Opening Malaysian bank account

Habrosus

Got my account-dormant letter as well. Strange that it's dated 20 Dec 2020, date-stamped 22 Dec 2020, but just received the other day. :s8:

Anyway, I just checked my account with the app and there's no RM10 charge. Although with the borders closed, I'd made a few transactions in YR2020 like transferring from my Sing$ account and reloading my MY prepaid mobile accounts. :)

choqolat

Hi guys. Anyone faced issues when trying to activate a dormant account? Cos of MCO/** can't use my acc as before hence bank made my acc dormant.

cosmic

29 July 2021 Update on Opening CIMB Malaysia Savings Account

1. Apply for CIMB Star Savers Account via Clicks or Online

2. Minimum funding is SGD1K but apparently you can withdraw and still keep account (??)

3. Request meeting with CIMB @ Raffles Place for them to forward documents to CIMB Malaysia since we can't cross border.

4. Earliest appointment is in Dec 2021 and CIMB Malaysia will need anther 4 to 6 weeks after receipt of documents

5. Does sound like a very lengthy process but looking at daily Covid cases in Malaysia, the earliest we can cross the border will likely be Q2, 2022 anyway so no real impact.

Habrosus

Can a Singaporean open a CIMB Malaysia Account in Singapore?
What we did pre-Covid was to open a CIMB Singapore account with the required minimum deposit. (I went to the then-Orchard branch.) Then get them to help submit documents to open CIMB Malaysia account.

The SG account amount can be withdrawn, but I do keep a balance for me to transfer to my MY account whenever necessary. Malaysian side will courier a debit card over when the account is approved.

Habrosus

On a side note... I tried to use the debit card to pay for stuff but apparently, we need to go to the Malaysian branch to apply for online usage...?

Has anyone done this?

Shawny88

What we did pre-Covid was to open a CIMB Singapore account with the required minimum deposit. (I went to the then-Orchard branch.) Then get them to help submit documents to open CIMB Malaysia account.

The SG account amount can be withdrawn, but I do keep a balance for me to transfer to my MY account whenever necessary. Malaysian side will courier a debit card over when the account is approved.
Thanks! Is there a fee if I want to fund transfer from my CIMB Malaysia account to singapore account?

cosmic

29 July 2021 Update on Opening CIMB Malaysia Savings Account

1. Apply for CIMB Star Savers Account via Clicks or Online

2. Minimum funding is SGD1K but apparently you can withdraw and still keep account (??)

3. Request meeting with CIMB @ Raffles Place for them to forward documents to CIMB Malaysia since we can't cross border.

4. Earliest appointment is in Dec 2021 and CIMB Malaysia will need anther 4 to 6 weeks after receipt of documents

5. Does sound like a very lengthy process but looking at daily Covid cases in Malaysia, the earliest we can cross the border will likely be Q2, 2022 anyway so no real impact.

Update :

1. CIMB called to offer an earlier appointment slot last week

2. Went down to CIMB office @ Raffle Place and a staff helped to complete the forms within 20 mins and made copies of Passport & NRIC

3. CIMB will be opening an "AirAsia Savers Account" for me. It comes with a Debit card and online services and this is all I require

4. I looked through the Online FAQ and only point that stood out was a RM 15 annual fee for Debit Card.

5. Will now need to wait 4 to 6 weeks for CIMB Malaysia to send the Debit Card to my home. Just in time for the eventual re-opening.

All in all, other than the waiting time, I would say its quite easy for Singaporeans to open a Malaysian account with ATM card and online support.

Documenting all these as reference for others who may be keen to apply similar.

harky

one yr later.. they send me dormant letter again lor hehe

i donate some $$ to spca.. hope it work lor

ST9611

Just got letter from climb my to close my account as passport expired. If I let it closes itself will the bank still charge me any fee? Cos may consider reopen next time.

GenerationX

On a side note... I tried to use the debit card to pay for stuff but apparently, we need to go to the Malaysian branch to apply for online usage...?

Has anyone done this?
how to buy thing n pay in rm? so far i only pay for my prepaid card. my prepaid card now got many money liao. cos i duno how to use bank ACC if dun topup prepaid...

Maserati

Has anyone done this?
You are referring to CIMB right?
I applied quite a few years back.
If I am not wrong need to activate the card by calling a number stated in the letter which came with the card

Habrosus

You are referring to CIMB right?
I applied quite a few years back.
If I am not wrong need to activate the card by calling a number stated in the letter which came with the card
Yes, CIMB. I called them pre-Covid over another matter and it took a long time to go through the verification, etc. That's when I was in JB so I used my Digi line to call. Thanks, not in a hurry so I'll wait until later. :)

vddgnd

Just got letter from climb my to close my account as passport expired. If I let it closes itself will the bank still charge me any fee? Cos may consider reopen next time.
Hi! Is it must open account with Sg passport? Is it possible to open with Sg NRIC, so that no need to update ID due to passport expire.

MrRacer

Not possible, need to open with passport number. Now new passport 10 years already.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.