OnePlus 12 series

lustjoseph

I was considering Pixel 8 pro for its big players 7 years software update but most people were saying the hardware doesn't support the software update that well.
From a user viewpoint,
This is more of a real real issue for the OP12 - the CPU does throttle when gaming when it hits a certain temp ard 37/38 in performance mode. Tho the teardown of the phone(Jerry YT) shows a damm big cooling system. S24U is around 41 to 44 according to most reviews.
For daily use and video, smooth as hell. It supports wifi 7 too
If the bug bother you alot, then just return it within 15 days. Think is no question ask policy for lazada and shopee

OP12 is probably quite popular as a flagship at a budget. Tons of new videos as most user hits the 6 month mark
Just that sg market for local release phones isn't priced competitively for china phone except for xiaomi (But they do water down some hardware at times)
And ya it's using supervooc protocol for fast charging so kinda hard to find a cheap fast charger
Wah if got bug rather buy other liao lucky I check forum first...

MangoCAT

Wah if got bug rather buy other liao lucky I check forum first...
Got alot of choices (Vivo,Honor) but am really satisfied with my OP12 le cos it's comparable to S24U performance and the software bug of 1s freeze when switching app if ppl nv tell me, i also won't know. (Very fixable)
Oneplus also announced that their software updates will be monthly in GSM instead of one big update

Flagship killer will be those from POCO series.
Tho xiaomi also is not known for software, their hardware spec are very competitive too. (UI is way useable compared to 4/5 years back where ppl need to install custom rom/use launcher)

I don't have experience with shopee return but my taobao return can return with the anti tampered seal pasted back.
From what i know, pre-ordered luxury is more likely the reason for shopee return to fail

vaxvms

Guys I am plan to buy OnePlus 12 what is a good price y'all got it for I'm gonna wait next month for offer.... Looking at 16+512gb global by Sally thanks in advance

<$650 should be good deal for 16+512

SpicyBird

Hopefully lol,I consider OnePlus but see so much bug abit hesitant
same, i just bought a pixel 8a for my dad and i think the pixel launcher kinda sucks.
1) no double tap to lock
2) enter pin must press "OK" to unlock lock screen
3) no 3 finger swipe to screenshot
4) cannot swap "Back" and "Recent apps" button on 3 button navigation

sibei jialat sia, the only reason i would wanna go pixel is i dont wanna give myself excuses to whine when shits/bugs happened. but this also mean the phone will be in its rawest form.

lustjoseph

same, i just bought a pixel 8a for my dad and i think the pixel launcher kinda sucks.
1) no double tap to lock

sibei jialat sia, the only reason i would wanna go pixel is i dont wanna give myself excuses to whine when shits/bugs happened. but this also mean the phone will be in its rawest form.
Wah shag seem like software wise still apple and Samsung better ....

MangoCAT

1) no double tap to lock

1) nova launcher can cos used to use it on my mi9t
2) there is the auto correct pin option as it's a android 14 feature(?) -> set a 6 pin then toggle on the option then set back to 4
3) workard is setting the quick tap to ss . Their gesture is different for pixel for screen ss. 3 finger swipe is for 2 or 3 brands only

It's the stock android so many things have to DIY

MangoCAT

Wah shag seem like software wise still apple and Samsung better ....
Samsung have bixby routines and apple have shortcut, which are really good and powerfull tools for automation. It's like a excel formula for the phone
and samsung dex is really good to use.
AI wise, these 2 are the leader in features already but the price is also very premium. Pixel started the usable AI features trend

lustjoseph

Samsung have bixby routines and apple have shortcut, which are really good and powerfull tools for automation. It's like a excel formula for the phone
AI wise, these 2 are the leader in features already but the price is also very premium. Pixel started the usable AI features trend
Yea lor that's why I'm looking at cheaper option like oneplus12,honor 200 but need see review first

MangoCAT

Yea lor that's why I'm looking at cheaper option like oneplus12,honor 200 but need see review first
I think cannot go wrong with any of the options cos the software isn't as bad as 5 years back. For android phone, is more of learning the different gestures/shortcuts/customisation from different brands. Like for OP12, can set animation speed to very fast without going to developer settings.
The only feature i want for OP12 is auto dim at night cos the screen at lowest brightness is still super bright. Too bad also no snapdragon sound+lossless tho it supports but LDAC and LHDC is good too
Gaming wise - S24U is a overclocked SDGen3 while OP12 doesn't overclock it. Also must take note if is SD gen 3 with a "s" or not. The "s" is not as powerful but very capable
No sales now too so if not in a rush can just wait for next sales. Don't think prices are dropping that much yet. For xiaomi phone, it drops alot more cos way too many model and series
Most impt is whether you wan a curved screen cos good screen protector hard to find and usually is uv glued for a tempered glass one, which one of the post here say very hard to remove

lustjoseph

I think cannot go wrong with any of the options cos the software isn't as bad as 5 years back. For android phone, is more of learning the different gestures/shortcuts/customisation from different brands. Like for OP12, can set animation speed to very fast without going to developer settings.
The only feature i want for OP12 is auto dim at night cos the screen at lowest brightness is still super bright. Too bad also no snapdragon sound+lossless tho it supports but LDAC and LHDC is good too
Gaming wise - S24U is a overclocked SDGen3 while OP12 doesn't overclock it
No sales now too so if not in a rush can just wait for next sales. Don't think prices are dropping that much yet. For xiaomi phone, it drops alot more cos way too many model and series
Oh I am using wired iem so Bluetooth codec not matter much to me tbh... Oh no auto dim uh... Yea I guess need wait ne

MangoCAT

Oh I am using wired iem so Bluetooth codec not matter much to me tbh... Oh no auto dim uh... Yea I guess need wait ne
The lowest brightness is too bright le so yep waiting for them to release the function to go even dimmer. But their adaptive brighness function is okish good
Using xenns top with bluetooth adpter so yep

MangoCAT

My Battery on 8.30 - For regular usage (WFH) with almost everything on except for 90 hz for less used apps
Whats-App-Image-2024-08-12-at-17-42-53-e9fda6d6.jpg

SpicyBird

haiz sometimes AI also not necessary a good thing, mean ur phone bloated, not clean and eat ur battery 😔

MangoCAT

Not bad the battery... Overall can U summarise the pros and cons from Ur experience if possible for the oneplus12...
Singpass Google banking apps work. The rest got tons of yt video from tech reviewers. Can look at one long term video and 1x camera video. Android police is nubbad

Can turn off AI in OnePlus 12 de but with a good battery, negligible. And yep it charges in 30 to 40min 100%

MangoCAT

haiz sometimes AI also not necessary a good thing, mean ur phone bloated, not clean and eat ur battery 😔
That's why good hardware impt too ma.
OnePlus not that bloated but they did not say AI is their strength tho slowly rolling out the services like call/video transcribe. Their AI eraser also not as polished

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.