*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

JuzMobile

CPF basically cannot touch one.. and now raised to age 67, what if those lifespan shorter than 67, how ah? :(:(:(

If you dont wanna loogi, better start living healthy and live to the age where you can withdraw most of it. Wanna die early also not up to us now. :s13:

MasterLeong

this one 30% under suntec reit

location wise, opposite douby ghuat mrt nia

LATEST NEWS, CORPORATE
TOP STORIES
Property
SingHaiyi unveils design for new Grade A commercial building at 9 Penang Road
By PC Lee / theedgemarkets.com.sg | January 25, 2017 : 12:22 PM MYT
Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
Translated by Google Translator:
Select Language*▼
SINGAPORE (Jan 25): SingHaiyi Group property group has revealed its new Grade A commercial building at 9 Penang Road which is designed by P&T Group.

The development site sits on where Park Mall was formerly situated.

The project is estimated to cost $800 million and is undertaken through a joint venture partnership between Singhaiyi Group, Haiyi Holdings and Suntec Real Estate Investment Trust who have an interest of 35%, 35% and 30% respectively.

(See also: Suntec REIT posts 5.6% lower 4Q DPU of 2.6 cents; unveils development plans for new commercial building at 9 Penang Road)

The 10-storey building at 9 Penang Road will have two wings comprising eight levels of office space with a net lettable area (NLA) of 352,000 sq ft and one floor of retail space with a NLA of 15,000 sq ft.

The development will feature comprehensive facilities for pedestrians and cyclists such as walking and cycling paths around the building, bicycle parking facilities, shower rooms and lockers.

The development works commenced in December and is targeted to be completed by the end of 2019.

SingHaiyi’s Group Managing Director, Mdm Celine Tang said, “We are delighted to unveil the design and development plans for 9 Penang Road, this signifies an exciting new chapter for the company. This building, which is located in the heart of the shopping and civic districts, will also support the government’s Walk Cycle Ride SG vision.”

goh6570

If you dont wanna loogi, better start living healthy and live to the age where you can withdraw most of it. Wanna die early also not up to us now. :s13:

errr even healthy, does not guarantee long life leh :(:(
like u said - not determined by us mah:(:(

even u reached the age to withdraw the $, u cannot suka suka withdraw any amt u want... they only disperse min monthly amt for your expenditure nia

akwl88

Jiak Cheng Hu - Manage your CPF by "Eating the Government"
The CPF board invited some financial bloggers to have a session and I was able to gate-crash the event because a few "more prominent" bloggers were not able to show up for the event. As it turns out, the event was informative and it was a great learning experience for all of us. I felt that the CPF folks very very candid and gave us a realistic picture on how the program is viewed by the general public.

In this article, I would like to put my own spin into the CPF and show that there is definitely room for more improvement.

Firstly, people need to understand that the CPF program would always attract more negativity than positivity. Any program which forces a citizen to set aside money for retirement and housing is not going to be welcome by the people who think that they have the right to spend their own hard-earned money.

Secondly, the CPF program does not really know what is it's true mission should be. On one hand, it is supposed to be retirement fund. On the other hand, it is also money set aside for housing and medical expenses. These two objectives are often at cross-purposes with each other. For example, A HDB loan mandates that the borrower exhaust his entire OA account so as to minimize its size.

I don't believe that the CPF is created for retirement planning or home ownership.

To me, the CPF program is a program to hold every citizen's money on ransom such that when they screw up their own lives, they have to dig into their own financial resources to pay for medical and home ownership expenses rather than dig into the money the government needs to run its daily businesses and maintain our infrastructure. CPF is, thus, protection money.

Protection money meant to protect the more responsible citizens from the less responsible ones.

A lack of clarity as to the CPF's role prevents financial bloggers from being able to agree with each on how to manage CPF funds and to what extent should it be employed for buying housing.

So instead of prescribing what is the right way to manage your CPF, I will share a philosophy which in my opinion, would be a better guiding principle on retirement planning.

I call this the "Eat the Government" philosophy. ( Jiak Cheng Hu in Hokkien )

When you decide to "Eat the Government", your objective is not to maximise your utility when it comes to social security but to extract the largest amount of funds from the Government without regard for your personal consequences.

This means three things :

(a) Extracting the largest returns from the government as much as possible before reaching 55.
(b) Trying to get the most money out of the CPF when you reach 55 years of age.
(c) Maximising the amount your children will get from the CPF Board after you die.

Applying this philosophy will result in three moves :

a) Transfer as much of your OA to your SA as possible.

Getting 4% risk-free is quite amazing. Personally, I think it's better than getting 8% from equity if your horizon is longer than 20 years.

The government pays 2.5% for the CPF-OA risk-free. Transferring the funds to CPF-SA gives you 4% but limits your flexibility as funds can no longer be used for housing. If you "Eat the Government", then you should maximise your transfer to SA so as to extract 4% from the government as much as possible.

I was able to max out my CPF-SA before I hit 32 years of age. This exacts a heavy toll on the CPF board who has to pay me $4,000 - $8,000 into my SA every year since my early thirties.

b) Invest your full 35% of CPF-OA

This is less intuitive.

When you invest 35% your CPF-OA, the government is not giving you interest on that money you pump into the stock-markets so, on first inspection, it goes against the idea of "Eat the Government". But investing your money into REITs and high yielding counters can yield over 6% which then flows back into the OA account allowing it to grow at a faster clip. In my case, I have already maxed out my CPF-SA, so I put in the remaining 35% of the CPF-OA into a portfolio which returns about 5-6% dividends. It allows me to grow the CPF faster and "Eat the government" by moving those funds out of reach of their investment managers and directly into investments of my choice.

[ One alternative school of thought is to keep the funds in OA and invest 35% of it into the markets rather than move it to SA. But I am biased towards SA as it is a guaranteed 4%. ]

c) Choose the Basic Plan instead of the Standard Plan for CPF Life.

If you know that you will die early, always opt for the Basic plan. If you will live to ripe old age of 120, then the Standard plan would be more worthwhile. But, unfortunately, we do not have an idea how long we will live.

If you are single and have no kids, the Standard Plan works because you will have no need for your money after you die. However, if you have kids and do not absolutely hate them, the Basic plan provides a smaller pay-out but leaves behind a larger residue after you pass on leaving more money for your children. So while you do not get to Eat the Government, you children would.

[ Note : I expect the actuaries who designed CPF Life would reduce the longevity risk transferred per unit price of the annuity to earn CPF Board reasonable profits, so you should always be mathematically well-off when you reduce your exposure to these annuities instruments.

Put another way, if you adopt the Standard plan, you may need to live significantly beyond the average life expectancy to break even against the Basic Plan.

Do note that this is my own speculation and I welcome officials to disprove my hypothesis. ]

In summary, in spite of its schizophrenic nature, the CPF programme is still fundamentally a good thing because it prevents Singaporeans from hurting ourselves. However, as it stands, simple questions like whether CPF should be used for housing will not achieve any consensus even amongst financial experts who may be evenly divided as to whether the CPF is meant for retirement or housing.

Perhaps a better approach is to design a series of moves as part of deeper personal philosophy, acknowledge your personal biases, and then stick to the plan as part of your lifestyle design.

http://treeofprosperity.blogspot.sg/2016/07/jiak-cheng-hu-manage-your-cpf-by-eating.html

goh6570

ASSI promote topping up SA 7k a yr get risk free 4% wor

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

assuming u have 7% in SA
and u reached 67.. and lets say u have 70k in the cpf
u cannot suka suka withdraw any amt to go for holidays leh
they will only disperse small amt nia.. tiagong one in 70s, she only gets $700+ per mth :(:(
how pathetic, got $ inside but cannot spend happily... :(:(

goh6570

CPF is a good system for those who may not know how to manage their own funds well.. :s13:

cos to me is being "LOCKED"...

u can only use it to purchase house.. no other means u can fully utilise your "own" money...

evilbdboi

errr even healthy, does not guarantee long life leh :(:(
like u said - not determined by us mah:(:(

even u reached the age to withdraw the $, u cannot suka suka withdraw any amt u want... they only disperse min monthly amt for your expenditure nia

If above min sum den you can withdraw the excess. It eventually becomes an ATM machine

akwl88

cpf is a cornerstone

do not depend on it solely for retirement

unless u have same figures as ASSI

haha

goh6570

cpf is a cornerstone

do not depend on it solely for retirement

unless u have same figures as ASSI

haha

yes, so must utilize it to purchase house lah:(
i nvr rely on that man.. cos dunno my lifespan..
must have other source/means of passive come or savings lo

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.