Official ZenFone 5 Thread

rECKleSSfElla

I was initially keen in it till I compared the specs and price between Singapore and China/Taiwan... :s22:

yeah...honestly, i dont mind if they sell the 2gb ram 16gb rom version here for $250 but we get the shittiest version n yet end up having to pay so much more. And the best justification Asus SG can come up with is "per market basis" and this is them "trying their best to provide best value"?:s13:

Adam80

yeah...honestly, i dont mind if they sell the 2gb ram 16gb rom version here for $250 but we get the shittiest version n yet end up having to pay so much more. And the best justification Asus SG can come up with is "per market basis" and this is them "trying their best to provide best value"?:s13:

i getting lobang to get taiwan ver
2g ram and 16gb mem

rECKleSSfElla

i getting lobang to get taiwan ver
2g ram and 16gb mem

Any info on price? I am looking to get a budget phone to tide me over the next 4-5 months till my telco contract is up then most likely i will recontract to get the upcoming LG G3......so yeah, i am certainly not looking to overpay for a temporary phone.

rECKleSSfElla

Zen5 to cost RM$599 and IndonRup$2099000, both of which translate to ~SGD$230. No surprises our rrp is the highest during this regional launch.........

Golden_Fox

For those that can understand chinese

Zenfone5 -- Engadget

Gist of the issue is that initially,the taiwan release version has lower specs and cost more compared to the china release version. The taiwanese customers kpkb and end up Asus decided to revise and make the taiwan version similar spec and price on par with the china version.

While on our sunny island, we get the lousiest specced version of the phone and yet we end up having to pay so much more. Big carrot heads indeed:s22:.

thanks for sharing. Wanted to get a Zen 5 when it's out. Now, I guess I'll look for alternative.

Vulpix

Please don't buy this phone. Really sick of this from ASUS.

dsearch4et

Zen5 to cost RM$599 and IndonRup$2099000, both of which translate to ~SGD$230. No surprises our rrp is the highest during this regional launch.........

should expect the price to be a bit higher as it IS singapore, compared to TW w/c is asus' base, they can have lower overhead. but with extra costs added when selling in sg, price becomes higher.

can always go for the registration w/c is just 199.

rECKleSSfElla

should expect the price to be a bit higher as it IS singapore, compared to TW w/c is asus' base, they can have lower overhead. but with extra costs added when selling in sg, price becomes higher.

can always go for the registration w/c is just 199.

Its one case to set the price higher due to higher overhead but its another to exploit a market which has a culture of overpaying for everything. If you are telling me you have no issues paying 100 bucks more for a more inferior spec product compare to other countries, you are already proving the rule that companies are right to exploit us sinkies.

sushibiscuit

Its one case to set the price higher due to higher overhead but its another to exploit a market which has a culture of overpaying for everything. If you are telling me you have no issues paying 100 bucks more for a more inferior spec product compare to other countries, you are already proving the rule that companies are right to exploit us sinkies.

I'm very interested in the Atom processor but this news saddens me.

Then again at the $199 price its an ok deal....

sushibiscuit

According to Huawei FB the Honor 3C and 3X coming sometime soon... deciding whether to get this phone. True we getting the crappier version but for $199 still decent...

thewiseone

Source: Taiwanese Consumers Mad Asus Demanding More for Zenfone Smartphones - News - Bubblews

Submitted by RchLuvSlly on April 20th, 2014 –
Category: Tech

Well, my friends, if you think that most, if not all, smartphone vendors will offer exclusive rights to the domestic customers in regards to their smartphone products, you might have to think again. Thing is, it does not always work out that way. As it turns out, the domestic customers might even have to pay a higher sum of cash compared to international customers, as what has just happened with Asus in Taiwan. As it turns out, Asus is asking its domestic customers in its home country, Taiwan, to pay more for the Zenfone smartphone devices that the company has just launched not so long ago.

Well, as expected, the customers in Taiwan become mad due to such action from Asus. In fact, criticisms are coming from every direction. Thing is, as reported by the China Post, the Taiwanese vendor is offering its new Zenfone 5 and 6 smartphones with price tags that are much higher than those offered in China. Heck, as if that is not enough, Asus has even seemingly gone too far by providing Chinese and not Taiwanese users a better specification upgrade. Up to now, though, the company has yet to make any official confirmation regarding that.

In Taiwan, Asus is offering both the aforementioned smartphone models with price tags that are $500 (Taiwan NT) more expensive than the price tags in China. This is quite ironic considering that both China and Taiwan are actually quite close, geographically speaking. So, if you happen to live in Taiwan and want to get your hands on the Asus Zenfone 5, you won’t be able to do that unless you pay $4,990 (Taiwan NT). Yet, for the Asus Zenfone 6, you are going to have to pay a sum of money totaling $6,990 (Taiwan NT).

Considering all the criticisms and negative responses from its customers in Taiwan, the chairman of Asus himself, Jonney Shih, did not hesitate to apologize for the matter. The chairman admitted that the company did wrong in some aspects and that the people behind Asus would accept their mistakes with an open mind. In addition to that, the chairman has also promised that Asus will not only cut down the price tags for both the aforementioned smartphone models but it will also provide the customers in Taiwan with a special specification upgrade. And, as for those Taiwanese customers who happen to have submitted a pre-order for the models affected, they will be allowed to ask for a return. As of the time this post is being written, around 20% of 80,000 pre-orders has been returned to Asus.

Yet, why does Asus have to sell the Zenfone phones cheaper in China in the first place? As it turns out, this is to rival Xiaomi, the Chinese smartphone vendor that has recently launched its 5.5-inch octa-core phablet, the Hongmi Note, for an unbelievable price. The Hongmi Note is sold for only 799 Chinese Yuan, equivalent to around US$150. Asus is aiming to sell five million units of the Zenfone devices in total by the end of this fiscal year.

Golden_Fox

Asus, you can also start selling cheap ZenFone in Singapore to rival Xiaomi, we welcome you also.

Golden_Fox

I registered.
Anyway, free flipcase only for those those registered with contract.

ipad19901

I understand that Asus ZenFone 4,5,6 have dual-sim both in 3G. I was wondering if it can run 2 separate whatsapp? 1 for each sim-card since it is dual 3G sim?

thewiseone

AFAIK that is not possible with a std whatsapp s/w.

I understand that Asus ZenFone 4,5,6 have dual-sim both in 3G. I was wondering if it can run 2 separate whatsapp? 1 for each sim-card since it is dual 3G sim?

sushibiscuit

I registered.
Anyway, free flipcase only for those those registered with contract.

So in the end after all the hoohaa everyone registered? =:p

For me, at $199, the reduced specs are a bummer. Still considering it. Might get the Xiaomi afterall.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.