a picture paints a thousand word

15355565_10154406892503052_5388021924866517829_n.jpg

A Rising Tide Lifts All Boats

MasterLeong

S&P500 from 1 January 2016 until today.

Those panicky investors need to look carefully at the time frames during China rout, commodities rout, Brexit and Trump ;)

ElabHDN.png

always the news headlines is fear fear fear, market dips a bit then continues to march higher lol

hope STI next year can be as strong as US

wiz

During crisis just buy banks, the biggest and national banks. I have never failed to lose money on those buys, returns may not be super fantastic and dividend yields may not be high but it has been a sure win formula for me. Even made money with public bank during clob lol

wiz

I have only 3k funds to invest. if buy both, then have to split 2. then my share quantity wouldn't it get diluted?

Odd lots and smaller denomination so no difference, 3k worth is 3k worth but you will pay more broker fees when buy 2 counter instead of 1

I have only 3k funds to invest. if buy both, then have to split 2. then my share quantity wouldn't it get diluted?

Haha up to you bro. Anyway right now dbs vickers still have the promo.. commission of $9.80 or something for small trades. Just stick to your plan don't itchy finger buy sell buy sell if u r not a trader.

MasterLeong

During crisis just buy banks, the biggest and national banks. I have never failed to lose money on those buys, returns may not be super fantastic and dividend yields may not be high but it has been a sure win formula for me. Even made money with public bank during clob lol

the recent oil crisis, banks traded at close to 20% discount to book

shiok shiok sia

too bad my average price only around 10% discount to book, but got earn happy happy liao

mcsane

Wohoo sb ur back. Hope now u can focus to building up ur portfolio and try to increase ur threshold to filter out the noise :)

MasterLeong

Wohoo sb ur back. Hope now u can focus to building up ur portfolio and try to increase ur threshold to filter out the noise :)

thanks for support

ok I try my best to ignore the trolls and focus on what this thread is about

value investing and picking good companies for long term, cheers

MasterLeong

can't wait for market to open tmr, hope SCI will open higher so that I can divest away my balance position... this one I earn enough liao, 10%++ net profits

HYHY123

MasterLeong

if making a 3k trade or less, can consider this

https://www.dbs.com.sg/vickers/en/p...ic_latestpromo_Flat-Commission-Rate_learnmore

flat $10 commission, still reasonable

generally for those with smaller portfolio

if say just 5-10k... hard to diversify... should consider just DCA STI ETF

only when have about 20k or above then can really build a NON-ETF portfolio

example of a 30k portfolio

5k DBS 5k OCBC
5k Singtel 5k Starhub
5k CMT 5k CCT

when you make a 5k purchase, min comm $25... is about 0.5% commission cost.. still acceptable

but what is an unacceptable commission cost level? i would say 1% or higher

if u trade 2k and pay $25.. commission over 1% liao... is tooo high, u go in and out.. lost 2%... hard to make any real profits

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.