*Official* MasterLeong Thread

starfish.starfish

Pure cash is impossible lar, unless my parents die and I get my share. Essentially a portfolio of stocks + cash.

It's better to have it in a portfolio since it will grow with capital and dividend gain. Pure cash will just depreciate and reduce monthly as you use it.
Accommodation should be secured first though.

Sinkie

I'm just trying to hit the "f*ck you money" level, which I personally set at $300,000. With this sum, I will switch to part time work (unless I get married).

When you hit $300,000, you can either shift your goal post further and continue to chase for $500,000 or just quit your full time and retire till you finish your money

Daimon

I really admire the MIT environment. Those guys are smart and have the guts to try out stuff. The MIT Blackjack Team in the 70s-90s was really something. It takes mathematics and guts to go up against the casinos.

The real master is Ed Thorp. Read his bio coming out in Jan 2017.

Sinkie

Ish just a number, sometimes work is not that terrible mah.

chasing%20the%20carrot,%20iStock_000015547281XSmall.jpg

This is me. I am in a rat race and so always shifting my goal post.

L'oreal Paris

MasterLeong

Hmm let's say
U have 8k worth of fcl

1) divest all and buy FLT and 1 counter
2) divest half and buy FLT

Which 1 would be recommended

I think if FCL goes to say 1.60 I would sell half to take profits off the table
or if FCL take 6 cents dividends liao, which is about 4% gain (considering entry at 1.50)
I am okay to sell half(4k) at 1.52-1.54 (post dividends) or 1.60 (pre dividends)

then the 4k put in FLT to diversify

as I mentioned your portfolio is around 20k+, so each position put 3-5k sounds reasonable

can use https://www.sgxcafe.com/personal/portfolio to track

for your size, no single position should be more than 20-25% to be on the safe size

sounds like atas money changer

power la $$$$$$$$$

Ya but it's difficult to get into one. He told me all his junior hold at least a NUS 1st class honors in order to get the job. For him luckily he got master degree and more than 10 years experience working in numerous bank before he got this opportunity.

MasterLeong

Ya but it's difficult to get into one. He told me all his junior hold at least a NUS 1st class honors in order to get the job. For him luckily he got master degree and more than 10 years experience working in numerous bank before he got this opportunity.

yeah should be very hard to get in, he really is at a very good spot to become wealthy

shareholder

Wow what your peer working as? $300,000 per annum is a lot.

Then your other peer not working also can generate $300,000 pa passive income should have like $3,000,000 portfolio with 10% dividend yield Sia.

You must be have a lot of ask friends or 富二代 friends sia

One work in google 250k usd pa. They built their wealth from scratch, very hardworking and intelligent people.

MasterLeong

Bro this account no what liao? Haha.

Why FLT over say MLT?

Sent from Sent from where? using GAGT

http://www.mapletreelogisticstrust....ents/2016/Dec/MLT_Acquisition_Annc_final.ashx

MLT recently got deal, I dont quite like it

Method of Funding
The Acquisition will be funded by a combination of (i) the remaining proceeds from
the S$250 million perpetual securities issued in May 2016; and (ii) AUD denominated
debt facilities. Upon completion of the Acquisition which is expected to be by
December 2016, the aggregate leverage ratio of MLT will increase from 37.6%4
to
39.4%.

post deal gearing will be near 40%, I sense a rights issue coming in 2017 so I will stay clear of MLT

whereas FLT the gearing is only 30% level, so at least 1-2 years no rights issue... it was just IPO-ed that's why balance sheet so clean now

MasterLeong

FLT alot rofr. Not a fan of rights? Recently alot, oueht, sb, mct (now below right price) etc

Sent from Sent from where? using GAGT

then sponsor FCL listed FLT is because they wanna slowly inject assets into FLT, so that the parent will have recurring income from management fees

with a gearing level of 30%, first 1-2 years likely is FLT use debt to grow first

later on when gearing reaches its limits, FLT may choose to use equity via rights or placement

as FLT is newly listed, we do not know of their track record of using equity

whereas the other reits that I have picked mostly have 5 or 10 years plus track record, you can see for yourself how often the manager will ask for $$$ via rights issue

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.