*Official* MasterLeong Thread

Singtel gave twice discount offer,
1st time at 1.90 using cpf
2nd round at 2.00 using cpf and in additional think can buy some 200 shares at 2.00 using cash same time.

Those STA cpf discount offer which hold till now and opt for max shares should have 1610 and collecting dividend throughout these years.

Actually not much hor? :(

Wood41

If not wrong, anybody could apply for the tender portion .
The cheap & fixed portion was only for Singaporeans.

I think it's $3.80...

But that's for non-Sinkie investors...

Sinkie investors need to pay $1.90 only...

With some shares having a 45% discount if brought under ST A scheme...

MasterLeong

Actually I also dunno. :s11:

I lurked the forum in 2011~2012. Back then the star here was DW. Then I concluded (1) I needed a warchest before investing, (2) STI was too high back then to invest.

So I saved and started here in 2016. Then got so many new stars like DK, ML, yyhwin :s13::s13::s13:

I initially thought DW should be on good terms with ML since they both were value investors. :s22::s22::s22:

One is fifo
I am value investing
Different style ba lol

MasterLeong

I hope you guys understand the turbulence of equities 5 to 10% up/down is normal if you are going to lose sleep over this then I highly recommend that you stop. You are just emotionally and perhaps financially not ready or suitable

Yup 5-10% paper losses very common
Well said
Too many new investors buy stocks and expect it to go up immediately
When it drops 5-10% on paper losses they panic

MasterLeong

example of high quality reit for long term

currently 6% yield, 1 times book value, I expect dpu and nav to continue growing... maybe at 3% rate or higher

15726848_637630356427144_5735511273085975490_n.jpg

MasterLeong

OCBC book value 8.31 - closed 9.06 - price to book 1.09
DBS book value 16.68 - closed 17.62 - price to book 1.06
UOB book value 18.54 - closed 20.70 - price to book 1.11

all three banks seems overvalued at 6% to 11% premium to their book values

considering that they still have exposure to oil/marine related loans... I would logically price them at 0.90 times book value as a fair price

as such I do think that banks may have a possible downside of 15% or so

this is purely my own views and I may be wrong, I have taken some profits on my bank positions and may continue selling
I would be a buyer at closer to 0.9 times book or less

cheers

banks got sold down a bit

i think banks still overvalued and reits/telco are undervalued

i may be wrong, its just my view

MasterLeong

hmm.. not so sure about that statement. REITS were one of the first to fall during GFC. And they were hit pretty bad too.

20% yield or more from REIT also can find.

during GFC some reits lost 90% of their values

example aims and saizen

MasterLeong

ROE - manipulated by companies
PB - manipulated by BB

See who you prefer to believe in. Life is about making choices. :s13::s13::s13:

a lot of numbers can be manipulated or fake, like how all the S-Chip scandals happened

that's why I prefer large cap/mid cap companies with good backing,the numbers more likely to be real and... thus lower risk

MasterLeong

1. Drop your goldmine and don't touch such high risk high reward counters?
Of course it's still your choice. You could reduce your allocation to risky investments as well.

2. You are holding too many shopping centres.

3. -11% is part and parcel of a typical portfolio in any given year. I have weathered -25% before. With a low capital base, -11% is only a few thousand. Imagine when you lose 11% when you have a 500k portfolio. If you are unable to stomach such losses, I suggest you allocate more of your total portfolio to fixed income securities like bonds and preference shares.

yup should just cut losses and move on for the mining counter, no fundamentals one
risky small cap stock

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.