*Official* MasterLeong Thread

MasterLeong

Starting pay for uni grad was 3.5k during my times. Tiagong can reach 8k after 7~8 years.

How's the prospect nowadays?

depends on what industry you work in

dont think about how much u earn in the future

just keep saving and investing, try to save 20-50% of your monthly income if possible and your portfolio will grow fast

some people earn 10k but spend 12k also gg

akwl88

i used to be a policeman for 6 years. Many peers who left couldnt get the salary they are getting back then until now.

many regretted leaving the SPF. IRON RICE BOWL!!!!!

chiu is inspector rank?

how much ur salary?

MasterLeong

I will not encourage saving up in multi currencies

every-time you convert the money to another currency you lose maybe 0.1% to 2.5% of the total sum... which is a very bad move honestly

the one that huat is your money changer

Takodoro

Yes, no need to guess. I always spend less than I bring overseas. Now accumulated too much HKD, AUD, GBP. :s22:

On another note, some like HKD and AUD is due to the fact that I go casino and win a sum so well. Don't follow me to casino hor.

Same as me :s13::s13::s13:

I got CHF/EURO from my honeymoon till now, HKD/USD/IDR from my biz trip, MYD/IDR/THD/AUD from holidays.....

Think all add-up should chao chao at least 3k.

akwl88

Yes, no need to guess. I always spend less than I bring overseas. Now accumulated too much HKD, AUD, GBP. :s22:

On another note, some like HKD and AUD is due to the fact that I go casino and win a sum so well. Don't follow me to casino hor.

gg casino nao!!!!

Perisher

Hmm.. that's an interesting EF idea to share.
But for me, I doubt I can take MYR as back-up emergency fund currency, though my family is in KL. :s22:

yah, did not plan for this but it happens and might be a good idea since emergency fund might mean SG is in trouble.

Perisher

Same as me :s13::s13::s13:

I got CHF/EURO from my honeymoon till now, HKD/USD/IDR from my biz trip, MYD/IDR/THD/AUD from holidays.....

Think all add-up should chao chao at least 3k.

Mine is more than that but still not 5k in any currency lah. :s13:

MasterLeong

emergency fund is mainly used to fund your LIVING EXPENSES when you become jobless all of the sudden

if your expenses is 2k a month, a 6 month emergency fund should be 12k

and it should 100% be in SGD

because when your are jobless, you will need SGD to pay off your bills/food etc

no point your put your EF into other currencies

that's my view

I would say, just keep it simple

lewissac

Starting pay for uni grad was 3.5k during my times. Tiagong can reach 8k after 7~8 years.

Back in 2006 when I was a technician @ only 1.6k salary. Some local grads from NUS also applying for the same position requesting 2.4-2.5k as starting pay. :vijayadmin:

Then by 2011-2012, NUS grad applying technician getting roughly 2k starting pay, but requesting roughly 3-3.5k.

Now I feel the changes is pretty significant but not sky-rocketed.

akwl88

emergency fund is mainly used to fund your LIVING EXPENSES when you become jobless all of the sudden

that's my view

if expenses is 300 a month only, only need 1.8k for EF

dont quote me

kekeke

MasterLeong

Back in 2006 when I was a technician @ only 1.6k salary. Some local grads from NUS also applying for the same position requesting 2.4-2.5k as starting pay. :vijayadmin:

Then by 2011-2012, NUS grad applying technician getting roughly 2k starting pay, but requesting roughly 3-3.5k.

Now I feel the changes is pretty significant but not sky-rocketed.

10 years ago chicken rice $2, now $3 liao

power of inflation lol

Perisher

that's my view

Ya, mainly SGD would be better. Mine is just circumstances.

mcsane

i was a poly grad, i left with $3k+ mthly gross.

there's a difference between choosing to leave to be better vs forced to leave due to bad grading performance. The former are usually doing pretty well now.

my peers are taking home 70k to 80k p.A now?

there is still medical leave, additional moentary benefits, some long-term retirement benefits, etc. if really count in intrinsic, can add another 10k into it.

No offence but, iron rice bowl, no stress, no nth. only usual auntie/uncle office politics

spiritGate

300 not enough la hahaha. Even in recession also must eat good because if you eat Maggie Mee 24/7, later get sick then gg Liao. Expenses even more

if expenses is 300 a month only, only need 1.8k for EF

dont quote me

kekeke

Sinkie

u keep china cheekon is it LOL

Nolah, I want to buy a land here and retire in china one day or else wait for $4.50 then transfer back lol.

I still have yen, pound and usd in my dbs mca too

Just don't like to have many sgd around, very tempted to use it buy shares haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.