Official ZenFone 5 Thread

thewiseone

It's a bad experience to have picked a lemon. Hopefully it will be repaired quickly. Do keep us updated on the repair works and the quality of their customer service.

Send my ZF5 for repairs liao @ 313 Somerset B3...
sian to the max :sad:

simplytimo

such a picky and demanding user for a phone that barely costs $200.

for the firmware wise, here is the link. Go under OS, Android, Firmware and read the instructions carefully. Don't be too lazy and end up flashing the wrong firmware then blaming it on someone else.

Hi Victor,

Were you able to apply the FW ASUS ZenFone 5(T00F/T00J) software Image: V1.15.40.20 for CN SKU on your set?

Is your set CN or WW?

The older firmware already available OTA when I got the phone.

Rickosw

ZF5 to Service Center 313

It's a bad experience to have picked a lemon. Hopefully it will be repaired quickly. Do keep us updated on the repair works and the quality of their customer service.

To be honest, the "core functions" of the phone are working, but it is one the secondary features that is not function well, and that is making the experience of owning ZF5 unpleasant.

And this Bluetooth syn/link up is not something that the normal person will test when he first get his phone, more-over as my WP & Nexus 7 are my daily drivers, (ZF5 as spare and fun phone) I only discover this error only in the past week.

OK, back to my experience at ASUS Customer Service, very new, very clean. REALLY NOBODY THERE! i was there for around 20 min during lunch time ...

The staff is "ok polite" but there are some "language barrier" so I have explain and physically show him what went wrong with my ZF5 a few times.

When the official receipt came out, I was shocked to see that warrant date was empty - nothing / blank entry, the staff should have checked. considering it is quite obvious.

When the warranty date did come out, i was shocked again , as it stated APRIL 2015, !!!

How can it be when this phone is launched only in June ?

I will definitely write in to Asus Marketing and check ....

My initial response is that was I given a
"pre-production model" and that is causing this BlueTooth error.

( will post the final repairs report if there is any )

Pics below

jxzoPEEdCa2nc.jpg

jASiiG2KqJnx5.jpg

j8xrJBMUZKg6c.jpg

jb0PufG7LNAOwV.jpg

garychengjw

croc1977

Available at most Challenger i think. $219 is the usual retail price then instead of the original most touted $249.

This phone got plenty stock now.
member got discount?

challenger got sell case and screen protector?

galliano

Just did a comparison between Zen and Redmi camera.

Zen's

Redmi's

Zen's

Redmi's

Despite Redmi's shots look more natural, I think i prefer Zen's. Sharper.
However, Zen's shutter is much slower. Thus i think for moving shots .. it pales in comparison with Redmi.

I'm no photo expert.

Jimmy38

Many forumers were asking for the Ultra Thin CLEAR SILICON AIR CASE and Glass Prorector as promise

Jimmy38

Asus ZenFone 5 Ultra Thin Smoothie Glass Screen Protector
- Ultra Thin and Light
- CLEAR HD
- Repels Fingerprints
- Easy to Clean and Wipe
- Minimum Scratches
- Long Lasting

dlrowehtleah

in barely a month, your "spare and fun phone" is already "dent on lower right corner back cover, chip off on lower left corner lcd edge". :eek:

and what was your purpose of posting the person's picture here? :s22::s11: personally i think it is rude.
(ZF5 as spare and fun phone)

Pics below

jxzoPEEdCa2nc.jpg

8-lane

Available at most Challenger i think. $219 is the usual retail price then instead of the original most touted $249.

$219 is for the 1 or 2 GB ram version?

Rickosw

in barely a month, your "spare and fun phone" is already "dent on lower right corner back cover, chip off on lower left corner lcd edge". :eek:

and what was your purpose of posting the person's picture here? :s22::s11: personally i think it is rude.

As for the two "tiny dents", it is due to daily wear and tear, I do use it ... almost on a daily basis,

for my other electronics devices, i do have Screen Protector and case and I do take care of my stuff ... would be glad to showcase my WP & N7 if you want ...and find any "dents"

and yes I dropped the phone twice ( i received the phone before the official launch date and there wasnt any protective case around commerically locally)

and I went overseas for a while .... and i didnt drop ZF5 onto concerte floor, just normal house / office floor ...

that speaks a lot about the build of the phone as well ... (but that is another topic for another day) - if you ever own a phone, and drop it
it really depends on the angle on impact . rather than the "height" that it was dropped
(watch those youtube drop-test videos)

as for taking the person pic, personally i dun think it is RUDE ...
that is nothing wrong with taking pics in the PUBLIC area per se (not like STOMP). Just showing who is doing the customer service ....

what is more important is the "ASUS customer experience" - which i stated earlier was "ok" and the follow up report on the repairs ... will keep u guys posted.

V

victorlht88

Saw jem challenger selling zenfone 5 at $219, all three colour avaliable.

could be all sets with 1gb ram.

Hi Victor,

Were you able to apply the FW ASUS ZenFone 5(T00F/T00J) software Image: V1.15.40.20 for CN SKU on your set?

Is your set CN or WW?

The older firmware already available OTA when I got the phone.

local sets in sg should be WW, dont flash the wrong firmware else your phone will become an useless brick.

ah_cleo

As for the two "tiny dents", it is due to daily wear and tear, I do use it ... almost on a daily basis,

for my other electronics devices, i do have Screen Protector and case and I do take care of my stuff ... would be glad to showcase my WP & N7 if you want ...and find any "dents"

and yes I dropped the phone twice ( i received the phone before the official launch date and there wasnt any protective case around commerically locally)

and I went overseas for a while .... and i didnt drop ZF5 onto concerte floor, just normal house / office floor ...

that speaks a lot about the build of the phone as well ... (but that is another topic for another day) - if you ever own a phone, and drop it
it really depends on the angle on impact . rather than the "height" that it was dropped
(watch those youtube drop-test videos)

as for taking the person pic, personally i dun think it is RUDE ...
that is nothing wrong with taking pics in the PUBLIC area per se (not like STOMP). Just showing who is doing the customer service ....

what is more important is the "ASUS customer experience" - which i stated earlier was "ok" and the follow up report on the repairs ... will keep u guys posted.

did you get the phone before it was launched or did you have any receipt for prove of purchase else the service centre would based on the manufacturing date for your warranty status. if you got the receipt, i believe it will be a 90% win unless the phone was water damaged which means void of warranty. also it mus be a local set.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.