*Official* MasterLeong Thread

Maeda_Toshiie

Thanks all for the insights and advice. I did go through the shiny thing thread which advocates etf and passive investing. On the point, would it be advisable to start small with the monthly investment plan offered by banks such as maybank ke, posb, ocbc and etc? Thank you

Yes, that is certain one legitimate avenue for passive investing. You can read up on the differences between the offerings from different banks.

You can also open your own CDP account, and brokerage account to do your own shares trading, or even DIY your own DCA of the STI ETFs, but that will probably cost more in terms of fees due to the minimum commission (it offers more control but it's really for more knowledgeable investors).

cool story bro, care to GPGT your CDP statement? lol

btw you are a believer of net-net stocks... then why you paying premium to book for reits like FLT, first reit and KDC???

isnt that against your believe?

just very curious

Wa lao, share only still must gpgt. Darn stressed :( I got the 3 Reits (AIMS, FLT, SPHR) close/below NAV. For First Reit and KDC, I am waiting for a better price. Ok to wait for the price to catch up to NAV if premium not too much. Think First Reit got better chance.

Still a believer of net net stocks but not much good ones left in sgx. A lot smell like scam. PNE is an old purchase at 5X cents range and almost 40% of portfolio now. Koyo is my new tikam.

Also have Captii, Hotung, Memtech, Nam Lee and PCI in my watch list. Need better price.

Screenshot.png

Asphodeli

have u read Shiny things thread on Money Mind??

This guy here believes in Passive investing. Personally im putting money into STI ETF and CPF - V.Contribution on a mthly basis. And i just opened IB, planning to DCA IWDA too.

There are many things in life other than reading financial statements and doing all the tedious research, unless of cause you enjoy doing it which im sure most of the SSI warriors are.

People here have either too much spare time :s8: , hobbyists , or Pros like ML who has utmost faith in beating the market. Else, i really think passive investing is really the way forward.

Like how they say Buy Term and invest the rest, we can do Passive and Enjoy ur life. :)

No offence to anyone here, just giving this bro here another prospective :)

hobbyists meaning treating stock picking like a hobby? :D

L'oreal Paris

Wa lao, share only still must gpgt. Darn stressed :( I got the 3 Reits (AIMS, FLT, SPHR) close/below NAV. For First Reit and KDC, I am waiting for a better price. Ok to wait for the price to catch up to NAV if premium not too much. Think First Reit got better chance.

Still a believer of net net stocks but not much good ones left in sgx. A lot smell like scam. PNE is an old purchase at 5X cents range and almost 40% of portfolio now. Koyo is my new tikam.

Also have Captii, Hotung, Memtech, Nam Lee and PCI in my watch list. Need better price.

Screenshot.png
Walao everyone here got hundreds thousand

I only few thousand :(

MasterLeong

On Wednesday, the U.S. central bank lifted its key short-term rate to a range of 0.5% to 0.75%, from the previous 0.25% to 0.5%. It is also now planning three rate hikes in 2017, compared with the two hikes it had previously mapped out.

“The market can withstand more rate hikes as long as the economic growth is underpinning it,” said Quincy Krosby, a market strategist at Prudential Financial. “If we don’t see the corresponding growth or the promised fiscal spending over the next few months, we are sure to see some repricing.”

L'oreal Paris

List of counters looking 4ward to add to my portfolio

Sti etf
Sinktel
Starhug
M1
3 banks

Parkwaylife
Areit
Cct
Mct

But not enough funds :s13::(:sad:

MasterLeong

Screenshot.png

Thanks for the GPGT
Respect max!
Power la!!!
Hope we all huat in reits for 2017 ^^

MasterLeong

Noted with thanks ML.

Would you suggest doing so on my own (using brokerage account and CDP) or using the monthly investment plan offered by banks?
Thank you.

Depends on your portfolio size
If below 20k just dca better
Above 20k u can pick at least 4 stocks of at least 5k each

MasterLeong

Thanks all for the insights and advice. I did go through the shiny thing thread which advocates etf and passive investing. On the point, would it be advisable to start small with the monthly investment plan offered by banks such as maybank ke, posb, ocbc and etc? Thank you

Yeah u can look at posbsaver to dca the sti etf
Each month put $500 like that to get your feet wet in the market first
Meanwhile read up more books on investing
See your interest

If u like stock picking or not
If dont like just buy index

lbs

i always thought you need to have a huge basket of net net stocks to mitigate risk.
4 seems too little...

MasterLeong

I think DH the age only late 20s or early 30s, quite young
In his blog he puts that he aims to pay off his hdb by age 33
Damn power sia

MasterLeong

Not too sure if his xirr is real, very high at over 20%
Even top hedge fund managers cant make such high returns over a long period
So maybe he only in the market a few years, not sure

But if over one decade, facing 3 bear attacks can make over 20% xirr is god like for sure

For me, i invest full time but my xirr only around 12% for the past decade which is slighlty higher than the index's 8% historical returns

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.