OnePlus 12 series

SpicyBird

i think dont buy oneplus 12 yet... the oxygenos 14 latest version 830 still got alot problems and bugs although the spec are v v v good. but software is damn cui and updates is damn slow, imagine 6 months after launch still havent fixed all these basic bugs. it's really holding me back....

https://community.oneplus.com/thread/1647259710379786247

read the comments here, everyone say this is gonna be their last damn phone they buy from oneplus...

Since the software is so cui, even i wanna buy to use with custom ROM also not supported yet... damn sian... what a waste to have such a powerful and efficient snapdragon 8 gen 3 on this model...

Update:
https://xdaforums.com/t/app-switchi...-script-fix-for-technical-users-only.4685450/

There is an android developer on xda found out that the 2sec lag when switching between apps is because oneplus's developers added a hardcoded 1000ms delay to kinda avoid a race condition (concurrency issues). Damn, why would oneplus developer use hardcoded delay as a fix?? They newbie/fresh grad or what or dunno how to fix? He also mentioned that there are many hardcoded special cases for random apps. After oneplus tio swallowed by OPPO, their software team really going downhill sia...

MangoCAT

That's usually the con for china phone also as they usually compete on specification and pricing, which is why custom ROM are so popular for china brands years back (OS really horrible on my Mi9T and i use custom rom just for banking and singpass purposes).
Having tried Miui and HypeOS on my tablet - my expectation still okish for OxygenOS. It's more snappy

If you want a better software experience and update experience, the main players like apple and Samsung (S20 FE) are usually and really the best and have lesser bugs.
( I just tried the main bug on my OP12 - switching app scroll lag of 1sec - I guess it doesn't affect me as I click on emails from notification)

Most ppl bought the china version which is around 620 to 800 at most, which works equally well as global version cos singpass/banking/nfc/google all works out of box and not region locked (China sim inserted before flashing global rom on the china version).

I will say don't update unless there is a feature that you want in that update or for security purposes.

So yep, try the phone first (sneaky point is there is no scrolling freeze of max 1s if is their own apps so yep display unit also won't show the bug).

The main selling point is it's an all-rounder phone and i don't miss 25w charging at all
But yep cons are oneplus likes to
1. remove random features that works for them like the battery used to show Used since last charge and Screen on since last charge But they changed it to "since 24hours"
2. add in new features without having the toggle buttons, which is address in the next update. Possible to downgrade firmware but lazy
3. more idle battery drain i which is why i prefer not to update after i get a good SOT already

highsulphur

can't really complain for the price I paid ($690). After the last update to 830, I noticed some lag and hang but just need to close all apps and restart. I am not too fuss about it as long as it isn't a hard hang.

And of course that Spotify island shxt is annoying like hell

SpicyBird

can't really complain for the price I paid ($690). After the last update to 830, I noticed some lag and hang but just need to close all apps and restart. I am not too fuss about it as long as it isn't a hard hang.

And of course that Spotify island shxt is annoying like hell
not lagging/hang is the most basic to me for a flagshit device.

MangoCAT

what would you guys say the best version for oneplus 12? like without the most bugs?
8.02 was great for me. (my 8.02 sot was 9 to 12 hours and charging once every 1.5 to 1.75 days on 90/120hz 1440p )

I guess I am not a power or productvity user cos I literally did not notice there is this switching app freeze after using for 2 months plus. Maybe it's the 120hz

It's a oxygen os 14 issue as other phones also reported this issue. It's more of a delay as it does register my touch

I think OnePlus/oppo just don't care as much as nothing phone cos they also reported the same bug but was rectified in next update immediately

Liveable but I also rather that it's fixed given their OP12 sales figure

Yep got money is
buy pixel 8 pro or the upcoming pixel for the stock android smoothest experience and for gcam. But bottleneck is hardware
S24 ultra for overall experience
Xiaomi hypeos is still lolol. Prefer miui 14

lustjoseph

Guys I am plan to buy OnePlus 12 what is a good price y'all got it for I'm gonna wait next month for offer.... Looking at 16+512gb global by Sally thanks in advance

lustjoseph

I gotten mine at 16+1TB for $684 with vouchers from fusion0ne.then offset with coins is $680.49, But seller ask me to top up another $20 for the 1tb model due to wrong pricing. So final pricing will be $700

U got it alr? How was the experience if U had it alr

MangoCAT

For gaming, do disable the ram extension for stable fps performance in performance mode(Above certain temp but it's 12/16gb already). Most phone software don't utilise it that well yet

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.