lets say its for own stay la and not for rental.
minimum have to stay for 12years due kids primary school nearby.
if i chance upon a freehold old resale unit inside kovan landed at less than 1K psf, is it a good buy?
even for major revamp, at lets say 200K la, we are looking at 1100psf in total.
do you think at your opinion which is more worth while still.
buy a old resale with 200K reno budget to have a newly renovated freehold at (1100-1150psf) 10mins walking distance to kovan MRT?
or
buy a resale at kovan melody (not inclusive of reno budget yet) to have a non renovated 99 year old (1200psf) property but kovan mrt at your door step.
for argument sake,
a) lets put the monthly maintenance at 450 average for High land Condo and 200 for Kovan Melody.
b) I am buying from own stay and intend to stay at least 12 years minimum.
Yo bro, let me clarify myself first, I’m not a Property Agent so I may not be very well informed of all projects hor. Its just that recently I quite free so come here and talk cock sing song only. I will go back as a silent reader once my work starts to get me busy.
Can ask u the following qns first?
1) roughly what size/how many bedders u r looking at?
2) what’s your Budget?
3) u die die want FH or u r open to LH also can?
4) new launch or resale doesn’t matters to u right?
5) are u looking for capital gain after 12 years or u dun mind even price remain flat after 12 years?
Ok just to share one of my very bad experience when I accompany my Brother in law for house hunting at one of the freehold apartment 12 years ago (Kovan area). He also like u, die die want FH Kovan area condo cos he has been staying in Hougang ave 8 for many years.
Because the incident was so Long already, I really couldn’t even remember the condo name.
It was a evening house visit to a 3 bedder FH old condo at Kovan area. It’s a small development like highland condo.
When first walk in, first thing we saw is a small pool with lots of algae residing at the side of the Swimming pool. The pillars and walls have paints all peeling off. Taking the lift up to the unit, the lift got a foul smell. When reach the unit, to my shock, the condition was worse than a 30 year old HDB. As it was at Kovan/Simon road camp that area, there’s basically no nice view to talk about. In front there’s a big tree blocking it’s view. The house condition was bad. Less than 5 minutes, we decided to walk out immediately.
Imagine, if your highland condo has reached its 30 years lease this year and u gonna stay for another 12 years, that would mean your condo is a 42 year old condo. U think what are the chances pple will buy from u despite its FH status? I’m more convern u may have difficulty selling in future. So even this kind of project want to sell my bro in law for 900psf, I think he also sian 1/2.
Actually I’m not inclined to give u any specific recommendation or suggestions here because this is a forum afterall and it’s too much of a responsibility for someone whom u dunno in forum to give u any advice. Seriously, u have to do your due diligence and make comparison.
U must always put yourself in the shoe of your next buyer, will he buy from u or not?