Official ZenFone 5 Thread

Advancer

Recommend the recent update as there is a clear all button when u press the recent apps soft key.

wackykid

Recommend the recent update as there is a clear all button when u press the recent apps soft key.

wow thanks for the heads up... another update....! :eek: i think the last update was not too long ago only....! it's nice to know that ASUS is actively updating the OS... :)

regards,
wacky

sickmailer

After much fiddling around disabling system services and monitoring wakelocks, I have found out that after some recent google updates, some of those 200 odd Google play services and Google services Framework causes wakelocks which contributed to much battery drain. Having root access I was able to disable those using a app called "Disable Services".

For those non-root users, Disabling Location Access in the setting menu might help reduce battery drain. Enable on need to use basis. Other than that, nothing much can be done till Google fixes the wakelock bugs.

blurwulf

blurwulf

After much fiddling around disabling system services and monitoring wakelocks, I have found out that after some recent google updates, some of those 200 odd Google play services and Google services Framework causes wakelocks which contributed to much battery drain. Having root access I was able to disable those using a app called "Disable Services".

For those non-root users, Disabling Location Access in the setting menu might help reduce battery drain. Enable on need to use basis. Other than that, nothing much can be done till Google fixes the wakelock bugs.

Thanks for the heads up... but it seems to me like the batt has no problem when the phone is in idle mode. In fact, the battery holds up pretty good if the phone stays in "sleep" most of the time. However like some bro mentioned earlier, when u start gaming or in my case, 3g internet, you can kill it pretty fast...real fast.:s22:

savage

Yeah. I have all google services running on my phone. I let it sync whatever it needs. I even have Google Now turned on. but the phone doesn't suck up a lot of battery when sleeping. Only when it's on and i surfing web or gaming and stuff, it will drain fast .

but when you put all of it together, the battery life is not good :p

savage

aztech44

Thanks for the heads up... but it seems to me like the batt has no problem when the phone is in idle mode. In fact, the battery holds up pretty good if the phone stays in "sleep" most of the time. However like some bro mentioned earlier, when u start gaming or in my case, 3g internet, you can kill it pretty fast...real fast.:s22:

How do you "sleep" the phone?

marcus70

Hi help needed here,intend to get the zenfone 5 but was quite puzzle about the spec,currently saw whymobile selling 2gb 16gb rom but using snapdragon 400?but shouldn't the fone be using intel processor?Also is there a Chipset Intel Atom Z2580 2.0Ghz fone out there for zen 5?And how is the battery life?tia

Rickosw

ASUS finally repair my ZF5

hi guys,

Status update for my ZF5, which was having BT issues earlier, ASUS took almost 1 month to resolve my ZF5, after which "Senior Management" approved to replace faulty TWO chips in phone. With the condition of "ONE OFF" repair ...

Does the BT pairing work now? seems ok liao ... can pair/syn with my BT headphone devices ...

All other aspects of the phone seems to be normal, no update to KitKat 4.4 though ...
just discover a tiny "hairline" scratch on the screen, which I cover it up with a Tempered Glass less than SGD$10)

ps: they still have not update my warranty, should be JUNE instead of April....

jiXSfHIlD3PaL.jpg

Rickosw

Just started using this tempered glass SP for ZF5. Bought it for only $8.90. Application is easy, much less of a hassle compared to film type SPs. Initial impression is positive though i'm not sure how well it will hold up against scratches. Anyone using the same SP?

I bought this via Qoo10 ... it works ! wack from local reseller, came within 2 days (register mail)
super easy to apply ... (almost anyone can do it)
so far ok ...

glorygoh

Hi help needed here,intend to get the zenfone 5 but was quite puzzle about the spec,currently saw whymobile selling 2gb 16gb rom but using snapdragon 400?but shouldn't the fone be using intel processor?Also is there a Chipset Intel Atom Z2580 2.0Ghz fone out there for zen 5?And how is the battery life?tia

Mine is a 2580 2.0ghz set. 16gb, 2gig ram.
Batt life sucks ONLY if u watsapp, wechat, email extensively, normal operations will deem the batt as one day. I've experienced sudden drop in batt juice a couple of times, phone heat up and goes to 10% in mid-day. But back to normal after fully charged ..

marcus70

Mine is a 2580 2.0ghz set. 16gb, 2gig ram.
Batt life sucks ONLY if u watsapp, wechat, email extensively, normal operations will deem the batt as one day. I've experienced sudden drop in batt juice a couple of times, phone heat up and goes to 10% in mid-day. But back to normal after fully charged ..

thks btw ur ph is export set as the spec is better,mind to share where u got it and the cost...thks

savage

sian. today my phone keep showing me MaxxAudioService has stopped. No matter how many times I click ok, it just keeps showing up again to the point where you can't use the phone... sigh... anyone kanna? any advice?

Vegitto

hi guys... i just bought this phone at challenger :o
jumped from ios.. a lot of things need to transfer... any programs that can help copy stuff over? eg, sms, contacts, notes

btw can check with u guys are u using oem usb cable to connect or must use the asus cable to do data sync?
thanks!

Advancer

hi guys... i just bought this phone at challenger :o
jumped from ios.. a lot of things need to transfer... any programs that can help copy stuff over? eg, sms, contacts, notes

btw can check with u guys are u using oem usb cable to connect or must use the asus cable to do data sync?
thanks!

I was only able to transfer my contacts via google contacts.

You can use any USB cable for data sycn.

Vegitto

I was only able to transfer my contacts via google contacts.

You can use any USB cable for data sycn.

thanks!
was hell trying to copy stuff over. now just copied all the main stuff i will need for daily routine and work..
transfer sms was hell, i had over 15k sms and android message hanged when i first transferred everything over. then deleted everything and just transferred my work related sms... even that took 8-10 mins for android message to open for the first time :(

anyway i've this usb cable that doesn't connect for data sync, only can be done if i used the asus cable.. will try to get another usb cable to try.
thanks again

V

victorlht88

hi guys,

Status update for my ZF5, which was having BT issues earlier, ASUS took almost 1 month to resolve my ZF5, after which "Senior Management" approved to replace faulty TWO chips in phone. With the condition of "ONE OFF" repair ...

Does the BT pairing work now? seems ok liao ... can pair/syn with my BT headphone devices ...

All other aspects of the phone seems to be normal, no update to KitKat 4.4 though ...
just discover a tiny "hairline" scratch on the screen, which I cover it up with a Tempered Glass less than SGD$10)

ps: they still have not update my warranty, should be JUNE instead of April....

jiXSfHIlD3PaL.jpg

your lci turned red, water damage?

Rickosw

your lci turned red, water damage?

no idea man, i got my phone pre-launch then went overseas, always in the pocket with my other phone, never kena any water ...
but i was never once able to connect via Bluetooth headsets ... (Bluetooth devces - phones, laptop all ok, so i always thought it was a Software issue rather than hardware...

so after my holiday, I send the phone to ASUS check up & repairs
and that so I am surprised when they told me need to replace two chips ... seems like very "serious" that even "senior management" needs to be "activated" to review" my case ... but they offered to repair for me and now all seems ok ...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.