Official MIO TV Thread.......

WWE_Fan

I read that SingTel now only rents out either Tatung and Cisco STB. Which is a better choice, or is that a newer STB that SingTel is offering now, as my current obsolete Motorola STB is beginning to give me intermittent problems.

Will the new STB load up faster than the current 2 mins?

Thanks.

If youre having issue with the set top box, please report so they can do a test and see whether the box needs to be replaced.

For the lag in menu, try restarting your set top box. There was a software upgrade recently. Mine was laggy now it's fine.

WWE_Fan

Kanasai! 30% of mio Channel 309 Kix HD is now English-language Indian movies!!

Lol is it? I get my movies from FoxMoviesPlay app. There's more movies there than what you see on Ch 409. And it has other language subtitles support!

Ah Huat

Try this:
you need to hard reset your mioTV setup box. Press OK button, the down arrow, and the power button on your setup box at the same time. You should see all three indicators (green, blue, and red) on the front panel light up. Then release the power button and keep the other two pressed. Once you see the flashing of the indicators, release the OK button and down arrow. Your setup box should now be reset and it will take 30 to 40 minutes to boot up.

Source: SingTel mioTV Gives A Black Screen? Here Is How To Hard Reset Your Setup Box

My mio tv box last night also suddenly cannot boot just a black screen. So I try this method but I keep getting 13 X on the screen after the 2 gears with the progress bar :mad:

WWE_Fan

My mio tv box last night also suddenly cannot boot just a black screen. So I try this method but I keep getting 13 X on the screen after the 2 gears with the progress bar :mad:

Oh dear, then got to call 1688 and ask for technical dept. They can review your miotv box and determine the issue.

Ah Huat

After so much of me call 1688 and kpkb they finally send someone down around lunch time and find out what exactly happen to my mio tv. And after checking the guy who come to my house found out it's actually the stupid 2wire modem so he change a aztech modem for me and test again but the stupid mio box still refuse to boot and in the end he change a mio box for me also. Now my mio tv can boot liao and he tell me unless you are using a phone at home then must put microfilter. He say my house no use phone no need put muicrofilter cos sometimes if the stupid microfilter got problem will have disconnection and now I just plug direct to the phone port on the wall without any microfilter cos I'm not using any phone at home at all and will monitor if if got problem again anot :D

WWE_Fan

After so much of me call 1688 and kpkb they finally send someone down around lunch time and find out what exactly happen to my mio tv. And after checking the guy who come to my house found out it's actually the stupid 2wire modem so he change a aztech modem for me and test again but the stupid mio box still refuse to boot and in the end he change a mio box for me also. Now my mio tv can boot liao and he tell me unless you are using a phone at home then must put microfilter. He say my house no use phone no need put muicrofilter cos sometimes if the stupid microfilter got problem will have disconnection and now I just plug direct to the phone port on the wall without any microfilter cos I'm not using any phone at home at all and will monitor if if got problem again anot :D

That's good to hear. :)

Rosicky

Hi, I am running my mio tv off a wireless repeater. I have tested the rj port of the repeater is able to get 30-50mbps. I am able to watch on demand shows without issues. But the normal channels all freezes after a while.

WWE_Fan

Hi, I am running my mio tv off a wireless repeater. I have tested the rj port of the repeater is able to get 30-50mbps. I am able to watch on demand shows without issues. But the normal channels all freezes after a while.

There could be other issues when using wireless. Btw what's the model of the repeater?

Edit:
I was using their wireless home bridge solution. $20/mth for 12mth. There's also a one time payment option which is cheaper but can't remember. It's another Aztech device, comes in a pair. My miotv was in the room and my modem was in living room. About 5m apart with a wall in between. Worked fine.

Shion

Senior Mentor

You mean, your MIO TV box is not connected via wired to your router?

newcell

At such mbps, should be very stable for all channels.

Is your repeater connected to router miotv delicated port?

I'm using power lan, best i can achieved about 2mbps and all channels works fine.

upgrade

Is your repeater connected to router miotv delicated port?

There is still a lot of misconception. There is no such thing as a dedicated mioTV port. When using ST's issued routers, any and all 4 LAN ports can be used for mioTV and Internet. I was told by the technician years back and I tested and proven (ADSL previously and Fibre now) this to be correct.

This misconception comes from the ASUS thread where ASUS can only implement mioTV on LAN port 4. This is an ASUS limitation, not ST's.

newcell

There is still a lot of misconception. There is no such thing as a dedicated mioTV port. When using ST's issued routers, any and all 4 LAN ports can be used for mioTV and Internet. I was told by the technician years back and I tested and proven (ADSL previously and Fibre now) this to be correct.

This misconception comes from the ASUS thread where ASUS can only implement mioTV on LAN port 4. This is an ASUS limitation, not ST's.

Thanks, using ASUS so forgot about theirs. Using powerline lan tho not stable but all channels no glitch.

Rosicky

My repeater connected via 2.4Ghz wifi, somehow my TPLink RE200 cannot review the 5GHz band.

Ah Huat

I still getting sometimes disconnection and I put back new microfilter for both my internet and my mio and now stable liao :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.