Okinawa 3/20

coldish

Yes, my trip is next week.

Cases reported so far seem low and i don't think it's crowded much except for maybe the aquarium.

My only concern is the flight and their under-reporting/not-testing.
I just came back earlier this week.
The flight I took to n fro was like half full and we wore masks in the plane. I think the situation there is generally ok.
You would see many people wearing masks in crowded places like the airport, kokusai dori or in the monorail but if you are going to places like Nago nobody really care.

Aquarium is nothing much. One tip is it is cheaper to get aquarium's tix at OTS and the aquarium give partial refund after 4pm when it is the off peak period.

coldish

Our aquarium is really better to be honest. Not worth to drive up a couple of hrs to n fro unless u are on the way to nearby attractions or beaches.
We spent less than 2hrs there.

unity58

I just came back earlier this week.
The flight I took to n fro was like half full and we wore masks in the plane. I think the situation there is generally ok.
You would see many people wearing masks in crowded places like the airport, kokusai dori or in the monorail but if you are going to places like Nago nobody really care.

Aquarium is nothing much. One tip is it is cheaper to get aquarium's tix at OTS and the aquarium give partial refund after 4pm when it is the off peak period.

You took jetstar too? Is it easy to buy mask in okinawa? Are there still alot of tourists, especially china and korea?

And as for the tip you mentioned, I need to enter the aqua at 4pm onwards to get the refund right? If I go in at 330pm i not entitled right?

LifeIsJinHappy

Our aquarium is really better to be honest. Not worth to drive up a couple of hrs to n fro unless u are on the way to nearby attractions or beaches.
We spent less than 2hrs there.

Yea already bought my tickets from OTS. Aquarium and the blue cave.

I find our Aquarium just normal, you mean its not as good? :s11: Gonna go explore suggestions given earlier if it's fast. There are shows and stuff right?

coldish

You took jetstar too? Is it easy to buy mask in okinawa? Are there still alot of tourists, especially china and korea?

And as for the tip you mentioned, I need to enter the aqua at 4pm onwards to get the refund right? If I go in at 330pm i not entitled right?

Yep jetstar too
Not easy to get masks too as far as I walked the streets at naha. Even those ulu Lawson at Onna also no stocks. Those value shops at Kokusai Dori only selling those masks for pollen.
Hmm not many tourists now from China. Most tourists are from other parts of Japan and HK. Korean not sure as some time cant tell apart if they are Japanese or korean lol.

Yes, only 4pm onwards they will bring you for a partial refund when they see that you have bought earlier at an usual rate.

coldish

I find our Aquarium just normal, you mean its not as good? :s11: Gonna go explore suggestions given earlier if it's fast. There are shows and stuff right?

I feel that our Aquarium is bigger but theirs have more variety of marine animals at the park. Ya got feeding shows and films every few hrs.

unity58

bro the aquarium shows have all been stopped till 15 march until further notice from jap gov. they preventing group gathering. you can check out the schedules on their website.

unity58

Need some help on this.

MSIG stated this on their insurance.

TravelEasy or TravelEasy Pre-Ex covers claims due to Covid-19 during your trip if you are not travelling against travel advisories and you have purchased the policy before the following cut-off dates. Where can we find this advisory? It seem like we do not have an official website for this.

If you have purchased the policy before the cut-off date for your planned destination, you can make a claim for travel cancellation if World Health Organisation declares outbreak situation at your planned destination as epidemic within 30 days before the start of your trip. Has japan be declared as epidemic? I am not able to find such info on the WHO. Where to find this info?

Anyone can advise? TIA.

coldish

Need some help on this.

TravelEasy or TravelEasy Pre-Ex covers claims due to Covid-19 during your trip if you are not travelling against travel advisories and you have purchased the policy before the following cut-off dates. Where can we find this advisory? It seem like we do not have an official website for this.

If you have purchased the policy before the cut-off date for your planned destination, you can make a claim for travel cancellation if World Health Organisation declares outbreak situation at your planned destination as epidemic within 30 days before the start of your trip. Has japan be declared as epidemic? I am not able to find such info on the WHO. Where to find this info?

Anyone can advise? TIA.

https://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/notices/alert/coronavirus-japan

U need to email them to clarify on the term made and whether you are eligible to claim prior the trip if cancel, during or even after the trip.

LifeIsJinHappy

Yup just call and i ask.

I bought ntuc during end Jan. Not covered :( They let you refund though if you're not going.

unity58

Sigh. Okinawa aquarium going to be close till 15 march. Not sure what will happen again next.

LifeIsJinHappy

Bought snorkel and aquarium package via OTS using coupon. End up aquarium cancelled so they refund only 1k yen(2 pax)

Coupon downgraded from 2k to 1k.

Original price of aquarium is 1880/pax

:s22::s22:

vaxvms

Need some help on this.

Anyone can advise? TIA.

just call n ask lah....dun worry will not be like airline n listen music for 30 min haha

anyway i just called msig
if cancel today full refund on policy but there will be admin fee of $25 /policy
if WHO declared anything more we can have full refund
just do it b4 policy commence date ....msig not base on MOH

unity58

Bought snorkel and aquarium package via OTS using coupon. End up aquarium cancelled so they refund only 1k yen(2 pax)

Coupon downgraded from 2k to 1k.

Original price of aquarium is 1880/pax

:s22::s22:

Ooh i didnt know can use coupon for the attractions too. Alamak. I thought it is only for car rental.

unity58

just call n ask lah....dun worry will not be like airline n listen music for 30 min haha

anyway i just called msig
if cancel today full refund on policy but there will be admin fee of $25 /policy
if WHO declared anything more we can have full refund
just do it b4 policy commence date ....msig not base on MOH

confirm not based on MOH? Then we consumer trapped in the middle?

1. Non refundable ticket from jetstar - still not offering any alternative yet.
2. Non refundable hotel bookings from Japanican and Expedia.
3. Government asked to defer all non essential travel to Japan.
4. MSIG not going to cover covid19 if travel against travel advisory.
5. MSIG not going to refund those flights and hotel bookings.
6. So what should we do? Either proceed with no cover OR lose money?

Haiz

unity58

So is anyone still going to Okinawa. I still trying to figure out if I can refund for all my bookings first before making a decision. My trip is on 17 March. Reaching soon. sigh.

From what I know, most airlines are cancelling their flights to Japan, offering full refunds. Jetstar is still very insistent on flying though from what I know, my flight only have 20 peoples.

vaxvms

confirm not based on MOH? Then we consumer trapped in the middle?

1. Non refundable ticket from jetstar - still not offering any alternative yet.
2. Non refundable hotel bookings from Japanican and Expedia.
3. Government asked to defer all non essential travel to Japan.
4. MSIG not going to cover covid19 if travel against travel advisory.
5. MSIG not going to refund those flights and hotel bookings.
6. So what should we do? Either proceed with no cover OR lose money?

Haiz

i buy from msig but i not from msig cannot cfm on behalf of msig to u lolxx...
i just post what i was told

not bad $25 admin fee :s22::s22::s22:
1 day b4 dateline than i cancel

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.