Official ZenFone 5 Thread

evilster

Ok, i went for the pre launch yesterday and i'd say thumbs up for the camera.
It can shoot slo-mo stop motion, and burst 30fps. but
the low light sensitivity and Depth of Field was what won me over. I couldn't enlarge the images taken to see its quality but on the scren itself, it seems to be much better than average.
Battery life was pretty good and screen responsive.
I've been using the Moto XT910 and between the HongMi and Zenfone5, you pay $30 more for something you can definitely get, while the other is perennially out of stock. Go Figure...

Now as to whether the dual core atom loses out to the quad core in Redmi, the phone was snappy and it performs as expected. I don't game on my phone so i guess, whether it is 4, 6, 8 or 12 cores does not matter much to me.
As long as the phone functions properly as a phone, plays good music, has enough juice to last a day with continuous surfing for at least 2 hours a day ( First World transportation estimate ), i'm good.

What i don't like is that all the ports are not so accessible. If the Moto XT910 is stylish enough with exterior ports, I don't see why Asus cannot do the same..

Depth of field and the low light sensitivity is indeed good, but when trying out the other modes such as the rewind mode. Not sure why it doesn't work and it lags abit =x Maybe is demo set bah. As for the Cores, not sure the intel is comparing the right stuffs.. Intel vs Nvdia Tegra, one 1 more comparison i dun know what it is.. But i think processor wise, redmi has the edge
+ we are getting the lowest specs in zenfone 5. Not really worth it if u think about it ....

ImBusy

How much time did u spend with the phone? Did u have the chance to use it the whole day? Wondering how u came to the conclusion that batt life is "pretty good"...

Hongmi is a lot easier to buy nowadays.. not as hot as before since a lot demand has been eased with more stocks. My friend went to try to buy during the most recent sales and after 15 mins it's still available..

Bro the recent RedMi sold out in 13min leh, how your friend can get after 15min?

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...754.1073741828.535405486500557&type=1&theater

photo.php

tmfwy

How much time did u spend with the phone? Did u have the chance to use it the whole day? Wondering how u came to the conclusion that batt life is "pretty good"...

Hongmi is a lot easier to buy nowadays.. not as hot as before since a lot demand has been eased with more stocks. My friend went to try to buy during the most recent sales and after 15 mins it's still available..
We had at least 1.5h with the phone min.

Those that were present, will know i was the person who was using the phone as a disco light..

My conclusion was derived from a 1 hr sample of what i put the phone through continuously vis a vis the battery drain at that time. My reference point is my old phone ( i had 2 XT910s, one of which is a spare ) and my current phone. I deem it pretty good if i perceive that the phone can last a full day's worth of moderate usage incusive of web surfing.

I will say my finding is not as accurate as dedicated tests one can find on tomshardware or anandtech or elsewhere but it is enough given what we had. You are free to dispute this as this is purely my opinion.

As for stock availability, sorry, but Xiaomi is a joke. check the OFFICIAL xiaomi website, it is still "OUT OF STOCK". To me, that is unacceptable. I do not wish to play hunger marketing games. coz if i want something that is launched, i expect it to be readily available or at the very least, be available within a reasonable time period. If a product is launched and cannot be obtained when one wants to get it, within a reasonable period of time ( say 1 month or 2 shipment cycles), to me, that product is a failure, not worth considering.

One can argue "get Xiaomi from a parallel importer" but pray tell, what is the logic in doing so?
XiaoMi HongMi $169 official, $199 Qoo with ???wty
Zenfone5 $199pre-order/$249 with wty
IF Asus fouls up the supply chain, i dunno what to say... But one thing i am sure is that the chances of me getting an official zenfone is much higher than a hongmi once all products are launched.

Skyy

We had at least 1.5h with the phone min.

Those that were present, will know i was the person who was using the phone as a disco light..

My conclusion was derived from a 1 hr sample of what i put the phone through continuously vis a vis the battery drain at that time. My reference point is my old phone ( i had 2 XT910s, one of which is a spare ) and my current phone. I deem it pretty good if i perceive that the phone can last a full day's worth of moderate usage incusive of web surfing.

I will not say my finding is not as accurate as dedicated tests one can find on tomshardware or anandtech or elsewhere but it is enough.

ok fair enough.. hope the other mobile websites will review the phone so can pit against other phone in terms of batt life..

tmfwy

Depth of field and the low light sensitivity is indeed good, but when trying out the other modes such as the rewind mode. Not sure why it doesn't work and it lags abit =x Maybe is demo set bah. As for the Cores, not sure the intel is comparing the right stuffs.. Intel vs Nvdia Tegra, one 1 more comparison i dun know what it is.. But i think processor wise, redmi has the edge
+ we are getting the lowest specs in zenfone 5. Not really worth it if u think about it ....

Yah. The time rewind, i dunno how it works. There is a 1s lag when activated but th end result is there. Chances of one missing a shot with 31 fps burst is as good as winning toto...

The core wise, those presenting has much room for improvement. Most prob following marketing literature. They kept on emphasising 2 cores is enough. No detailed explanations on practical comparisons.
I'm one of those who buy tech stuff for a specific purpose, rather than marketing literature. So if i buy a noteook for admin purposes, 2 cores with 4 threads is more than enough for my needs. Some may argue a quad core is better. I have no doubt it is. But if the value proposition in the difference in price between 2 and 4 cores is not enough to justify the purchase of a quad core variant of hat product, i am happy to stick to a 2 core product if it is purely for admin purposes. But if i need a notebook for gaming, i will definitely be looking for a quad core with a higher budget. :)

Lowest spec is a bummer. Feels like they are offloading their "unwanted" wares to us in the hopes of mitigating losses. But still, $199 compared to $300+ for its nearest mass market and readily available competitor is tempting.. :p

Skyy

Bro the recent RedMi sold out in 13min leh, how your friend can get after 15min?

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...754.1073741828.535405486500557&type=1&theater

photo.php

Ya he tried to buy but he never complete the sale, he just went in around 12.15, and still saw the phone still available.. but he never complete the whole process cos he already has one set. Maybe if he went in and try to complete the whole sale, it might not go through, not sure about that. I remember last time they used to allow u to put it in the cart but u'll get the OOS msg when u try to checkout.

sushibiscuit

The zenfone is not very snappy. Find it rather laggy when changing the camera mode. Not a phone that I would want as compared to redmi

So it is not very snappy when? Throughout the entire usage or only when changing camera mode?

How does the Redmi's snappiness compare to the Zenfone? Technically, the Zenfone is supposed to be faster.

@tmfwy: How did you deem the battery life to be good? Did you meant you disco challenge with your RAZR? I understand that the RAZR has been used quite long already, should have some battery deterioration. Can share more details?

I am choosing between 4 phones actually. The Redmi, Zenfone 5, Huawei 3C and Huawei 3X. The Huawei phones are coming out end of this month/ start of next month from the Huawei FB page.

I HATE how resource-hogging and slow Android is on lower-end phones but they have the only dual-sim smartphones. Windows has the Lumia 630 but the RAM kills it for me. I need something which is snappy.

knightshaz

Lowest spec is a bummer. Feels like they are offloading their "unwanted" wares to us in the hopes of mitigating losses. But still, $199 compared to $300+ for its nearest mass market and readily available competitor is tempting.. :p

So in summary, can buy? :o

evilster

Yah. The time rewind, i dunno how it works. There is a 1s lag when activated but th end result is there. Chances of one missing a shot with 31 fps burst is as good as winning toto...

The core wise, those presenting has much room for improvement. Most prob following marketing literature. They kept on emphasising 2 cores is enough. No detailed explanations on practical comparisons.
I'm one of those who buy tech stuff for a specific purpose, rather than marketing literature. So if i buy a noteook for admin purposes, 2 cores with 4 threads is more than enough for my needs. Some may argue a quad core is better. I have no doubt it is. But if the value proposition in the difference in price between 2 and 4 cores is not enough to justify the purchase of a quad core variant of hat product, i am happy to stick to a 2 core product if it is purely for admin purposes. But if i need a notebook for gaming, i will definitely be looking for a quad core with a higher budget. :)

Haha, i can't get the time rewind to work lor. So kind of pissed up.

I dun know i brought my friend redmi vs zenfone and run candy crush which was preloaded in the zenfone. I also tried run chrome and redmi performs better like mayb 0.2s. Not much difference. But i am sure it is slight slower.. Maybe not optimise or wad if u see it as a MULTI - CORE 2 X 2 Hypertreading processors...

I dun like how the Intel guy said about the Multi-Core aka Hyperthreading to the Quad Core comparison.. Seriously, dun know what he was trying to imply when he told us about the comparisions, i mean saying the photo editing is faster in Intel processor over competitors... Show us the benchmark mah =(

The lower specs is a deal breaker for me... It is like what u said dump us the lousier specs to filled up the market so they can earn more money through singapore.....

So it is not very snappy when? Throughout the entire usage or only when changing camera mode?

How does the Redmi's snappiness compare to the Zenfone? Technically, the Zenfone is supposed to be faster.

@tmfwy: How did you deem the battery life to be good? Did you meant you disco challenge with your RAZR? I understand that the RAZR has been used quite long already, should have some battery deterioration. Can share more details?

I am choosing between 4 phones actually. The Redmi, Zenfone 5, Huawei 3C and Huawei 3X. The Huawei phones are coming out end of this month/ start of next month from the Huawei FB page.

I HATE how resource-hogging and slow Android is on lower-end phones but they have the only dual-sim smartphones. Windows has the Lumia 630 but the RAM kills it for me. I need something which is snappy.

Ya, it is not very snappy in camera, for games and running of different applications, i find that there was not any lag that i notice.. As for the phone usage, i think should be more user friendly. The zen UI when u pull down the notification dialogue, it is like what... one whole page full of stuffs instead of the prompts example facebook or wad. U must click on another page in the notification to view the prompts.

Antutu benchmark say other wise maybe the photo editing and the video play back are smoother in zenfone, which i didn't try it =x

Talk about those 4 fones, i may suggest u try getting huawei or xiaomi.
Asus technical support isn't as good compare to maybe xiaomi... not sure about huawei.

Bought a Zenbook from them and the QC was shitty. So many things not working or defects =(
But i still support asus haha

Golden_Fox

The zen UI when u pull down the notification dialogue, it is like what... one whole page full of stuffs instead of the prompts example facebook or wad. U must click on another page in the notification to view the prompts.

This one can customise all the blue icons, but not sure how to customise the first row of green icons.

tmfwy

Simple.
Make sure the phone is continually in use and and try to activate as many of the phone's functions as possible throuout that period.
Eg: lights, camera, wifi, internet browsing, bluetooth, make sure screen stays on all the time...

Basically, if you're tech savvy, you'll know exactly how you'd test the phone given what you have at that time.

Then consider battery life and subtract a certain % for battery wear.

My definition of sufficient has been defined in a previous post.
Phone battery must be able to last for at least a day with min 2 hours of surfing. MY XT910 is able to last a weekend but not on active usage when using it actively, the XT910 lasts aboutt 1/2-3/4 of a day.
For the ZF5, when u check the battery drain with the screen on at full brightness and active usage for 1-1.5h, you roughly will know how long it will last for a day's full usage..

The presenters/literature claim that the ZF5 had dual antennaes and that it was able to lock onto signals more quickly, thus allowing the phone to waste less battery resources on homing onto signals. I'm not sure which phones have dual antennaes, but when i compare my xt910 and notebook ( dual antennae ) in a corner of my flat with weak signals, and logically thinking of the dual antennae claim, it might hold true.

PS: the opinions above are purely my own and i am not defending the ZF5 simply because of the Asus launch. I'm just a believer of efficiency.

Eg: I'd prefer a lightweight car (eg: Copen / Elise / Cappuchino ) over a WRX anyday. Although the WRX has an engine which is much more powerful, a lightweight car is generally much more efficient due to its power-weight ratio.

tmfwy

So in summary, can buy? :o
It will depend on your needs

Given the current situation, if deciding between Redmi @ $169 and ZF5 @$199. I'll take the ZF5 anytime anyday for the very simple fact that the ZF5 will be much more readily available than the Redmi.

Even if the Redmi were to tout Quad Core with Hyperthreading,Octacore/Xeon processor, 5/6" screen, my choice will be the ZF5, because of stock availability concerns.

I just don't see the point of waiting for something that is readily not available. Those who waited for vapourware before will understand what i mean.

IF the Redmi is readily available, then the comparison will be tougher, with the choice being the practical value of a Quad Core proc vs a Dual Core Hyperthreading and the phone size. Assuming the proc power vis a vis battery life between both phones remain constant, i'll be glad to pay $30 more for the ZF6 coz of the camera. It is GOOD. ( On another note, Galaxy Tab vs Fonepad ME372CG, ME372CG wins hands down easily ).

However, if RedMi is readily available and ZF5 @ $249, i'll go for Redmi, coz of the price difference. If Redmi NOT readily available, ZF5. Redmi choice,IMO, will depend on its availability. if Xiaomi still want to play Hunger Marketing Games, then my insignificant answer to them is "i will get your product when i strike lottery" [ Not that i advocate any games of chance like lotteries/gambling ]

tmfwy

Haha, i can't get the time rewind to work lor. So kind of pissed up.

I dun know i brought my friend redmi vs zenfone and run candy crush which was preloaded in the zenfone. I also tried run chrome and redmi performs better like mayb 0.2s. Not much difference. But i am sure it is slight slower.. Maybe not optimise or wad if u see it as a MULTI - CORE 2 X 2 Hypertreading processors...

I dun like how the Intel guy said about the Multi-Core aka Hyperthreading to the Quad Core comparison.. Seriously, dun know what he was trying to imply when he told us about the comparisions, i mean saying the photo editing is faster in Intel processor over competitors... Show us the benchmark mah =(

The lower specs is a deal breaker for me... It is like what u said dump us the lousier specs to filled up the market so they can earn more money through singapore.....

Ya, it is not very snappy in camera, for games and running of different applications, i find that there was not any lag that i notice.. As for the phone usage, i think should be more user friendly. The zen UI when u pull down the notification dialogue, it is like what... one whole page full of stuffs instead of the prompts example facebook or wad. U must click on another page in the notification to view the prompts.

Antutu benchmark say other wise maybe the photo editing and the video play back are smoother in zenfone, which i didn't try it =x

Talk about those 4 fones, i may suggest u try getting huawei or xiaomi.
Asus technical support isn't as good compare to maybe xiaomi... not sure about huawei.

Bought a Zenbook from them and the QC was shitty. So many things not working or defects =(
But i still support asus haha

The presenters may be just regurgitating scripted answers. It is a shame that they are unable to properly convey the difference between Quad Core and Dual Core Hyperthreading when considering the target users.

IMO, attention should have been brought that the phones are targeted at the budget segment. Such segments prioritise battery life more than computing power. In such scenarios, the usage priority will be casual gaming like candy crush, watching videos, reception and battery life. Those multi-taskers would be better served by a phone NOT in a budget segment.

BUT, i do have respect for the Intel Atom in phones. I have a feeling that they have priced the chips lower than its arm based competitors in a bid to gain marketshare. Plus the Intel chips seem to be power efficient. I'm extremely satisfied with the performance of my Fonepad ME372CG which is using the same proc as the ZF5, the Intel Atom Z2560

i remember one hwzoner said "You are looking for a phone at dirt cheap price with a Xeon inside izzit? "

UI, just enable "Lao Ren Mode" can liao. if not user friendly enough, i dunno what to say....

sushibiscuit

*previously stated text*

Hi thanks for your insight. Looks like i might be getting the phone afterall.

The reduction in clockspeed for CPU is not as important compared to the reduction in RAM and storage space... but still at $199 its a good deal.

But of course, at $249 i will look elsewhere, especially with the Xiaomi Note coming soon which blows both out of the water.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.