*Official* MasterLeong Thread

mazatsushi

That's true. Precisely why I started to learn coding 2 years ago. Though it has bring 0 value to company that I worked :D

Want to build a career in software engineering, must go to Silicon Valley or certain high tech pockets in Shanghai.

Asian societies in general value more of and also pay more to paper pusher types.

Want to build a career in software engineering, must go to Silicon Valley or certain high tech pockets in Shanghai.

Asian societies in general value more of and also pay more to paper pusher types.

Those places are wet dreams for programmer man... We have One-North la :s12::s12::s13::s13:...

lewissac

How old are you and how much are you earning? I think it sounds okay la (quarterly, weekend and ASEAN travel). Personally I okay with spending up to 1 month of my earnings on yearly travel.

lol.. 32 now. roughly 3k+ per mth.
Travelling getaway is part of my routine since 4 yrs ago. Every yr end I will book all my 4 next yr travel flight/accommodation to either Thailand/Indo without missing. Occassionally HK/Macau if price within means :s8:

lol.. 32 now. roughly 3k+ per mth.
Travelling getaway is part of my routine since 4 yrs ago. Every yr end I will book all my 4 next yr travel flight/accommodation to either Thailand/Indo without missing. Occassionally HK/Macau if price within means :s8:

Woah then I think you are quite disciplined liao lei. Lifestyle inflation is real and I feel it comes with age (because you get to know more stuff and has more social experience). As long as it's within your means I think its damn good liao

yihao93

Very typical example of spending more than what they bring home and thinking that they have to spend their way to wealth (if you read the Millionaire Next Door series will instantly understand).

Some examples:
- Die die must stay in a newly built apartment in downtown
- Weekday nights go have drinks at upscale hotel bars
- Weekends go rent continental cars and drive around
- Exotic vacations every 6 months
- Change job, then bought branded tie even before first paycheque

Of course, everything is meticulously photographed, photoshopped and uploaded onto social media.
heng moi no insta

where got time siah

lewissac

Woah then I think you are quite disciplined liao lei. Lifestyle inflation is real and I feel it comes with age (because you get to know more stuff and has more social experience). As long as it's within your means I think its damn good liao

As long as you do away with most luxuries and brands, there's always a way to enjoy. That's my view. I don't mind wearing t-shirt with holes/ stains when going out, but I do mind of not going to travel for a break. It's something I deserve after slaving every 3 mths helping company to grow or earn $$.:s13:

mazatsushi

Those places are wet dreams for programmer man... We have One-North la :s12::s12::s13::s13:...

Hahahaha!

Reminds me of the time (about a decade ago) when SG gov was heavily promoting InfoTech as a career, then literally abandoned it after the initial marketing blitz.

Now a decade later, when suddenly IT and FinTech is hot again, the same thing is happening.

As long as you do away with most luxuries and brands, there's always a way to enjoy. That's my view. I don't mind wearing t-shirt with holes/ stains when going out, but I do mind of not going to travel for a break. It's something I deserve after slaving every 3 mths helping company to grow or earn $$.:s13:

It's really a challenge to ignore those luxuries and brands man... I work in the CBD and the pressure is real. hahahaha... Still wearing my $100 watch... Hoping to pick up a rolex on the floor someday. Wish me luck :s12::s12::s12:

mazatsushi

It's really a challenge to ignore those luxuries and brands man... I work in the CBD and the pressure is real. hahahaha... Still wearing my $100 watch... Hoping to pick up a rolex on the floor someday. Wish me luck :s12::s12::s12:

Get some unknown brand that imitates a Rolex loh. Literally no visible difference unless you scrutinize the watch face and realize that there is no logo anywhere.

At least that was what I did :s13:

lewissac

Hahahaha!

Reminds me of the time (about a decade) ago when SG gov was heavily promoting InfoTech as a career, then literally abandoned it after the initial marketing blitz.

Now a decade later, when suddenly IT and FinTech is hot again, the same thing is happening.

Our government created a whole generation of do-ers, not think-ers with our education system. Yes, we maybe number 1 in maths, science whatever. When it comes to true innovation, we will never be at the cutting edge. It is probably too late to change anything now no matter how many one north they create, how many blog/strait times articles they write to blow trumpet. It will take another generation under a different education system => another 20-30 years lol.

Maeda_Toshiie

more like everyday for some of my classmates.:s13:

The Starbucks near my office always has students from the nearby JC (and secondary school!)...

Or worse, kids are spending on what we as parents earn without knowing how hard to earn $$. When they start working then suffers cuz living cost higher than what they earn. :s12:

A few things I learned:

1. Never let your kids know how much you have, and let them think that you are not very well off. Enough to put food on the table but not indulge. They should only know when it is clear that they are fiscally prudent, and financially literate.

2. Train them to save money for you. Do not give in to pleas for "top up".

3. Let them learn how to build their portfolio from scratch with their own hands. Handing them money to invest is NOT a good idea. They have to learn to manage risks and the best way is to do it with their own money.

Maeda_Toshiie

Impeccable timing!

Just finished an online conversation with friends who were complaining about credit card debt.

The cause? They spend excessive amounts of time and effort to look rich instead of accumulating wealth :s8:

JP locals, expats or local SG? JP companies pay sh!t.

Very typical example of spending more than what they bring home and thinking that they have to spend their way to wealth (if you read the Millionaire Next Door series will instantly understand).

Some examples:
- Die die must stay in a newly built apartment in downtown
- Weekday nights go have drinks at upscale hotel bars
- Weekends go rent continental cars and drive around
- Exotic vacations every 6 months
- Change job, then bought branded tie even before first paycheque

Of course, everything is meticulously photographed, photoshopped and uploaded onto social media.

Hey, the Millionaire Next Door book is a great reference (and it's my first book on personal finance).

akwl88

CBD area siao one la. Food so ex de. Go lps makan alr $5 gone

Maeda_Toshiie

Tech is going to drive the world's economy so better learn how to code

India has coders that are cheaper than you. Vietnam is growing its own "Silicon Valley". SG doesn't even have a silicone valley.

That's true. Precisely why I started to learn coding 2 years ago. Though it has bring 0 value to company that I worked :D

I do it as part of my job, but I feel that it is something that is useful for personal use. I think knowing scripting via Perl or Python can be useful for building your own programs to monitor stock prices.

Seriously, I sometimes wish that I have a great idea for fintech and run away from my present work...

CBD area siao one la. Food so ex de. Go lps makan alr $5 gone

LPS sucks man.. I ate their cai png once and never again. Nowadays I bring crackers to eat ($0) or go to Honglim, GS ($5). Will still indulge in more ex food ($7-$18) at most twice a week.

Maeda_Toshiie

Millennials

Yeah, spending on frivolous pursuits within reasonable means is definitely needed, or one day the daily grind might get too much - just how like some of my income is redirected for finding more SYT DNN FWBs :s13:

But when individuals are spending their paycheque at a new job, even before entering the new company, then it most probably will not end up looking pretty in future.

TBF, if i ever end up in Tokyo for work, I'd be doing quite a bit of eventing. However, I'd not sell my stash back in SG but continue to grow it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.