Only 32,000 take home less than WP's proposed $1,300 minimum wage

NTB2DO

You all want to increase this increase that , don't later kpkb why prices of things increase hor...

Just have to keep in mind ultimately some one will have to pay for it , and it won't be the bosses.

If you are fine with it, then sure, by all means, go for min wage.
:s12:

We already have min wages.. Just that it's not universal. KPK said their PWM already lifted wages of 80k workers in low wage sectors. For reason he didn't explain, there are still 32k low wage workers being left out.

xdivider

Yes! Precisly! The issue is not implementing a blanket wage to lift the poor. Is to identify stagnant sectors needing barriers of entry to prevent wage depression, cause these are usually manual and low skill jobs. And also increase skills set via certification so earlier employed expericed batch of workers - sinkies in general can justify a wage increase thru their experience.

The real help is : controlling inflation, ensuring real wage increase either thru productivity, quality education for their children. Let the poor accumulate capital and savings.

Target the help at really those unable to help themselves. There are many factors causing the poor or low income / lifestyle choices, unlucky, disability, disfunctional families etc. MW Does not solve these problems, instead creating extra costs and even if unskilled workers wan to accept a lower pay/part time to earn some cash, they cannot be justified for the pay.

inflation is already out of their control. they took out the 2 biggest contributors to inflation, i.e. property and cars from the calculations. if we add those in, the actual inflation figures should be 2x. as for qualified education, have you notice they are more willing to spend it on scholarships on foreigners than on poor sinkies. some vestiges of ah gong's grad mom mentality is still there. why i actually like MW is precisely bcos the methods of boosting GDP govt is using is eroding real income for the poor and MW is a way of transferring some of the biz people's profit to the poor. To tell them to kill their old-fashioned golden goose is unthinkable esp when a number of the mps are the ones benefiting from lowballing workers....

pureice

You sound like clever person :s8:

1) pls teach us why MW has "malicious intent"? And how it is harmful to minorities, majorities and to the economy. Pls quote ur sources.

2) pls teach why countries with MW want to to implement and what are the reasons?

I am not clever, just a normal average sinkie. To be frank, I found it very interesting and went to read up more.

The first draft of the mw wage law in US explicitly states its purpose is to discriminate minorities.

Nothing to teach, but really most of the time is unions that wan mw and leftist politicians, cause it give them votes and power.

Confession.pt3

pwm.png

Mecisteus

Why are EDMW so hard up about this minimum income?

I bet 99% of you don't fall into this category.

If you are really sincere of helping, just give your help directly to the needies.

tokiya

So what is your argument? Appeal to history? Lolol

I am not clever, just a normal average sinkie. To be frank, I found it very interesting and went to read up more.

The first draft of the mw wage law in US explicitly states its purpose is to discriminate minorities.

Nothing to teach, but really most of the time is unions that wan mw and leftist politicians, cause it give them votes and power.

pureice

inflation is already out of their control. they took out the 2 biggest contributors to inflation, i.e. property and cars from the calculations. if we add those in, the actual inflation figures should be 2x. as for qualified education, have you notice they are more willing to spend it on scholarships on foreigners than on poor sinkies. some vestiges of ah gong's grad mom mentality is still there. why i actually like MW is precisely bcos the methods of boosting GDP govt is using is eroding real income for the poor and MW is a way of transferring some of the biz people's profit to the poor. To tell them to kill their old-fashioned golden goose is unthinkable esp when a number of the mps are the benefiting from lowballing workers....

But cannot be wad....the bottom 20 percent wage growth is higher than the median income growth wad...GDP is the way to go, only when we have money then you can implement sustainable social safety policies, without extra burdening the taxable population...

We are Singapore, a country with no natural resources, almost everything is imported...there are really aspects to prioritize. This is a fact to stay.

Workers are not lowball...is really a misconception. The market works where informed people choose and select their job, go for interview and sign. If there is discrimination, forced labour, there are areas of law to address. Like I mention...the matters are really complex and not so simple as raising wage artificially. When motor cars come out, horse drawn carriage workers are left behind.. what do they do ? All society has poor and disadvantaged...the best option is to make decision where you have money ( ie. GDP).

muddywaters

If you are really sincere of helping, just give your help directly to the needies.
Agree.

Frankly I personally don't care whether there is or no min wage.

But for those who die hard support min wage. Just keep in mind ultimately some one has to pay for this, and it won't be the bosses. It would be everybody.

If you all are happy with that when it comes, then that's fine, you got what you asked for.

:D

xdivider

But cannot be wad....the bottom 20 percent wage growth is higher than the median income growth wad...GDP is the way to go, only when we have money then you can implement sustainable social safety policies, without extra burdening the taxable population...

We are Singapore, a country with no natural resources, almost everything is imported...there are really aspects to prioritize. This is a fact to stay.

Workers are not lowball...is really a misconception. The market works where informed people choose and select their job, go for interview and sign. If there is discrimination, forced labour, there are areas of law to address. Like I mention...the matters are really complex and not so simple as raising wage artificially. When motor cars come out, horse drawn carriage workers are left behind.. what do they do ? All society has poor and disadvantaged...the best option is to make decision where you have money ( ie. GDP).

gross wage growth versus adjusted real income (if u factor the real inflation rate and not the massaged one). they are free not to do anything abt it and continue on the current path. frankly im perfectly ok if they continue doing this bcos gauging by the response last election, this is only going to generate more negative votes for them from their MG/PG population. either way its a headache for them not me. I want wp to keep stirring this so those folks actually bother to go to their mp and give him more work. the sight of them sleeping in parliament on my taxes rankles me.......

NTB2DO

Yes! Precisly! The issue is not implementing a blanket wage to lift the poor. Is to identify stagnant sectors needing barriers of entry to prevent wage depression, cause these are usually manual and low skill jobs. And also increase skills set via certification so earlier employed expericed batch of workers - sinkies in general can justify a wage increase thru their experience.

The real help is : controlling inflation, ensuring real wage increase either thru productivity, quality education for their children. Let the poor accumulate capital and savings.

Target the help at really those unable to help themselves. There are many factors causing the poor or low income / lifestyle choices, unlucky, disability, disfunctional families etc. MW Does not solve these problems, instead creating extra costs and even if unskilled workers wan to accept a lower pay/part time to earn some cash, they cannot be justified for the pay.

I do agree with your suggestions. But I also think it's good to have a universal min wage to cover those left behind (not covered by PWM). This is mainly to prevent unscrupulous employers from underpaying their workers: There'll be individuals who are so desperate for jobs that they are willing to accept any pay. And there'll be employers who take advantage of it and underpay such workers.

MrFish

The fact is that there are many countries in the world that have inplemented MW, and there are positive examples that Singapore can emulate and improve on, if it wanted to.

'If it wanted to" is the key phrase.

We cant say just because US did it with malicious intent in the past, MW is automatically bad.

To say that this is a vote buying exercise is also pandering to the hardcore pap supporters. 32,000 votes from lowest income folks concentrated in a few estates. How does that win you elections? It doesnt.

For the 32k folks, you cant just tell them to upgrade and work harder and they will lift themselves out of poverty. In most cases, they simply cant. It may be because of foreign workers pushing their wages down, or due to the nature of their jobs (how much upgrading can a toilet cleaner or security guard genuinely do to improve productivity in the job?). Many are already working long hours.

Konnichiwa

gross wage growth versus adjusted real income (if u factor the real inflation rate and not the massaged one). they are free not to do anything abt it and continue on the current path. frankly im perfectly ok if they continue doing this bcos gauging by the response last election, this is only going to generate more negative votes for them from their MG/PG population. either way its a headache for them not me. I want wp to keep stirring this so those folks actually bother to go to their mp and give him more work. the sight of them sleeping in parliament on my taxes rankles me.......

U never think why they are sleeping in parliament?
Playing Dota2 the previous night?

NTB2DO

I think it's about being compassionate. That it doesn't affect us (but other fellow citizens of ours) doesn't mean we should just brush it aside.

It's about the kind of society we would like to have in our country.

cutekawaii

We already have min wages.. Just that it's not universal. KPK said their PWM already lifted wages of 80k workers in low wage sectors. For reason he didn't explain, there are still 32k low wage workers being left out.

32k, not a small number.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.