Official ZenFone 5 Thread

thewiseone

This has nothing to do with the phone having only 1GB or 2GB of RAM. In the current firmware release, u can see that Asus has merged TOOF and TOOJ models into a single firmware.

If u are positive that u have tried the correct procedure in pairing the headsets/devices with your phone and your phone's failed BT connection has nothing to do with any 3rd party s/w u have installed, then its likely u have a defective handset. In that case, send it back to the service centre for rectification. Any newer firmware updates isnt going to resolve your problem as such.

Hi Friends,

thanks for all your comments, feedback ... seems like only my ZF5 (1G ram) kena ... sian to the max.

gotta wait for the Third ASUS o/s update ... if not think need to give ASUS marketing a call & go down Service Center ( does anyone know where Service Center is ?)

Advancer

I do have some issue with the 2nd update too. When I switched from silent mode back to ringer mode, my notification volume seemed to stay put at zero.
Happened to me quite a few times.

thewiseone

Yes, a similar problem has been reported at the official Asus Zenfone forum. In my case, the notification volume was lowered. Had to reboot phone phone to get back to normal.

I do have some issue with the 2nd update too. When I switched from silent mode back to ringer mode, my notification volume seemed to stay put at zero.
Happened to me quite a few times.

galliano

ASUS Singapore Service Centre
8 Burn Road, Trivex Building
#11-16, Singapore 369977

Phone: 6720 3835
Technical Enquiries: 6636 9163

Suggest you call them first before visiting their Service Centre.

You can also send the phone to Somerset 313, B2. Its next to Epilife.

Trust me .. I've been there twice already. Sigh...

Rickosw

Yes, a similar problem has been reported at the official Asus Zenfone forum. In my case, the notification volume was lowered. Had to reboot phone phone to get back to normal.

where is the link / address to the "official ASUS Zenfone forum"?
can post?

simplytimo

Feedback after 5 days.

I had my phone last Sat and should say that the feeling about the phone is mixed.

Can't expect too much from the camera but I think its shutter is taking too long. I need to explore more to further comment on this but I have seen some comparison with iPhone on the web and it looks impressive.

The flash is a total let down.

There were a couple of occasions when the UI suddenly zoomed-in and kind of get locked and scrolling through whatsapp messages and gallery thumbnails got out of control.

Scroll up/down and it went super super fast and no way to control it and other times its just got stuck.

Did a factory reset and removed all other apps and it seems fine for now.

I checked and memory utilisation was not more than 60% when those stuff happened.

I also managed to transfer a big batch of files via Bluetooth from another phone without issues.

Battery wise, its able to last whole day for me. My usage pattern is able the same when I was using SGS3 and must say that its comparable. I am using Battery Doctor instead of the inbuilt Battery Saver and it has been ok. I also disabled some apps that came along with the phone that I do not use and maybe that's why I am also getting more mileage on the phone.

There was however a day when I tried to put in my Overseas SIM together with my Starhub SIM and battery seems to drain more.

I like the reading mode and helps to reduce strain on the eye when reading through articles on the phone. I normally take a snap of a few newspaper article in morning and read on the train.

The whats next widget needs a better design as its not responsive and the transparent look makes it difficult to see on the default wallpaper.

I think software-wise there is a lot that needs to be done.

I tried to connect with ASUS via My ASUS app and while the app is a good idea to chat with support, the person supporting cannot make it in the answer he/she gave me.

I asked whether there may be any firmware update to improve flash and he/she asked me to update the firmware and when I asked if it will helped and the person so there is no firmware to improve the flash....something towards that extend.

Anyway - where to get the latest firmware. I can't find it on ASUS webpage. It seems the latest one on ASUS webpage is only for China only.

ImBusy

Hi All,

I'm from Indonesia. I just bought it and have problem with sharing photos via BBM.
All photos,pictures saved in external memory(SD card) can't send via BBM except saved from internal memory.

Did anyone of you faced it? Any solution?

My zenfone 5 has 1,6 GHz procie and 2GB ram.

Hi you tried updating the latest firmware for your phone?

V

victorlht88

I had my phone last Sat and should say that the feeling about the phone is mixed.

Can't expect too much from the camera but I think its shutter is taking too long. I need to explore more to further comment on this but I have seen some comparison with iPhone on the web and it looks impressive.

The flash is a total let down.

There were a couple of occasions when the UI suddenly zoomed-in and kind of get locked and scrolling through whatsapp messages and gallery thumbnails got out of control.

Scroll up/down and it went super super fast and no way to control it and other times its just got stuck.

Did a factory reset and removed all other apps and it seems fine for now.

I checked and memory utilisation was not more than 60% when those stuff happened.

I also managed to transfer a big batch of files via Bluetooth from another phone without issues.

Battery wise, its able to last whole day for me. My usage pattern is able the same when I was using SGS3 and must say that its comparable. I am using Battery Doctor instead of the inbuilt Battery Saver and it has been ok. I also disabled some apps that came along with the phone that I do not use and maybe that's why I am also getting more mileage on the phone.

There was however a day when I tried to put in my Overseas SIM together with my Starhub SIM and battery seems to drain more.

I like the reading mode and helps to reduce strain on the eye when reading through articles on the phone. I normally take a snap of a few newspaper article in morning and read on the train.

The whats next widget needs a better design as its not responsive and the transparent look makes it difficult to see on the default wallpaper.

I think software-wise there is a lot that needs to be done.

I tried to connect with ASUS via My ASUS app and while the app is a good idea to chat with support, the person supporting cannot make it in the answer he/she gave me.

I asked whether there may be any firmware update to improve flash and he/she asked me to update the firmware and when I asked if it will helped and the person so there is no firmware to improve the flash....something towards that extend.

Anyway - where to get the latest firmware. I can't find it on ASUS webpage. It seems the latest one on ASUS webpage is only for China only.

such a picky and demanding user for a phone that barely costs $200.

for the firmware wise, here is the link. Go under OS, Android, Firmware and read the instructions carefully. Don't be too lazy and end up flashing the wrong firmware then blaming it on someone else.

thewiseone

Anyone using the latest 0626 firmware? Seems like there is an improvement in battery life. :)

jerrypt

I am curious as to where is the sensor that changes the screen display when the flip cover with the round window is closed.

Anyone?

tomsss

Yea I agree that the flash in camera mode is ridiculously low. I already updated mine to the latest firmware mentioned in here and that issue wasn't fixed. The torchlight function brightness was ok, just don't understand why the flash in camera mode was set to so low.

tomsss

Anyone using the latest 0626 firmware? Seems like there is an improvement in battery life. :)

Before that latest update, I find that the phone in standby mode is alright. Just that when in use ie, browsing, text msg... the battery % comes down pretty fast. Just updated mine and performed factory reset... so just gonna do some full battery charge calibration and see how it goes.

simplytimo

for the firmware wise, here is the link. Go under OS, Android, Firmware and read the instructions carefully. Don't be too lazy and end up flashing the wrong firmware then blaming it on someone else.

Thanks you sir. Will open up the package and check after I downloaded it. Didn't do it earlier cos the latest FW says for CN SKU only.

Not picky. Anyone having same experience will share too. It's a forum.

galliano

Sorry but I do not think is picky.

And FYI, we should be grateful for him writing his comments on a mere $200 phone. Most would not even bother to comment. ..

To add, $200 is quite alot to some folks out there

Rickosw

ZF5 Service Center is at B3 - 313

Send my ZF5 for repairs liao @ 313 Somerset B3...
sian to the max :sad:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.