Only 32,000 take home less than WP's proposed $1,300 minimum wage

muddywaters

If costs are so easily passed on to consumers then why would businesses even care about operational costs?

Lack of commonsense

Are you an employee or boss ?

Employee mindset trying decipher what bosses are thinking ? Lmao

When you are a boss of your own SME, you know what I'm talking .

Lol

saycheese

if apply min wage mean all your maids also must pay 1300
so those with 1 or even 2 maids happy boh?

Schnitzel

Errrr.... The bosses will just pass on the costs to consumers. They will not bear the increase in wages.

So frankly bosses don't really care you want minimum wage or not. They will simply pass it on, maybe even slap on more margins, using the excuse that "oh now there's minimum wage so our costs increased hence price increases"...

Bosses are happy to have nonsense policies like minimum wage or increase in this fees and that fees, because now got legit excuses to increases prices AND margins :D

That's true, but the point I was making is that businesses will continue to operate, perhaps even generating more income based as you mentioned.

The minimum wage model will definitely not destroy the economy but may help to improve the lives of the 32k earning below 1.3k.

muddywaters

Yet you are actually fighting against min wage. Sorry I have wronged you previously :s13:

Are you secretly WP MP?

As a boss of SME I frankly don't care whether there is min wage or not because (1) none of the people I hire are paid lower than $1300 anyway . (2) even if minimum wage goes up to $3000, I will simply pass it on. Or find other ways. But I will not bear it. Lol

So am I in support of WP or PAP over this min wage thing ? Frankly I couldn't care less as a SME owner for reasons stated above. :s13:

But generally I always believe that if you want more money, go find your own ways to make that. But don't expect free handout.

sickoflife

Are you an employee or boss ?

Employee mindset trying decipher what bosses are thinking ? Lmao

When you are a boss of your own SME, you know what I'm talking .

Lol

Sure sure. SME boss got unbridled power to set prices. No need to obey smlj market logic.

Heck we should really thank breadtalk or swee heng for not selling their bread at $10 a piece. I would have gladly bought it from them at that price because I’ll starve to death if I don’t pay up

Apex01

Hais, why this topic again. Prease rah, stop touting helping the poor.

Don't need go so deep into reading Stanford or Harvard studies. Just go understand the history of minimum wage since 1930s and it's real purpose of implementation, which is to discriminate coloured minorities. Then go see purchasing power of minimum wage against inflation since then. And also, don't come bluff people no impact on unemployment hiding behind big data, the impact is specifically on lower skilled and youth unemployment. This is supported by real data before and after 1930s for blacks and minorities youth.

Takes you 30 mins to go see all these and then stop being make use of by WP being a moral police. Let the poor accumulate capital, give real help for certain stagnant sector.

I know it feels song to see gov implement a number then feel the poor is saved, moral obligation fulfilled. Oh feel so song. But look at reality la, this law was passed in history with malicious intent and then on used as a political tool. That's why Wp is a real shxt party which talkss a lot of half truths

You sound like clever person :s8:

1) pls teach us why MW has "malicious intent"? And how it is harmful to minorities, majorities and to the economy. Pls quote ur sources.

2) pls teach why countries with MW want to to implement and what are the reasons?

Sinkie

if apply min wage mean all your maids also must pay 1300
so those with 1 or even 2 maids happy boh?

Maid can remain low since it will affect bbfa but bangla construction worker can up their pay to $1300

cutekawaii

You pay cleaners $1,300 per month?

As a boss of SME I frankly don't care whether there is min wage or not because (1) none of the people I hire are paid lower than $1300 anyway . (2) even if minimum wage goes up to $3000, I will simply pass it on. Or find other ways. But I will not bear it. Lol

So am I in support of WP or PAP over this min wage thing ? Frankly I couldn't care less as a SME owner for reasons stated above. :s13:

NTB2DO

Hais....why keep harping on this. Implementing minimum wage, sinkiekand won't die. Nor will there be massive inflation, product cost will increase but not significant based on studies.

The undesirable results will be for definite : increase in youth unemployment, increase in unemployment for disabled/lowly educated/skilled workers.

The cost increases will also be passed not only on consumers but increase/decrease in working hours for workers on minimum wage. It will also push for automation and reduce headcounts. In the scenario of a blanket minimum wage,If there is a slow catch up of set minimum wages against inflation, the poor got lower purchasing power. If wage set too high against market demand, you see lesser poor people hired.

Tolong you all la, don't need you to understand the poor, please go review and kaobei gaps in PAP social safety nets, like the recent single mum finally can apply HDB. Understand reality and facts can Liao. Mai cause more problem for the poor.

I know it feels song to be moral police and WP fanboy. Don't be made use of as a political mouth piece, either for WP or PAP. MW has been implemented in many countries,see the data and actual feedback from workers on minimum wage.

PWM has a certification process in addition to the wage increase, this enables a barrier of entry, preventing wage depression, it is more flexible and easier to manage than a blanket mw across all industries.

I understand that WP is also for PWM. They are just fighting for the existing 32k who were left out.

Perhaps it would be good if govt can explain why there are 32k still earning below $1300, what industries they work in, why PWM has yet to cover the sectors these 32k work in.

JAson1980

About 32,000 workers in Singapore take home less than the Workers' Party's (WP) proposed minimum wage of $1,300, NTUC deputy secretary-general Koh Poh Koon told the House. This drew a response from WP MPs, who said its introduction should then not hurt businesses or workers

LOL Anal doctor kenna cornered. :s13:

cutekawaii

Pay cleaners $4,000 a month. Some PMETs will quit their jobs for these stress-free jobs. They will make sure the tables are polished until can see their faces. Serve the customers with a smile and even converse in multiple linguistics.

If u really wants to help, pay them $4,000 or more lah...

Konnichiwa

Pay cleaners $4,000 a month. Some PMETs will quit their jobs for these stress-free jobs. They will make sure the tables are polished until can see their faces. Serve the customers with a smile and even converse in multiple linguistics.

Aiyah make it $15,000 per month lah...
can solve problem... medical fees also can pay...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.