OLA EC @ Anchorvale

leeerwin

I'm guessing should be around the same as the past 3-5 transactions. $9xx.

Depends on how many units want to sell too? Supply n demand.
Saw your previous post that you want to chope a unit even before MOP, why??

Hopefully more units on sale, brings down the price slightly more due to supply. Actually its because my rental lease is running down soon, might not be able to extend. So thats why hope to settle the purchase ASAP =) Anyways, not much units to view now in One Canberra...

leeerwin

Anyways, looks like we are out of topic. Is there any One Canberra thread here that I can bump up ?

birmingham123

Considering nearby 5 yr old PC going at $1.15k to $1.2k psf on a smaller plot ratio... hmmm

Your statement is implying this EC is relatively cheap or expensive ? If cheap, the reason is because this is an EC with some restrictions on buying.

yesimvested

bto not his category too... cos no one wants to marry a ****** grape face...

Thats why he is doing his best to talk the market down until he finally gets one..

Why u worry? He did not talk up bto which is the category u belong to after u graduate. EC and PC not your league la, why worry he talks them up? :D

Passerboy

I’m not worrying, just correcting one of the many fake news as usual.

Don’t worry uncle ni, I will never have to follow your footsteps and steal your parents hdb flat.

What fake news! It was a genuine typo! You could have just mentioned my error, and it was not a jarring one either, not like the article quoted $1110psf I inflated it to be $1210psf.

Maybe I shouldn’t have quoted though. Peace:)
Ola response should be known soon though.

momoeagle

Your statement is implying this EC is relatively cheap or expensive ? If cheap, the reason is because this is an EC with some restrictions on buying.
Expensive. EC likely launching at almost same psf as 6 year old PC, not expensive? Specifically referring to Fernvale Lane one.

I think $1k psf is ok. But then again, I poor man no cash. Say say see see complain complain talk talk can liao.

birmingham123

Expensive. EC likely launching at almost same psf as 6 year old PC, not expensive? Specifically referring to Fernvale Lane one.

I think $1k psf is ok. But then again, I poor man no cash. Say say see see complain complain talk talk can liao.

Oh okay. Cause I thought u mean private condo 6 years old already still more ex than EC, thus this EC consider cheap relatively. Then reason is because EC has restrictions. But if you consider this brand new EC as expensive, then maybe just try your luck at bto, keep trying and u might get one. Bto if eligible is the most worth it

momoeagle

Oh okay. Cause I thought u mean private condo 6 years old already still more ex than EC, thus this EC consider cheap relatively. Then reason is because EC has restrictions. But if you consider this brand new EC as expensive, then maybe just try your luck at bto, keep trying and u might get one. Bto if eligible is the most worth it

That is actually a consideration. I need to do the maths.

2nd timer does not seem as worth because of the 45k resale levy, that's what I thinking. Your thoughts?

1993newbie

Colleague sold newly MOP Yishun bto in Jan in preparation for Parc Canberra launch. Didn’t went ahead in the purchase coz was put off by $40k resale levy.

Now looking at resale condos instead coz their main purpose of buying is for immediate rental. They got parents place to stay btw.

That is actually a consideration. I need to do the maths.

2nd timer does not seem as worth because of the 45k resale levy, that's what I thinking. Your thoughts?

momoeagle

Colleague sold newly MOP Yishun bto in Jan in preparation for Parc Canberra launch. Didn’t went ahead in the purchase coz was put off by $40k resale levy.

Now looking at resale condos instead coz their main purpose of buying is for immediate rental. They got parents place to stay btw.

I have in laws place to stay as well.

My situation is pretty complicated, but I shall not bore you with further details.

I have been thinking a lot a lot a lot. Info from you, especially how to find the caveat via the app, had helped substantially, and I need to thank you for it. :s13:

1993newbie

Ahh I see. No worries bro. We are here to learn from each other.

Ohhh FYI URA caveat are updated every Tuesday & Friday before 5pm. 99.co will update 3-5 days later. Love all these free apps which is transparent esp for buyers alike.

My situation is pretty complicated, but I shall not bore you with further details.

I have been thinking a lot a lot a lot. Info from you, especially how to find the caveat via the app, had helped substantially, and I need to thank you for it. :s13:

NiShiZhu

Just curious, what’s the main reason that stops u from committing?
I did heard from u mentioning your wife may be considering not to continue to work and probably that’s the reason y u hold back?
However, from ur active participation here, not difficult to tell u did have the thought of buying a new home as well.

A lot of resale PC are now quite negotiable imo. Not necessary must commit to buy a new EC that was priced at 1100psf.
Not forgetting interest rate is getting lower.

NiShiZhu

Thanks for triggering my thinking process.
I share some of my concerns.

Main financial reasons:
(1) Wife considering not to work, and I fully support it. At best, will start a home based business.
(2) Kids expenditure.
(3) Current business income unstable, unsure how much will be affected by Covid-19 yet, although effects are minimal for now.
(4) Current dividends from equities, mostly bought in 2009~2011 era, while unstable, are able to pay for at least half of household expenses. This will be gone if I use it for property. As of now, my calculations for property usage have not included any from these yet. Because it's like throwing away income just for a new property.

Of course, it will be easier if the quantum is lower.

Why I am considering private instead of another bto:
Main reason is in laws are quite old. Need to take care of them. But they have 2 pte properties in SG, 3 more overseas, which will be passed down to wife's name when *touch wood* eventually happens.

Wanted to get a pte ppty before anything happens so that wife will have one more property without incurring ABSD. My belief is that ABSD is here to stay for good.

The general plan is to make use the 99%-1% ownership such that eventually, I will also transfer to under my wife's name, then get another unit for rental by then.

Why EC: Because the original plan in the past was buy HDB, sell and upgrade EC. My execution are usually quite calculated and researched, that's my disadvantage as I move slow. This round, I was really slow. Resale levy kicked in for ECs just 2 years before I reach MOP.

The new measures sort of threw me off, and upon reaching MOP, that's why I'm around doing more researching, and here in this forum as well due to Google search reaching here. PC are now factored into my plans.

In summary, I'm redrawing new plans now based on the "new normals".

If ur current income mainly comes from your business, then I would suggest u stay put.
On the other hand, If ur job belongs to those iron rice bowl/civil servant type, of coz this is the best time to look around.
Inherited properties from your wife’s parents to her will not incur ABSD. So it’s safe to say that if u buy a property with your wife, she can take 99% ownership while u took 1% ownership. In the event u save enough to buy one under your name, the ABSD incurred on you will be very minimal if u decoupled.

I don’t know your finance status but as a rule of thumb, I always encourage those who intend to buy property should have at least set aside an emergency fund that can last u for two years, in case touch wood, u lose ur job/business not doing well.

One thing I don’t quite understand is if your wife can inherit two properties in sg, 3 oversea properties from her parents, why do u need to buy another under your name to collect rental? The two sg properties plus 3 overseas properties inherited will be comfortable enough for her to collect rental (I assume all properties are already fully paid by her parents)

Another thing to note is as currently both u n wife are staying in hdb, once your wife inherit the property from her parents, u and her will need to sell off your hdb.

Correct me if I’m wrong.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.