*Official* MasterLeong Thread

Layers

Can the same be applied to sph as well? Ever since they sell away their properties to sph reits, sph dpu has been dropping with its revenue.
I think regardless top line is dropping. sph reit can't save it

But Will it come to an equilibrium? As I the revenue stop falling?
Haha very true. These days I don't even buy hardcopy newspaper/magazine to read. And SPH e-paper/e-magazine is so expensive... :s13:
Zinio is cheap

Sent from Sony E6853 using GAGT

lewissac

OCBC Market Pulse

ComfortDelGro: No reason to panic

ComfortDelGro (CDG) recently announced the acquisition of the remaining 49% stake in ComfortDelGro Cabcharge Pty Ltd (CDC), a private bus operator in Australia, for a cash consideration of A$186m (~S$196m), and is expected to complete by 1Q17. We view this acquisition positively on long-term growth potential as the government progressively privatises more bus routes. Separately, even though Trans-cab recently cut its taxi rental rates by up to 35%, we do not think it is a reason to panic as CDG hasn’t been sitting still despite the pressures from Uber and Grab. CDG, since two months ago, has been rolling-out a revenue sharing scheme to its taxi hirers, as part of its efforts to maintain its high hired-out rate, which we believe will help mitigate taxi revenue declines. Consequently, as we: 1) factor in the Australian acquisition, 2) cut FY17/18F taxi operating profit, and 3) increase risk-free rate assumption from 2.0% to 2.6%, our DCF-derived FV drops from S$3.08 to S$2.95. Even if we assume a (highly unlikely) 50% plunge in taxi revenue in FY18, our FV drops to S$2.49.

:)

MasterLeong

It's an emergency fund. So will only use it really needed. Otherwise won't really touch it at all. Which is why thought maybe can earn better interest on SSB, so why not? Unless there's some degree of risk I wouldn't know; like Govt go bankrupt (very very unlikely, though possible). :s13:

yup

EF put inside SSB or FD is fine... really up to individual

FD and SSB are considered risk free for sure

MasterLeong

Curious, is it fine to split and dump part of my Emergency funds into SSB? Since i look at their TnC, and basically I can withdraw anytime. :s12:

anytime but u only get the money once at the start of the month

so not pure liquid... sometimes u wait up to 1 month then get out

MasterLeong

I got put 100k in FD and 100k in SSB

if SSB no limit.. would had put all 200k into SSB, SSB is just too good.... its same as investing in risk free government bonds... and its so convenient ... just from online press press 3 min your money vested in riao.... take out also very easy

then when SSB come out new ones with better rates, can always redeem the old ones and subscribe to the better ones.... really flexible

MasterLeong

why they no come sg to list? sobsssss

KFC is returning to the Malaysian stock exchange
By Bloomberg / Bloomberg | January 4, 2017 : 7:59 AM MYT
Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
Translated by Google Translator:
Select Language*▼
(Jan 4): Fundraising from Malaysian initial public offerings is poised to rebound from the lowest in 16 years, led by a planned relisting of the local KFC operator, as receding uncertainty and commodity price gains help rekindle demand for riskier assets.

First-time share sales in Malaysia, Southeast Asia’s top destination for new listings less than five years ago, fell to US$305 million ($442 million) in 2016, according to data compiled by Bloomberg. The figure was the lowest level since 2000 and trailed other regional exchanges including Singapore, which hosted US$1.7 billion of IPOs, and Thailand, where US$1.5 billion was raised, the data show.

While a volatile ringgit and slower economic growth hurt IPO volumes last year, fundraising could jump to at least US$2 billion in 2017, according to CIMB Group Holdings, Malaysia’s top IPO arranger. QSR Brands (M) Holdings, the fast-food franchisee backed by CVC Capital Partners, is preparing a US$500 million share sale, people with knowledge of the matter said earlier. Property developer Eco World International said in October it plans to seek more than 2 billion ringgit ($647 million) in an IPO.

“Large IPOs planned for 2017 are expected to reignite investor interest,” Kong Sooi Lin, chief executive officer of CIMB’s investment-banking arm, said in an interview. “If post-IPO performances listings are strong, we could see a rub-off effect where more private companies may decide to go public.”

Rising Prices
QSR Brands, which runs more than 730 KFC outlets and 390 Pizza Hut eateries in Southeast Asia, is returning to the Malaysian stock market after being taken private in 2013 by CVC, Employees Provident Fund and Johor Corp. The company picked Citigroup Inc., Credit Suisse Group AG and Malayan Banking to lead its IPO, people with knowledge of the matter said in October.

Malaysia, the only net oil exporter in Asia and the world’s second-biggest palm oil producer, saw its currency weaken more than 4% in 2016. Brent crude oil prices, which hit a decade low last January, rallied more than 50% to about US$57 per barrel and could rise further in 2017 as the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries vows to trim output. Benchmark palm prices in Malaysia climbed 22% last year.

The recovery could provide a boost to Serba Dinamik Holdings, an oil and gas services provider that’s taking orders for an IPO of as much as 584.1 million ringgit. Edra Global Energy, Malaysia’s second biggest independent power producer, is considering a $400 million first-time share sale as soon as this year, people familiar with the matter said in October.

Listings that have been delayed could return in 2017 as confidence in the market increases, Ramesh Manimekalanandan, head of Malaysia equity capital markets at Maybank Investment Bank, said in an interview. Lotte Group shelved plans to list its Malaysian petrochemicals business, which could have raised more than US$500 million, people with knowledge of the matter said in June.

Domestic Liquidity
Other companies that have postponed share sales include Weststar Aviation Services, a provider of helicopter transport backed KKR & Co. that was planning to seek at least US$300 million in a 2015 IPO, and Sime Darby’s car dealership unit, which was aiming to raise as much as US$900 million that year, according to people with knowledge of the matter.

Robert Huray, head of investment banking at RHB Bank, said investors have greater confidence about 2017 since the US presidential election has passed and oil prices have stabilised. Companies that have been waiting for better market conditions may decide to proceed with listing plans now to raise needed funds, as borrowing costs are rising, according to James Lau, a Kuala Lumpur-based investment director at Pheim Asset Management.

Any revival in listings will be supported by Malaysia’s abundant domestic liquidity, said Steve Clayton, senior country officer at JPMorgan Chase & Co. The nation’s top two pension funds, Employees Provident Fund and Kumpulan Wang Persaraan (Diperbadankan), manage more than US$180 billion of assets and have more than 70% of their investments in Malaysia, according to their websites.

“The local IPO market is set to rebound because there’s a greater degree of predictability in 2017, now that most of the uncertainties that we have seen in 2016 are fading,” said Danny Wong Teck Meng, chief executive officer of Areca Capital in Kuala Lumpur. “There’s light at the end of tunnel.”

MasterLeong

Lol... I only DCA CMT one time. Now it shoot up liao. Change target now. :s13:

Ok la i think cmt still can dca
Must think long term
The use of dca is because u dun want time the market
Dca u should pick counters u really like and want to build a key position over long term
If u put like $200 on cmt monthly, two years later become 5k solid position riao

Pesantkie

Ok la i think cmt still can dca
Must think long term
The use of dca is because u dun want time the market
Dca u should pick counters u really like and want to build a key position over long term
If u put like $200 on cmt monthly, two years later become 5k solid position riao

I thought dca is like accumulated gpa, first time hoot must set good ground.

in this case the ground must be as low as possible?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.