*Official* MasterLeong Thread

MasterLeong

in general the blue chip reits like CMT/CCT/Areit are already super big... so they seldom have rights issue...last one was during GFC if I not mistaken (a decade ago)

small cap/mid cap reits more often will have rights issue/placement as manager want to grow the asset size of the fund... maybe every 3 years like that you still the manager ask for money once, is not uncommon

of my 3 mid cap picks

FCT - gearing below 30%... so manager can use debt first... no worries of rights issue
MCT - this year did rights issue so unlikely to see rights issue in 2017/2018... maybe 2019 may see rights
SUN - they do not have a habit of rights, but often they like to do placements only... so entry of this counter is very important... if u go in too high and they keep doing placement at below your entry price, u lugi.....
I enter at near/below STC(straits trading corp) price, so I feel comfortable at that level

MasterLeong

of the 5 reits I hold, i would say SUN is most likely to see rights issues

as ARA is very aggressively in trying to grow its AUM

Sinkie

I see. My comfort level is slightly higher - $300k portfolio + $100k cash

Still a long way from achieving it.

My comfort level is to own a fully paid 3rm condo in RCR around $1.5m + $300,000 portfolio and $200,000 cash as emergency fund

My target before 50

Dividends Warrior

Nolah, me stuck in rat race because I am targeting to be a 2millionaire before 50

You need a lucky break like John Lim. He got LKS backing to set up real estate funds and founded ARA.

Time to find yourself a billionaire backer!

havetheveryfun

I'm just trying to hit the "f*ck you money" level, which I personally set at $300,000. With this sum, I will switch to part time work (unless I get married).

Most ppl have no problems saving more than 300k before 35....except the money is in the form of a house

madtari

the condo must be a 2nd property or you should have a place to stay then only it can be classified as a source of passive income. but yeah, that's everyone's dream... to have 2 properties... one for renting out plus capital appreciation! its easier to achieve in our parent's era but more difficult now as our 1st HDB flat already put us into debt for a good 10 yrs or so...
My comfort level is to own a fully paid 3rm condo in RCR around $1.5m + $300,000 portfolio and $200,000 cash as emergency fund

My target before 50

lewissac

My target before 50

Wah... so atas. Mine way simpler. Retire by 60. Own a convenience store and sell groceries near seaside. Everyday enjoy beach. :D
Kids no need worry about $$ as they can fund themselves from my investment up to their first job. :s13:

Dividends Warrior

the condo must be a 2nd property or you should have a place to stay then only it can be classified as a source of passive income. but yeah, that's everyone's dream... to have 2 properties... one for renting out plus capital appreciation! its easier to achieve in our parent's era but more difficult now as our 1st HDB flat already put us into debt for a good 10 yrs or so...

Well said. Our generation no longer has low-hanging fruits.

Sinkie

Oh I'm buying a private so that I can inherit my parent's hdb in future.

Anyway I have no intention to own a second private la, one private already so xiong already. A $300,000 stock portfolio and $200,000 cash is good enough.

Dividends Warrior

Wah... so atas. Mine way simpler. Retire by 60. Own a convenience store and sell groceries near seaside. Everyday enjoy beach. :D
Kids no need worry about $$ as they can fund themselves from my investment up to their first job. :s13:

Seaside store? At sentosa fort siloso beach isit?

Sinkie

Everything except party hard. Miserable life leh. But boh bian, all for the sake attaining financial freedom. LLST.

Well, you can still party hard if it's part of your job, like going party or ktv with your clients as part of entertainment haha

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.