PAP underestimated Dr Chee?

nyvrem

Ib use dirt is expected. They follow their masters huan.

tuxguy

I dunno leh.

Right now there may be many people attending his rallies

But will this translate to votes?

My opinion is it is a high hill for him to climb and he will ultimately falter

the special thing is i think he chose his ground well.

the demographics for HBT is vastly different from your usual heartlands

the ppl in the area dont get any handouts from gov, they dont need hawker centres and swimming pool near their residence

so think about it, what would attract their votes? emotions, feelings to help, compassion which i think is what csj trying to do to get votes

havetheveryfun

i share a different perspective.. and a bold one i would say.

what if.. LHL already planned this right from the start? we all know that no one in the current MIW is able to take over LHL as prime minister (someone whom majority of the ppl would at least agree on) except for maybe Tharman, but Tharman has already subtlety rejected the notion..

so LHL is thinking to get the next PM from another party instead, but he cant just do it openly or sure got internal fight or internal struggle within the white party itself.

LHL could have easily not reduced the fine he imposed on CSJ previously and CSJ would probably still have been bankrupt and still unable to compete this election.. but he reduced the fine by a substantial amount and allowed CSJ to clear bankruptcy.

well its probably a very idealistic notion but anything is possible

Soracak

you compare CSJ with HHH?
Just a simple but major difference is HHH can only talk about CPF full stop.

Looks like PAP IB really running out of bullets...

Casdog got a crush on hhh lah. Suddenly from csj talk about hhh.

And check the words he used. Keep calm, explode, press the right buttons etc...

tuxguy

what if.. LHL already planned this right from the start? we all know that no one in the current MIW is able to take over LHL as prime minister (someone whom majority of the ppl would at least agree on) except for maybe Tharman, but Tharman has already subtlety rejected the notion..

so LHL is thinking to get the next PM from another party instead, but he cant just do it openly or sure got internal fight or internal struggle within the white party itself.

LHL could have easily not reduced the fine he imposed on CSJ previously and CSJ would probably still have been bankrupt and still unable to compete this election.. but he reduced the fine by a substantial amount and allowed CSJ to clear bankruptcy.

oh, i love this, i have another one too

maybe MIW know its a matter of time they lose power, they know it unavoidable. BUT they have a plan to come back stronger than ever before

they let the opp take over, let them screw up big time....THEN they come back to win and save the country

that would really cement their place in history for decades to come :)

ooolong

Yes absolutely. Already WP got the taste of their doppler seven star formation, pap combined all stat boards to whack their tc from all angles. I hear pritam lamenting about this also feel bad for him.

The stat boards must learn to say no to partisan politics first. Only then will sg politics progress.

Impossible.. 不可能。

Soracak

Not possible cos wp is very much ahead of all the other parties combined. And parliament also showed that he can't stand ltk. Probably he felt that someone not so well educated and speak crap English shouldn't be there at all.

Plus he already got ng chee meng as a potential successor. This general means business.

overman

the special thing is i think he chose his ground well.

the demographics for HBT is vastly different from your usual heartlands

the ppl in the area dont get any handouts from gov, they dont need hawker centres and swimming pool near their residence

so think about it, what would attract their votes? emotions, feelings to help, compassion which i think is what csj trying to do to get votes

I could turn around and say that these people in the area benefited tremendously during the PAP regime.

Why change a good thing?

Chee's ideas i think mostly quite populist. Not sure if they would be attracted by that.

The other thing Chee champions is freedom of speech/association. I think the general view is that we have advanced so far even with restrictions in this area. Not an idea i think will be attractive to the majority of Singaporeans who are pragmatic by nature.

gravity_infinity

oh, i love this, i have another one too

maybe MIW know its a matter of time they lose power, they know it unavoidable. BUT they have a plan to come back stronger than ever before

they let the opp take over, let them screw up big time....THEN they come back to win and save the country

that would really cement their place in history for decades to come :)

this is what i think too.

1) they are large shareholders of our companies in sg

2) they have civil servants working for them

3) they have the army
4) they have the grassroots in PA.

very likely scenario.

imagine if they sell all stocks... would it create a economic crisis?

Soracak

Impossible.. 不可能。

Boleh one. Other countries have done it. Plus u can see many civil servants turn rogue once they got out of office like sing first party. Many of them cant stand this shiet. Already u see the courts raise their hands and refuse to rule the AHPETC case liao. Slowly other boards will shift as well.

surrephoto

I'm surprised that people still call Dr Chee a siaolang. The approach was not polite but he had the guts to ask GCT the inconvenient question in public. Sinkies will be sinkies, want to kpkb but kpkb those who kpkb for them. :s22:

tuxguy

I could turn around and say that these people in the area benefited tremendously during the PAP regime.

Why change a good thing?

Chee's ideas i think mostly quite populist. Not sure if they would be attracted by that.

The other thing Chee champions is freedom of speech/association. I think the general view is that we have advanced so far even with restrictions in this area. Not an idea i think will be attractive to the majority of Singaporeans who are pragmatic by nature.

your point is interesting too :)

but think we both agree that this group of ppl are not sway by amenities or any sort of upgrading carrot

chech01

I have high hopes for our fellow men

but I doubt the rich will heck care

they don't even have a clue what we are talking about

they don't see the sad part of SG

virtualape

lky's foresight is beyond one or two elections. he had him taken out for awhile due to bankruptcy and msm painted him as someone who shouldnt be taken seriously.

but now with social media, people get to see both sides of the story. its a different ball game altogether. its up to the public to see whose side they believe now.

good turnout doesnt mean strong mandate unfortunately. let see how it goes.

tuxguy

Boleh one. Other countries have done it. Plus u can see many civil servants turn rogue once they got out of office like sing first party. Many of them cant stand this shiet. Already u see the courts raise their hands and refuse to rule the AHPETC case liao. Slowly other boards will shift as well.

it should be like that. but then SG is a small place, the high ups is a small circle, you wanna play punk, you're out of the game

dont think many are like tan jee say who's out of the game with MIW

Chiong

I'm surprised that people still call Dr Chee a siaolang. The approach was not polite but he had the guts to ask GCT the inconvenient question in public. Sinkies will be sinkies, want to kpkb but kpkb those who kpkb for them. :s22:

you see LTK basically asking the same thing, in chinese...but so many ppl cheered.

i have never doubted him, it was a genuine question only sheeps fall for the smearing and concluded he is a hooligan.

Techadd

this is what i think too.

1) they are large shareholders of our companies in sg (???)
care to elaborate on some companies you are talking about.

2) they have civil servants working for them
civil servants work for the governement, they will come under charge of new ministers.

3) they have the army
army to protect the nation, not certain political party. if yo u think at this day and age, a coup in Singapore will go without notice and struggle, you are mistaken.

4) they have the grassroots in PA.
This will be revamped once opposition takes charge, just like how all wards will have equal share of grants and upgrades fairly distributed.

very likely scenario.

imagine if they sell all stocks... would it create a economic crisis?
you're making me laugh already..sell what stocks? :s13::s13:

You know once the opposition comes into power, they can 'reverse' the policies set out before by the pap? it could also result in opening a huge cans of worms??

TehBeng

His deeds do not tell me he deserve a 2nd chance. Instead of going on with live, get a job, start a business etc. he continues to be jobless and refused to work. How can he relate to anyone if he doesn't even work, that's just talking cock and selling his csb to fools

By the same logic, Victor Lye also quit his job (a.k.a jobless), how can he relate to anyone who quits his job just to talk cock and sell his csb to fools?

tuxguy

lky's foresight is beyond one or two elections. he had him taken out for awhile due to bankruptcy and msm painted him as someone who shouldnt be taken seriously.

but now with social media, people get to see both sides of the story. its a different ball game altogether. its up to the public to see whose side they believe now.

good turnout doesnt mean strong mandate unfortunately. let see how it goes.

yes, i believe lky foresaw whats in csj long before anyone else. csj got slam big time and we only get one side of the story in days with no internet

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.