*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

This becomes a "hao lian good wife" thread liao.

I married 2 years ago. My wife 25 years old then. No banquet, no photoshoot, no diamond ring. Pure ROM only. Expecting a baby this Jul. Power bo? haha :D

Perisher

I married 2 years ago. My wife 25 years old then. No banquet, no photoshoot, no diamond ring. Pure ROM only. Expecting a baby this Jul. Power bo? haha :D

JSK... so young and rich. :s12:

FrontierX

True lah, dun disturb master leong thread.

Let's continue to talk about stocks haha

Mr.Canberra

Bought CDG today. Hold long long for this. Let's see how the transport industry re-innovates in the face of disruptive technologies.

I did not research on the support and resistance prices for CDG so cannot comment what is good price to enter.

What I know is taxi operators got complacent. They thought the low hanging fruits are there for the plucking perpetually.

As for Taxi App companies yes they are disrupting the status quo but it comes with a price. These are private companies and are not obliged to report their earnings to the public. Whether they are making profits or not nobody knows. Because they are backed by venture capitalists the CEO can burn cash without answerable to shareholders. Only answerable to the backers which hope these startups will be the next Facebook. The internet bubble burst is a good reminder. One day all these so called App tech startups bubble will burst also once the money runs out.

You can see Uber pulling out of certain markets or consolidating with domestic players. In short Taxi App companies are burning cash giving out free rides or promotion to capture market share. In the long run definitely not sustainable.

If you cannot beat them then join them. Taxi operators can come out with their own App and offer more competitive rents to attract drivers.

Mr.Canberra

car is a liability, no doubt about it. we are still spending 700-800 on the car without the installment, when u average our the road tax, petrol, insurance and parking.

But to tell their parents we decide to sell their 'wedding present' to us... abit hard to bring it up due to it being a sentimental gift but thou we see it as a rational decision.

If I were you I will say if want to give gift please give us appreciative assets such as gold bars or downpayment for condo. :s13:

Car is a depreciative asset unless you are making a living by driving it around or for business usage. Ferrying family members around is considered as transport expenses with a higher cost. If still want to drive the only way to cut down this cost is to buy a car with a COE balance of 1 year or less. :D

TheIntelligentInvestor

HLS is one of the better stocks in SGX... low leverage, high ROA/E, low PE... too bad I sold it to buy Singtel.

I am just guessing that it could be privatisation. Volume is really high since Sep.

Yes, HLS a well run smallcap company. The lack of new property developments and eroding margin were some concerns for this counter. But with the 1.1B order from Changi Airport JV with Semcorp, it will help in their earning outlook for the next few years. But historically, civil engineering business will have lower profit margin. This is a good div stock. Vested at ave 0.345. BV 0.45, PE 6.5, ROE 14%, DIv 6.5%.

[M]aiev

Yes, HLS a well run smallcap company. The lack of new property developments and eroding margin were some concerns for this counter. But with the 1.1B order from Changi Airport JV with Semcorp, it will help in their earning outlook for the next few years. But historically, civil engineering business will have lower profit margin. This is a good div stock. Vested at ave 0.345. BV 0.45, PE 6.5, ROE 14%, DIv 6.5%.

dump at 0.4 range, buy back 0.3.. Was once at there.

lewissac

Found a very interesting yet bit hilarious post from Investing Note written by forumer kelvinkoh. :s13:

Different Ways to Increase Investing Capital

I was having a chat with a few of my juniors from Uni days and they all seem to have this common issue of not having enough capital to start investing. Most of them have at least 2 years of working experience and they work from paycheck to paycheck. The most basic investing would probably be buying funds from their insurance agents or banks' financial advisers. As such they can't seem to find the capital to invest in other ways... I shared two strategies with them and decided that maybe I should share it here as well, hoping to see if there are more strategies I can share with them in the future.

Save Before Spending

What I usually do after my salary is credited is to split them into different accounts; savings, family funds, personal spending and investing capitals. The idea is to segregate every penny before it's free to be spent. It's tough when you walk around the malls and they have sales or discounts, they make you think that you are saving a certain costs instead of spending that certain amount.

The 2nd part to this is to make the savings and investing capital the most complicated to withdraw, especially for investing capital. By having both accounts the hardest to access or withdraw, you force yourself to jump through more hoops then required to pay for something, which might be more luxurious than you would need.

Turn Impulse Spending into "Impulse Capital"

I recently started doing this and it's something that is becoming a habit. My wife isn't liking it very much but it's starting to work very well for me. We have impulse buys especially during the festive periods, an expensive bag to add to that collection of bags, a bottle of wine that costs more so you won't look like a cheapskate in front of your friends. I admit I'm a victim and I do have impulse buys before. So I've decided to do this each time I have an impulse buy before I make payment at the cashier.

My recent "impulse capital" was for a pair of jeans at Uniqlo, it was marked down from $79.90 to $59.90, a savings of $20! While the wife is shopping for her work wear, I decided to try a pair. After trying out, that impulse buy feeling came upon me. I didn't need that pair of jeans but since it was on offer I had that feeling I was going to save! So as I clutched that pair of jeans while walking around the store, I whipped out of my phone. I transferred $60 from my personal spending account into my trading account.

Once that was done, I felt I was $60 "poorer". Suddenly that pair of jeans in my hands didn't feel that worth it anymore. I placed it back on to the shelf and walked away. Immediately I changed from an impulse buy to investable capital, additional monies from my monthly contributions.

Other than reinvesting dividends, what other ways would you recommend in increasing investing capital?

MasterLeong

I am thinking to surrender my ilp plan after 10 yrs. Currently still paying every month. Thinking if i surrender now, i can stop paying and use the sum of money to buy some reits for steady flow of income.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 2 using GAGT

Last year i surrendered both my ilp and used the money to hoot stocks riao
Now i suggest u keep till break even ba
If bear market then consider surrender at loss at least the money use to buy cheap stocks can recover fast

MasterLeong

Wow your wife very understanding leh
Like that get married no need spend money is very wise i like, hope my future wife can accept

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.