*Official* MasterLeong Thread

Takodoro

Ready. These are my *** for 2 tranches each.

Suntec: 1st tranche - $1.65 2nd tranche - $1.60

CCT: 1st tranche - $1.52 2nd tranche - $1.47

FCT: 1st tranche - $1.90 2nd tranche - $1.86

Target fire these 3 REITs below NAV should give me a larger margin of safety. Good luck everyone!

:s22::s22::s22:

Nowadays your reply dunno whether is from the bottom of your heart or just being sarcastic.

akwl88

Ready. These are my *** for 2 tranches each.

Suntec: 1st tranche - $1.65 2nd tranche - $1.60

CCT: 1st tranche - $1.52 2nd tranche - $1.47

FCT: 1st tranche - $1.90 2nd tranche - $1.86

Target fire these 3 REITs below NAV should give me a larger margin of safety. Good luck everyone!

Jiayou jiayou and gxgx in advance!

Takodoro

Just because a reit is below nav doesnt mean it is cheap. Cos if the price is at nav, the yield will be very low (not attractive) and as a result the market priced it lower.

Conversely, just because a reit is above nav doesnt mean it is expensive. Cos if the price is at nav, the yield will be too high (too attractive) and as a result the market priced it higher.

reit is not bond

SeVenn

Any comments on FCoT? Yielding a whopping 7.8%, below NAV and seems to be quite popular among some bloggers.

Dividends Warrior

Any comments on FCoT? Yielding a whopping 7.8%, below NAV and seems to be quite popular among some bloggers.

We had a short but meaningful discussion brought up by bro madtari yesterday.

Bro Windboi was kind enough to point that there are rumours/possibilities of HP moving out from their current Alexandria property into the new build-to-suit development by Mapletree Industrial. Phase 1 was completed in October.

http://infopub.sgx.com/FileOpen/20161021_MIT%20completes%20Phase%20One%20of%20BTS%20development%20for%20HP.ashx?App=Announcement&FileID=425819

MasterLeong mentioned that he prefers Grade A office assets in CCT but FCOT has Grade B offices.

SeVenn

We had a short but meaningful discussion brought up by bro madtari yesterday.

Bro Windboi was kind enough to point that there are rumours/possibilities of HP moving out from their current Alexandria property into the new build-to-suit development by Mapletree Industrial. Phase 1 was completed in October.

http://infopub.sgx.com/FileOpen/20161021_MIT%20completes%20Phase%20One%20of%20BTS%20development%20for%20HP.ashx?App=Announcement&FileID=425819

MasterLeong mentioned that he prefers Grade A office assets in CCT but FCOT has Grade B offices.

Yes, that risk was mentioned in the posts I read. HP currently contributes ~17% of the income from Alexandra so them moving out will definitely have an impact.

Asphodeli

price war is good for consumers. We are being tied down with 2GB/3GB data in this smart phone centric world.

Last weekend I went BolehLand, their telcos are advertising what 10GB base plan then free 10GB for weekend use. steady one

heng i use prepaid :s22:

boleh land is because mobile got more penetration than broadband, since their infrastructure is really cuei...

Asphodeli

For FCOT, I think most likely they will try to sell the Alexandra property to their neighbour and competitor, Mapletree. If not, they are most likely to start AEI when and if HP moves out.

LOL I still remember I used to work for HP as an outsourced contractor when I first started work 10 years ago, and I was basically paid sweatshop pay...I guess it's a form of getting back when I bought it in 2008/9? :s13:

Layers

I already on for CCT and FCT liao. Been inside my WL for damn long.

:D
Glad when I am learning abt reits. I found cct with 0.76nav, good gearing, debt spread, property and growing dpu.

But dun dare to hoot alot. Cos still new in the game.

Newbies luck. If in am follow cct like now. I can only buy as it drop. Could not had bought at the bottom

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

Timmus

Federal Reserve officials, amid signs that the U.S. economy soon could shed its long period of stagnation, approved the first interest rate hike in a year Wednesday and said it foresees three more increases next year.

The stock market reacted calmly, while bond yields and the dollar rose. The yield on 2-year Treasurys hit its highest level in since August 2009.

The Federal Open Market Committee raised its target range from a range of 0.25 percent to 0.5 percent to 0.5 percent to 0.75 percent. The overnight funds rate currently sits at 0.41 percent.
The committee also approved a quarter-point increase in the discount, or primary credit, rate, from 1 percent to 1.25 percent.

The decision was unanimous. Previous meetings had featured dissents from as many as three members who felt the Fed should resume a rate-hiking cycle it began in December 2015.

In addition to approving the much-expected increase, the FOMC also indicated a higher rate than projected back in September when it last released the quarterly look ahead. The committee now expects three rate hikes in 2017, two or three in 2018 and three in 2019.

In effect, the Fed added one more hike during the entire period, with the longer-run target up to 3 percent from 2.9 percent

Timmus

Stocks sells off in volatile afternoon trade as Fed points to 3 rate hikes in 2017

----------------------
‘May take some time for investors to digest,’ says analyst

-----------

U.S. stocks fell in volatile trade on Wednesday, with major indexes falling to their lows of the session after the Federal Reserve signaled a faster pace of interest rate hikes than had been previously forecast.

The Fed also raised its key short-term rate, as had been universally expected. The rate moved to a range of 0.5%-0.75% from 0.25% to 0.5%. The Fed decision marks the central bank’s first increase in rates since December 2015, which itself was the first in about a decade.

----

The U.S. central bank forecast three rate increases in 2017, compared with the two that had been anticipated at its previous meeting in September. While the revised outlook could be taken as a sign—the Fed has said it would only raise rates when it deems the economy strong enough to withstand such a move—it added an element of uncertainty to the market.

”Three rate increases next year is something of a surprise, and it may take some time for investors to digest that,” said Mike Loewengart, vice president of Investment Strategy at E*TRADE.

“It is indicative of a stronger economy, but with increased borrowing costs it won’t be as easy for companies that are reliant on debt. This is the next step in our transitioning back to an environment where fundamentals matter more than policy, and some investors may be pausing because of that.”

All three major indexes briefly traded higher after the announcement, but they turned lower as Yellen began a news conference.

The Dow Jones Industrial Average DJIA, -0.55% fell 147 points to 19,764, a move of 0.7%, while the S&P 500 index SPX, -0.77% dipped 21 points, or 0.9%, to trade at 2,250. The Nasdaq Composite Index COMP, -0.44% lost 32 points, or 0.6%, to 5,432.

All 11 of the S&P 500’s primary sectors were lower in afternoon trading, but so-called defensive names were among the weakest of the day. The utilities, real estate, and consumer-staples sectors all fell more than 1%. Those industries have been favored in the current environment, as low rates make their dividend yields more attractive. Energy stocks were also lower, tracking a decline in the price of crude oil.

Financial stocks slumped, down 0.8%, erasing an initial move higher. Banks tend to be sensitive to rate hikes due to the impact it has on their business models.

The gyrations for stocks come as the Dow has been inching closer to the key psychological level of 20,000. The blue-chip index, along with other benchmarks, also have been on a tear since the election, with investors expecting President-elect Donald Trump’s policy proposals—including massive corporate tax cuts and environmental and financial deregulation—to accelerate growth and stoke inflation. Major indexes have hit a series of records, but were headed firmly lower Wednesday.

Timmus

Dow Jones Industrial Average
INDEXDJX: .DJI - 14 Dec, 3:54 PM GMT-5
19,794.68Price decrease116.53 (0.59%)

Nasdaq Composite
INDEXNASDAQ: .IXIC - 14 Dec, 3:53 PM GMT-5
5,432.58Price decrease31.25 (0.57%)

madtari

With so many 'poorer-than-expected' figures floating, coupled with Fed Hike and an increased of hike expected in 2017, wonder how much will our STI react later...

Will market see a kneejerk reaction and rebound shortly or will fear set in slowly after a few trading days (once ppl slowly digest the result of Dec16 FOMC meeting) and the market will continue its decline down the slippery cliff? :eek:

US retail sales growth slows in November
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/international/us-retail-sales-growth-slows-in-november/3367734.html

US industrial production drops in November
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/international/us-industrial-production-drops-in-november/3368308.html

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.