi-Fi the mall began offering in 2015. "If Mr Chen Jinfu uses our facilities in an appropriate fashion without posing any nuisance or threat to the mall's security, we warmly welcome him like any other shopper."

Mr Chen, who is from Ipoh in Malaysia, has worked in Singapore for more than 10 years and currently earns more than $1,000 a month.

He claimed that he has never been chased away, and said he has seen others loitering in the area like himself.

When asked why he rented a place even though he preferred staying at Jurong Point, Mr Chen said that he needed a residential address for his employment pass.

To maximise his savings, Mr Chen goes to Johor nearly every weekend to buy daily necessities.

He visits his retired parents in Ipoh only once a year during Chinese New Year as it is "not cheap to travel there".

Mr Chen is apparently not the first to seek unconventional lodgings. Two weeks ago, there were reports of a woman who lived in Changi Airport while renting out her three-room flat.

Weaboo

Wtf uber two years liao?

Uber driver Jerry Yeo, 44, switched from a monthly rental car to an hourly arrangement with Smove recently because "the cost is lower". Mr Yeo has been driving with Uber for just over two years, but reckons he will not stay much longer. "The earnings are not attractive," he noted. "There are no long-term prospects."

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

Layers

INGAPORE - A 35-year-old man has allegedly been living at Jurong Point shopping mall for nearly four years, using the water, electricity and Wi-Fi there.

Mr Chen Jinfu, who works at an electronics factory, makes his "home" outside the mall, along walkways or at staircases there, Lianhe Wanbao reported on Monday (Jan 16).

Wanbao visited the mall in Jurong West and found him sitting on some newspapers, watching a show on his tablet device while drinking soya bean milk and eating bread.

He told Wanbao that he rents a shared room in Boon Lay, but finds the room hot and stuffy, saying he prefers to live at Jurong Point as the $250 room was "no good" and he could not get along with the other tenants.

He added that it was cooler at Jurong Point, which is open late and has a 24-hour supermarket, and that he could use the free Wi-Fi and was able charge his phone at the mall.

A spokesman for Jurong Point told The Straits Times it welcomed Mr Chen as long as he did not pose a nuisance.

"We're heartened that shoppers enjoy using this facility," she said, referring to the complimentary Wi-Fi the mall began offering in 2015. "If Mr Chen Jinfu uses our facilities in an appropriate fashion without posing any nuisance or threat to the mall's security, we warmly welcome him like any other shopper."

Mr Chen, who is from Ipoh in Malaysia, has worked in Singapore for more than 10 years and currently earns more than $1,000 a month.

He claimed that he has never been chased away, and said he has seen others loitering in the area like himself.

When asked why he rented a place even though he preferred staying at Jurong Point, Mr Chen said that he needed a residential address for his employment pass.

To maximise his savings, Mr Chen goes to Johor nearly every weekend to buy daily necessities.

He visits his retired parents in Ipoh only once a year during Chinese New Year as it is "not cheap to travel there".

Mr Chen is apparently not the first to seek unconventional lodgings. Two weeks ago, there were reports of a woman who lived in Changi Airport while renting out her three-room flat.
Idea leh. Rent out flat slp in changi airport. I must say changi is very cozy

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

Asphodeli

You guys owe me $1.20 for this. LOL!

UUka894.jpg

moonsoon92

Gotta replenish my warchest now, tough year ahead with so much uncertainty and with Mr.Trump on the fence on so much policies, this time is really earn big or lose big. Based on history every 10 years will experience market adjustment/correction.

Will 2017 be that year?

I think you probably from the start not too familiar with hospitality assets... but bo bian... learn from mistake ba

if looking at reits... the core 3 types still retail, commercial, industrial... like CMT,CCT,Areit 3 piece blue chip chicken combo meal... should start from learning these 3 first as they are much easier to understand

others type of reits are harder to understand and need more experience, after you master the basic 3 then you move on to stuff like healthcare, hospitality, datacenter

L'oreal Paris

Gotta replenish my warchest now, tough year ahead with so much uncertainty and with Mr.Trump on the fence on so much policies, this time is really earn big or lose big. Based on history every 10 years will experience market adjustment/correction.

Will 2017 be that year?

wa mai spread fear ley i lose money on stocks already :sad::sad:

Maeda_Toshiie

"More than $1000". I imagine it not to be anywhere near $2000, else I'm sure they would claim that he earns "nearly $2000". On top of that, I'm sure that's the gross salary with no CPF cut.

And can a local survive on such a salary?

They are putting a "nice" spin to it by saying that the building management doesn't mind. Ballz. That's no different from the old folks who sleep over in McDonald restaurants in HK.

havetheveryfun

Corrected for you.

actually, I went to count and there's some truth to it

say you take home 3k, and save 90% of it, which means you only spend 10% of it - $300. So in a year you would need $3600. and you save $32400.

at 7% yield, $32400 gives $2268. So you only short of ~$1400.

In the 2nd year, you would get $4536 if you continue to earn and save the same amount. So if you still only spend $3600 a year, financially free loh ! :s12:

think $300 is the minimum anyone need in order to survive per month, so that means you need to be earning $3750 gross or more to achieve such a feat

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.