OnePlus 8T

badboy83

I didn't bro because I wanted to keep the VOLTE.

Maybe you try wiping the cache partition of the phone, steps below. Watch out you don't wipe out the entire data. It may help resolve your problem hopefully.

Steps To Wipe cache partition
-----------------------------

1. Turn off your device.
2. Press and hold the Volume down and Power button at the same time.
When the OnePlus logo appears, release the Power button, but continue holding the Volume down button.
3. At the Password screen, enter the Password or PIN number that you use to unlock your device. When done, tap Ok.
4. Tap English.
5. Tap Wipe data and cache.
6. Tap Wipe cache.
7. Tap Yes to continue.
8. Tap Reboot to restart the phone.

Bro ,thanks for the advice ,actually I did this all before start use the phone last night (but is before update the OTA),don't know whether is the OTA cause this.will try again..

McKee14

Moby stocks are China (KB2000) sets flashed with India rom. So when you buy from them, it's good to go as they already flashed for you. I doubt if they will flash for you if you didn't buy from them though.
I previously checked with Moby on shopee, they mentioned their sets are global rom. So if i buy from them, do i need to ask them to help to flash it to India rom?

Sent from Google PIXEL 3 XL using GAGT

Aikon

I previously checked with Moby on shopee, they mentioned their sets are global rom. So if i buy from them, do i need to ask them to help to flash it to India rom?

Yes, you should clarify with them. Let them know that the retail shop sets were India rom (DA) . Perhaps they are different stocks.

Is there a reason you prefer the India rom?

McKee14

Yes, you should clarify with them. Let them know that the retail shop sets were India rom (DA) . Perhaps they are different stocks.

Is there a reason you prefer the India rom?
I'm actually preferring global rom :)

Wl319l

S20 Fe the screen issue not fixed yet? Somewhat on the fence (again) after reading the posts here. Hahahaha

mamboeidos

S20 Fe the screen issue not fixed yet? Somewhat on the fence (again) after reading the posts here. Hahahaha

Me too... Got a few phones on my list but all got some issue of their own.... Lol

Posted from PCWX using SM-N960F

KeYoKe

Me too... Got a few phones on my list but all got some issue of their own.... Lol

Safe exit from Oneplus 8T liao... and replaced it with S20 FE

There are some stuffs that i want to highlight on my experience on OP8T

1. Phone is a tad wider then s20fe, making 1 handed usage a bit more difficult for me. I come from Pixel 4a, and i love the form factor of it as i carry my son everyday, so 1 hand typing is something i use everyday. 8T is wide, like mi 10 ultra screen, i prefer slightly narrower and tall screen like what is on the s20fe

2. Cameras are better on S20FE, i think everyone knows this. S20FE pictures are more detailed

3. Haptics and vibrations are definitely better on 8T, S20FE vibration is still :s22:

4. Screen is brighter on 8T and auto brightness adjustments on 8T is better then S20FE

5. Camera cutout is intrusive on S20fe, but after using it for a day, i get passed it

6. I still cant get pass the point where there is still no VOLTE. Yes, first release of global rom can activate volte, but cannot software update as after update it is gone. I cant really accept that as A11 is the first release on OP8T, and it is buggy and definitely got issues need to be fixed especially on camera and heat management portion.

If the workaround using PDQ is still working as of now, i might not let go my 8T. So until Oppo Singapore works out with telco to get it working, I will hold my purchase of any Oneplus phones for now

7. Charging speed on 8T is insane, but i always slow charge. even on S20FE i disable fast charging as i usually do overnight charging

8. Oneplus removed oneplus dialler and messages app to replace with Google. Unsure of why the decision though, but i like the oneplus dialler previously

mamboeidos

1. Phone is a tad wider then s20fe, making 1 handed usage a bit more difficult for me. I come from Pixel 4a, and i love the form factor of it as i carry my son everyday, so 1 hand typing is something i use everyday. 8T is wide, like mi 10 ultra screen, i prefer slightly narrower and tall screen like what is on the s20fe

2. Cameras are better on S20FE, i think everyone knows this. S20FE pictures are more detailed

3. Haptics and vibrations are definitely better on 8T, S20FE vibration is still
:s22:

4. Screen is brighter on 8T and auto brightness adjustments on 8T is better then S20FE

5. Camera cutout is intrusive on S20fe, but after using it for a day, i get passed it

6. I still cant get pass the point where there is still no VOLTE. Yes, first release of global rom can activate volte, but cannot software update as after update it is gone. I cant really accept that as A11 is the first release on OP8T, and it is buggy and definitely got issues need to be fixed especially on camera and heat management portion.

If the workaround using PDQ is still working as of now, i might not let go my 8T. So until Oppo Singapore works out with telco to get it working, I will hold my purchase of any Oneplus phones for now

7. Charging speed on 8T is insane, but i always slow charge. even on S20FE i disable fast charging as i usually do overnight charging

8. Oneplus removed oneplus dialler and messages app to replace with Google. Unsure of why the decision though, but i like the oneplus dialler previously

So fast change phone liao? Ur 20fe never have any touchscreen issue?

U like narrow phone maybe can try sony... The grip is nice

Loser

Nice experience report. But one thing to note is the s20 fe and 8t actually same width. :s22:

hv13PnG.jpg

KeYoKe

So fast change phone liao? Ur 20fe never have any touchscreen issue?

U like narrow phone maybe can try sony... The grip is nice

hahaha ya. i bueh tahan no volte

for me, touchscreen issue is simple, as long as dont hinder day to day typing im fine. i dont game on my phone but some feedback during gaming also ok now after the latest ATJ5 firmware

so far, day to day usage is fine with no hiccups. I tested a few demo sets, 5-6 of them. i even update to latest firmware in store for them :s13: and i can say using the touchscreen test app to test, all of them got such issue, and i also experience serious issue typing (lots of typos) which i dont experience on my current set.

but i also test my set personally using the app, still got the ghost touch. but for me as long as doesnt affect my typing i am fine with it la :s13:

sorry i dont like sony. I siam far far since xperia 1 liao. Buggy software, point and shoot capability of the camera is :s22: as i have no knowledge using pro mode, resale value is like sh*t

KeYoKe

Nice experience report. But one thing to note is the s20 fe and 8t actually same width. :s22:

hv13PnG.jpg

i might be due to the screen size border and stuffs bro. so the 8t screen is a bit "fatter" than the S20FE. and it is about 1mm, yes not alot, but it makes a difference in handling especially when in your hand and if you are carrying a 11kg toddler that keeps moving like a crocodile

and the comfortability of the phone in your hand, is based on the phone size and also your hand size. phone size u can change, but hand size is something u cant change. 1mm is big enough for u to grip a phone firmly with 1 hand or not

maybe i come from pixel 4a, so i am more sensitive :s13:

i brought my 8T to SES to compare before selling it off :s13:

Wl319l

3. Haptics and vibrations are definitely better on 8T, S20FE vibration is still :s22:

Ah that's a nice comparison. The last thing I want is to flash stuffs here and there as I don't have a pc at home. What about the price point? 8t export seems much cheaper than s20 fe

KeYoKe

Ah that's a nice comparison. The last thing I want is to flash stuffs here and there as I don't have a pc at home. What about the price point? 8t export seems much cheaper than s20 fe

Give and take ba...

I lazy to flash here and there, tweak here and there liao. and even if PDQ is working, every OTA need to redo the volte hack. Ma fan. just prefer something that works out of the box

8T export can get from 76x to 80x, i got mine at 80x. now S20FE 5G is about 1098 for 256gb, that is about 300 more exp. Depending on how u value OneUI, better cameras, and the simplicity of using the phone out of the box lor without needing to flash here and there, tweak here and there and of course official local 1 year warranty

For me personally, if i am to compare local set OP8T and S20FE, i definitely goes with Samsung no questions asked

Wl319l

Give and take ba...

I lazy to flash here and there, tweak here and there liao. and even if PDQ is working, every OTA need to redo the volte hack. Ma fan. just prefer something that works out of the box

8T export can get from 76x to 80x, i got mine at 80x. now S20FE 5G is about 1098 for 256gb, that is about 300 more exp. Depending on how u value OneUI, better cameras, and the simplicity of using the phone out of the box lor without needing to flash here and there, tweak here and there and of course official local 1 year warranty

For me personally, if i am to compare local set OP8T and S20FE, i definitely goes with Samsung no questions asked

Yeah. Makes sense, local set wise S20 fe is the clear winner. So you're saying unless oppo sg rolls out a volte support in the near future, we've got to tweak here tweak there for volte support?

Where would you suggest for purchase of s20 fe? Lazada official store going for 998 now

Edit: I've heard from my friend that Samsung trade in price is kinda competitive also. Hmmm..

KeYoKe

Yeah. Makes sense, local set wise S20 fe is the clear winner. So you're saying unless oppo sg rolls out a volte support in the near future, we've got to tweak here tweak there for volte support?

Edit: I've heard from my friend that Samsung trade in price is kinda competitive also. Hmmm..

if oppo sg rolls out volte support locally, nope u dont have to tweak it bro. but for now it doesnt. and when i purchase a tech product, i usually come from a POV where i buy it as it is right now. I dont care any promises they made from future software updates.

Even for my s20fe, i have no hopes for the touchscreen issue to be fully resolved so u have to manage your expectations correctly and weigh out properly if you have overlook those cons of the phone before buying it. most importantly is u dont regret after buying

if u mean samsung trade up? dont bother, sell at carousell u will get a higher price. the trade up partner will nitpick the condition of your phone and lowball u thereafter

Wl319l

if oppo sg rolls out volte support locally, nope u dont have to tweak it bro. but for now it doesnt. and when i purchase a tech product, i usually come from a POV where i buy it as it is right now. I dont care any promises they made from future software updates.

Even for my s20fe, i have no hopes for the touchscreen issue to be fully resolved so u have to manage your expectations correctly and weigh out properly if you have overlook those cons of the phone before buying it. most importantly is u dont regret after buying

if u mean samsung trade up? dont bother, sell at carousell u will get a higher price. the trade up partner will nitpick the condition of your phone and lowball u thereafter

Ah okay. Interesting, I think my friend was comparing with buyback from mobilesquare or something and noticed that the trade up price is much better for his note 10+.

Alright then, I'll wait for 11.11 and check out lazada. Thanks a lot bro

Aikon

Where would you suggest for purchase of s20 fe? Lazada official store going for 998 now

I think Oppo should not have a problem with adding volte support as it already has it on the original Global edition firmware. So I'm hopeful as I'm on VOLTE now.

The call recorder is also out of the box as I didn't have to add anything.

KeYoKe

Ah okay. Interesting, I think my friend was comparing with buyback from mobilesquare or something and noticed that the trade up price is much better for his note 10+.

Alright then, I'll wait for 11.11 and check out lazada. Thanks a lot bro

no worries. just sharing how i feel. nevertheless 8T is a good phone. i like the screen alot honestly speaking and the price point of local set is just too attractive

KeYoKe

got 998? i dont see any 998 for lazada though. but i got from SES just to ensure i got a good set without much touchscreen issue

Wl319l

got 998? i dont see any 998 for lazada though. but i got from SES just to ensure i got a good set without much touchscreen issue

Samsung official store on lazada leh.

This one different from ses ah? Got what difference ah?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.