Official MIO TV Thread.......

moveman69

I dunno what's wrong with my mioTV but when i select the 1080i resolution, the screen is only half filled on my 1080p samsung tv. The left and right sides of the TV are black. Anyone out there experience the same problem as me? I have also included a picture for reference to my problem. The 2 tapes on the sides marks the black border of my samsung tv.

Photo0298.jpg

Did you guys notice the black areas on the right and left side of the screen? Isn't 1080i suppose to fill up my entire screen? I also own a hubstation hd and i can't understand why sports hd in starhub(also 1080i) is so stunningly clear while sports in mioTV is so disappointingly blurr and it doesn't even fill up the whole screen... Whats wrong with mioTV?

chunlianghere

just to double confirm.
if my homeline is scv. and this line is solely for miotv. meaning I don't have to pay any other singtel charges right?

only if u hav a current tel line, than 2nd line for miotv is free.

i tink tat in order for u to subscribe to singnet(or miotv i guess), u must hav a tel number now. in which u r paying the the tel number.

u might wan to convert to miohome if possible. fixed line+broadband+miotv.

chunlianghere

phone able to use...but to use for net surfing, i required the userId and password which was not provided.

I'm currently on 10mbps plan on my old line but have to move my existing router out of my room cos they convert my room tel number to the new line. So if i can use the 1mbps ethernet connection to surf , i don't have to use my wireless connection which is laggy due to the distance.

so anyone manage to request for the 1mbps userid and password?

the free 1Mbps u mean is from starhub hubstation?

superkid

it doesnt make sense for me to pay or sign up for a new phoneline just to watch soccer?

antsig30

I dunno what's wrong with my mioTV but when i select the 1080i resolution, the screen is only half filled on my 1080p samsung tv. The left and right sides of the TV are black. Anyone out there experience the same problem as me? I have also included a picture for reference to my problem. The 2 tapes on the sides marks the black border of my samsung tv.

Photo0298.jpg

Did you guys notice the black areas on the right and left side of the screen? Isn't 1080i suppose to fill up my entire screen? I also own a hubstation hd and i can't understand why sports hd in starhub(also 1080i) is so stunningly clear while sports in mioTV is so disappointingly blurr and it doesn't even fill up the whole screen... Whats wrong with mioTV?

Use the miotv remote options button to stretch the screen.

thswei

2nd line is free only if your broadband is above 10Mps.

They charge you 50% on the 2nd line if your broadband below 10Mps

cstanhwz

Press the enter button to change the aspect ratio.

moveman69

Use the miotv remote options button to stretch the screen.

Eh if i need to stretch the picture, won't the players look fat and disgusting? Haha, I tried this method too, including zoom 1, but there are flaws in both. I can't understand why singtel mioTV's 1080i is not full screen...

Press the enter button to change the aspect ratio.

tried your method, also cannot work...

antsig30

Anyone has this problem? My Miotv is pixellated and jump frame when I am doing heavy download, most obvious when watching HD5. When I stop the download, the screen is back to normal

chunlianghere

The enter button is to the right of the 0 button.

It is not the OK button in between the up/down/left/right...

Check if your Samsung aspect ratio is set to...?

i hav a samsung 32" tv too. the aspect ratio can be change. check yours..

did u encounter all the way 4:3 ratio? i mean all the channel u switch to is not widescreen?

moveman69

The enter button is to the right of the 0 button.

It is not the OK button in between the up/down/left/right...

Check if your Samsung aspect ratio is set to...?

i hav a samsung 32" tv too. the aspect ratio can be change. check yours..

did u encounter all the way 4:3 ratio? i mean all the channel u switch to is not widescreen?

Check liao leh... my samsung tv setting is 16:9... I did all the troubleshooting i know of but this fella just dun want to cooperate... dunno what to do liao...

Milo-Dino

hmm you mean if you signed up miotv... they will give a free phone line?

I applied last week and the guy called me and said application for the phone line is free... but have to pay one-time installation charge of $50++ and $30+ every 3 months for line rental....

I don't recall the promotion mentioning free phone line... only free miotv installation and free first HD set-top box

cstanhwz

Check liao leh... my samsung tv setting is 16:9... I did all the troubleshooting i know of but this fella just dun want to cooperate... dunno what to do liao...

When you press the enter button, got the red led light up on the remote? The miotv box got led blink?

You using component or hdmi to connect?

All else fail, try calling miotv helpdesk.

liangtam

just to double confirm.
if my homeline is scv. and this line is solely for miotv. meaning I don't have to pay any other singtel charges right?

Cannot!
Starhub Digital Voice is VoIP based and cannot deliver broad frequency bands of signal which goes through traditional lines.

Francis85

Brother P2P programs take up lots of bandwidth thus resulting in MIO TV freeze, even though u have a full perfect bandwidth at sub end, please note, I have personally encounter cases like this and advise sub accordingly, no use call 1688 and sending technician down they will tell ya the same thing.....

Anyone has this problem? My Miotv is pixellated and jump frame when I am doing heavy download, most obvious when watching HD5. When I stop the download, the screen is back to normal

Francis85

Brother the function of microfilter is just to filter out the noise as the line in now on ADSL, which makes use of noise to transmit date that's all....

Ok, just did that. From what i digest, microfilter passes the data and bring its to the modem and ups the frequency, thus higher throughput?

vahliton

when i switch on my tv and mio box, it takes a long time (a couple of mins) before i can start viewing. don't remember scv have this sort of "warm up".. is everyone having this problem?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.