Opening Malaysian bank account

Habrosus

first letter was dated Oct 1. Second letter was Oct. 15 and I received it yesterday. My passport expired Oct. 31. The first letter said I need to update before Oct. 31. Then suddenly a new letter says they didn't hear from me. Acutally, I went down to the branch in Raffles Place. They can do it but no gurantee and advice me to go down personally in Malaysia. I was planning to do it tomorrow and then the termination letter came.
Should have gone directly to JB branch in Taman Pelangi, coz for SG branch to forward your request would have delayed the whole process.

Just go over tomorrow as planned. Bring along the letter, your old and new passports, NRIC (just in case), and another card that's a photo on it like a driving license in case they ask for that as well.

harry.sg

When I call CIMB MY hotline to active ATM card, their phone system no reaction when I key in option number. I can see from dailpad the number I pressed has shown. They keep waiting for my input ...

Anyone encountered this issue before?

I have tried to switch to another dailer (android), switch to another phone (iphone), even change sim card to try out. Everytime the same result.

cryn79

Visit their JB branch with your passport. They may also ask for NRIC and another photo ID like driving license or other card with your name.

New card will be issued on the spot.
Hi Habrosus,

My ATM card is expiring in Jan'25.

Can I check did you went to the below branch nearest to City square to update yr passport details / get replacement expired ATM card?
Thanks!

Details:
Bangunan UMNO Johor Bahru
Address: Tingkat Bawah Bangunan UMNO, 51, Jalan Segget, Peti Surat 47, 80000 Johor Bharu, Johor

Habrosus

Hi Habrosus,

My ATM card is expiring in Jan'25.

Can I check did you went to the below branch nearest to City square to update yr passport details / get replacement expired ATM card?
Thanks!

Details:
Bangunan UMNO Johor Bahru
Address: Tingkat Bawah Bangunan UMNO, 51, Jalan Segget, Peti Surat 47, 80000 Johor Bharu, Johor
No, I've never gone to that branch, though someone else here did, I think earlier this year.

I've gone to the one in Jalan Kuning Taman Pelangi, and at Mosaic@Southkey near Mid Valley.

cryn79

No, I've never gone to that branch, though someone else here did, I think earlier this year.

I've gone to the one in Jalan Kuning Taman Pelangi, and at Mosaic@Southkey near Mid Valley.
Hi bro,
Thanks for the update. Next mth, I will give tht branch a try and update in this forum, to see can Singaporeans do their bank related transactions at tht branch.

OKCANN

75, Jalan Kuning 2, Taman Pelangi, 80400 Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia

This branch ask for Singapore company letter, bank statement if not cannot register. Only OCBC at city square can just with passport and IC

potato13

Last night than i remember i asked so much but yet setup.. LOL..
Than finally i did the CIMB online setup of a Singapore account.

setup a CIMB FastSaver Account
So after i transfer 1K SGD into the account. How long do i need to wait before the account will be ready?

Than i also Ask EVA (at the bottom right of the page) to schedule for an appointment for a CIMB Malaysia Account. Think the date they give was 28 dec sat. 1130am.

I tried setup the CIMB Clicks, but cant, guess i have to wait til the account is ready?

Habrosus

So after i transfer 1K SGD into the account. How long do i need to wait before the account will be ready?

Than i also Ask EVA (at the bottom right of the page) to schedule for an appointment for a CIMB Malaysia Account. Think the date they give was 28 dec sat. 1130am.

I tried setup the CIMB Clicks, but cant, guess i have to wait til the account is ready?
Call CIMB SG to check? I've not done online, only in person at the old Orchard branch. Subsequent application/query at Raffles Place though better to head for Jalan Kuning if it's regarding MY account.

potato13

Just received SMS that my Msia account has been linked. So 3 working days indeed. Time to transfer 500RM and activate the MY account.

So there is no need for you to personally go to Johor CIMB branch to verify etc etc?

Currently in CIMB Jalan Kuning Dua branch, you need to provide payslip and bank statement showing salary credit on top of just bringing Passport and NRIC.

Bro, why you need to go down JB CIMB Branch?

:LOL: Messy me..
Anyway i still yet received email of my CIMB SG account verified yet.

commandowolf

Not so fast, online application for SG account up to 7 days. After that then u can setup CIMB Clicks SG.

commandowolf

So there is no need for you to personally go to Johor CIMB branch to verify etc etc?
No need. After you have SG account, created CIMB Clicks SG, go down to the CIMB bank to apply for Malaysia account. Wait 1-2 weeks for them to courier the card to your doorstep.

Then see my other posts
Courier delivered the letter and debit card yesterday. Last friday my appointment, 1 week arrive liao.

Have to IDD call their hotline to change the debit card PIN, took me less than 2 minutes call, all automated.

Then i link my malaysia account in my Singapore account, they say 3-5 working days, see how long it takes.

After that i also do the CIMB CLICKS MY account setup and login on the phone app, 12 hour cooldown period begin.

Now wait for account to link, then transfer over RM500 to activate account

Just received SMS that my Msia account has been linked. So 3 working days indeed. Time to transfer 500RM and activate the MY account.

potato13

No need. After you have SG account, created CIMB Clicks SG, go down to the CIMB bank to apply for Malaysia account. Wait 1-2 weeks for them to courier the card to your doorstep.

Then see my other posts
Nice.. Thanks man.. haha.. Now is wait liao..

ZacharyA

Bro, why you need to go down JB CIMB Branch?

:LOL: Messy me..
Anyway i still yet received email of my CIMB SG account verified yet.

You can to open on the spot and fund it immediately (either cash deposit, or transfer via Revolut / Wise / TnG DuitNow).

Go via SG you need to schedule an appointment with CIMB SG which is 3-4 weeks from today's date, excluding extra time for processing. Hassle.

ZacharyA

I already linked both CIMB SG and MY. I can use the local Clicks app to access and view both balances, and easy transfer SGD to MYR, close to spot rate, immediate aka FAST.

Can withdraw money from ATMs. Shiok

potato13

You can to open on the spot and fund it immediately (either cash deposit, or transfer via Revolut / Wise / TnG DuitNow).

Go via SG you need to schedule an appointment with CIMB SG which is 3-4 weeks from today's date, excluding extra time for processing. Hassle.

Oh.. okok.. so basically you mean once open SG account..
JUst walk in any CIMB johor branch and tell them you wanna open a saving account..

Than you link up the SG and MY account via click..

So its either SG route = wait Or directly go JB CIMB branch so that can be immediately.

Any document needed if walk in to JB CIMB Branch?

Uramasa

Then see my other posts
what kind of documents that I need to bring during the visit to the SG CIMB branch to open MY CIMB account?
the email state only original NRIC + passport? would that be all?

Habrosus

what kind of documents that I need to bring during the visit to the SG CIMB branch to open MY CIMB account?
the email state only original NRIC + passport? would that be all?
From experience I'd also bring along a photo ID card like driving license or even a debit credit card with own name on it.

ZacharyA

Oh.. okok.. so basically you mean once open SG account..
JUst walk in any CIMB johor branch and tell them you wanna open a saving account..

Than you link up the SG and MY account via click..

So its either SG route = wait Or directly go JB CIMB branch so that can be immediately.

Any document needed if walk in to JB CIMB Branch?

Yes. You can do it on the spot once CIMB Singapore A/C is opened.

You need to follow some steps to enable "2FA" to your SG mobile number first before you can have access to CIMB MY internet banking and link it to your CIMB SG Clicks app.

You need payslip, bank statement showing credit of salary as supporting document. Bring NRIC+ Passport.

potato13

Yes. You can do it on the spot once CIMB Singapore A/C is opened.

You need to follow some steps to enable "2FA" to your SG mobile number first before you can have access to CIMB MY internet banking and link it to your CIMB SG Clicks app.

You need payslip, bank statement showing credit of salary as supporting document. Bring NRIC+ Passport.

I suppose Payslip and Bank statement i can bring digital copy hor..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.