Official ZenFone 5 Thread

atanbh91

what is the main concern? price or quality or?

gd question, i can't exactly pinpoint a main concern, thats why i got dilemma.

zenfone 5 and redmi 1S are so similar in specs i can't decide. benchmarks indicate that zenfone 5 performance better than 1S, but i'm not sure if it will b significant in real world usage.

i'm currently using redmi (not 1S) so i can say the build quality doesn't bother me.

i guess my main concern is rooting and flashing custom roms. at the end of the day i still prefer stock android over any UI

kyleongwl

zenfone 5 and redmi 1S are so similar in specs i can't decide. benchmarks indicate that zenfone 5 performance better than 1S, but i'm not sure if it will b significant in real world usage.

i'm currently using redmi (not 1S) so i can say the build quality doesn't bother me.

i guess my main concern is rooting and flashing custom roms. at the end of the day i still prefer stock android over any UI
In real world, both phone being entry phone, lag when compare to flagship. If its for message, FB, instagram, ok.
Visually, ZF5 looks more class.

On the rom, asus not a dev favour. On redmi 1s, being new, nothin much as well.
For CM on both devices, not yet.

androidlover

these few days my ZF5 keep on restarting by itself, about one time a day, maybe the games apps installed is the cause.

wackykid

Dilemma!!!

Should i get zenfone 5 or redmi 1S? $50 difference sia

i have same dilemma... end up i decided on zenfone 5 and just hooted only...! it's only $50 diff... the breaking point for me is that redmi 1s doesn't support 3G on both SIM (i have 2 lines, so i effectively get 2 x 2GB data/mth, i can't imagine having to swap SIM card each time i wanna change SIM to use the 3G data)... but zenfone 5 does... plus zenfone 5 confirmed going to support kitkat while redmi still on 4.3... so for $50 extra it's worth it...

regards,
wacky

ah_cleo

rom wise, asus surely not as fast but xiaomi being on miui might be faster..

for me i choose zenfone cos of the dual 3G slot. not so leychey.. can just switch the setting instead of physically taking out the sim. memory card can support 64g jus nice i got. not sure if xiaomi can anot..

V

victorlht88

for me i choose zenfone cos of the dual 3G slot. not so leychey.. can just switch the setting instead of physically taking out the sim. memory card can support 64g jus nice i got. not sure if xiaomi can anot..

lets not forget the additional ram works wonders too! :s22:

galliano

I also choose Zen instead of Redmi.
Better design and 4.3 Android.

ArcticCheetah

Ever considered ASUS will stop updates once they start selling newer phones?
i have same dilemma... end up i decided on zenfone 5 and just hooted only...! it's only $50 diff... the breaking point for me is that redmi 1s doesn't support 3G on both SIM (i have 2 lines, so i effectively get 2 x 2GB data/mth, i can't imagine having to swap SIM card each time i wanna change SIM to use the 3G data)... but zenfone 5 does... plus zenfone 5 confirmed going to support kitkat while redmi still on 4.3... so for $50 extra it's worth it...

regards,
wacky

blurwulf

Anyone cares to comment abt ZF5's battery life (esp when running on 2 sim cards)? My current dual-sim phone can't go > 1/2 day if i surf net on mobile data.:(

kyleongwl

Anyone cares to comment abt ZF5's battery life (esp when running on 2 sim cards)? My current dual-sim phone can't go > 1/2 day if i surf net on mobile data.:(
Zf5 weakest point would b it's batt life. No data "on" n playing candy crush...at time hv to last til issue end of day

blurwulf

Sounds like quite jialat the batt... :(
I don't play games, but love to surf net on 3G during lunch/break time. Need to charge my current phone twice daily in office, damn sian.
Anyone here knows how long zf5 can last for normal usage on mobile data?

thewiseone

It will last u through the day.

Sounds like quite jialat the batt... :(
I don't play games, but love to surf net on 3G during lunch/break time. Need to charge my current phone twice daily in office, damn sian.
Anyone here knows how long zf5 can last for normal usage on mobile data?

wackykid

I think they still update Mi1

mi1 u also pay more $$$ ley...

anyway waaaaaaaaaah... super impressed with the delivery.... i ordered phone around 2pm expecting to get my phone tomorrow... but when i reached home today my phone already delivered... :eek::eek::eek:

now charging it... :D

regards,
wacky

simplytimo

Zenfone 5 battery is ok for me. I disabled all the unused preloaded apps and use Battery Doctor but i am also not a heavy user. Typically sends mail, whatsapp, maybe 20 mins of call per day and occasionally Line Calls.surf the web about 30mins and read articles from preloaded docs on reading mode for 10-20 mins.usually can last whole day.

Redmi update is mainly MIUI and not sure if will go kitkat but believe Zenfone will. Note that Redmi is not 100% english. I bought 2 few months back for my mother and MIL and therevare still chinese somewhere inside.

Redmi camera is snappy compared to Zenfone 5 and Zenfone 5 flash is lame.

However, I choosed Zenfone bcos it has 2*3G slots and i felt it didnt hurt to have 1 extra GB of memory. If there is no additional memory, i may have given up after the delay.

If you want long battery life, none of this phone will be considered good compared to other flagship models but for a utiliy phone I think it works. Similarly, for the camera but both are good enough.

Maybe future upgrades will improve the flash of zenfone since flash lights seems to be capable of generating more brightness.

Probably the best part of using these phones is that you are not a follower chasing after big brands and dare to try.

At least now I have tried intel chips. If there is a amd coming out, I may try it too.

AstroB2M

the purpose of covering the top of the phone with hand is to see if the auto sleep/wake mode can be activated by the proximity sensor.

Samsung s-view cover is activated by the magnetic sensor but not sure if asus is using the same method.

i believed all are using the same thing.
I bought 2 Nillkin flip case and 1 of it is not working.
On the "faulty" case i found the magnet location by placing a pin over the bottom of flip cover .
I also place a magnet over the BACK-button of my zenfone 5 and it goes into
power saver mode screen.
I concluded by above method thus i advised you to check yours.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.